Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
stars
75,664 ratings
21,448 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top reviews

LL
May 17, 2020

This class really focused on the process of learning. It taught me so much. I even shared ideas with my college and high school student. They were surprised as some concepts were helpful to them also.

GG
Sep 9, 2016

This is a course which I enjoyed. It gave a good insight of the learning methodologies which we have often heard of but not given due importance. Also, the brain facts is cool :) My 5/5 to this course

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 10,000 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Ruslan K

Jun 13, 2020

The course tells about two different "modes" of mind work: focused and diffuse, and what each of them is for. It also gives practical advises about how to deal with procrastination, how to remember new material and how to prepare for tests. The course is amazing. Information is divided into small well-formed chunks. Video lectures are not longer than 7 minutes, so you I was not get tired while watching them. Dr. Oakley's lectures are so clear and easy to understand even for non-English speakers, like me.

I would like to thank Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski for their efforts.Definitely recommend everyone to take this course regardless of the area of studying.

By Francesco B

Apr 18, 2020

When I started this course I was very curious to know how, an On Line Course should have been of help for my learning projects.

Not only I found it really interesting, but after the very first videos I decided to stop any other learning activity, waiting to get to the end of the course in order to be more effective and not waste time with all other courses.

I so much appreciate the arguments, that I strongly recommend the course not only to students, but also to teachers (whatever their subject or level). Putting into practice all the information discussed within the course, should be useful to "guide" students and to help them to grow up avoiding false believes.

By Tatjana d

Jun 26, 2019

this course is fantastic! while it all might sound familiar, it gave me fantastic tools how to retain what i learn instead of making a soup out of my brain by studying without results. I learned the importance of stopping and taking a break when a problem doesn't get resolved after 20+ minutes, the importance of exercise, sleep or simply a brake to unleash the more creative, diffuse working mind, to always start tackling bigger problems during tests first but let go and do smaller if after a certain time i didnt succeed. the importance of Recall and continuos Testing yourself and the importance of regular practice. Thank you professors, it was time well spent!

By Vorobyeva P

May 9, 2020

I'm very grateful for this course Learning how to learn to Barbara Oakley and Terence Sejnowski and Coursera platform. I spend 4 productive weeks studying the main rules and principles of learning during isolation. That knowledge and skills will definitely help me in my future life and career. Also I've been seriously thinking to become of a master of this course to adapt it for middle school students in Russia. I think these skills will be truly supportive for those who has difficulties in learning, memorization, chunking, for those who being stressed during the exams and passing the tests, for those who doubts in their own abilities, potential and talents.

By Monika K

Nov 8, 2016

I always feel exhausted and reluctant to study or learn new things because my previous learning style was ineffective! This course tell you how to learn effectively and efficiently, with a relax way, easy to understand (even if your english is not good like me), and appliable in any fields . The coaches, Dr. Barbara and Dr. Terrence delivered their lectures as if they were talking to you directly and knew what are your problems during learning, why you have these and how to solve these problems. Each lesson will ask your feedback and I suggest you to fill it. I am really recommend this course to every one, no matter what or who you are, and how old you are!

By Ricardo O

Feb 17, 2016

You will definitely take with you a lasting impression on how your brain works along with how to treat it so that you could learn more faster. Getting rid of old habits and incorporating the new habits will take some time and practice. The instructors a great and the interviews with those that desire to learn an abundance of information and sharing their experience with you is very inspiring!

Thank you all for allowing me to improve my views on learning and the opportunity of taking a course this rich with content on how to better my thinking power. You all are great, God Bless! Keep up the work for us and I definitely look forward to contributing one day....

By LUZ E V B

Aug 4, 2020

Es un curso sencillamente espectacular, me ha permitido identificar las fallas que presentaba en mis técnicas de estudio antes de iniciarlo, ya sea por abandonas una buenas que practicaba en pregrado y otras que he aprendido totalmente nuevas para mi como la metáfora,analogía y el palacio de la memoria. ademas los concejos para vencer la procrastinación me estan ayudando mucho para avanzar. Mantenerme con una mente abierta, OCEAN y toda la informacion recibida que he ido procesando ,entendiendo, practicando y repitiendo me ayudaran a los nuevos retos. Gracias esto fue lo mejor que me ha pasado durante la pandemia y de los mejores cursos que he tomado.

By ephraim m

Feb 16, 2021

I wish I have this course many years ago. The how to study and remember techniques could have helped me in my studies. Long time ago, I purchased audio tapes titled "how to make A's in college" and listened to them and implemented the concepts. Those were very helpful. But Learning How Learn is superior as it is based on biology and other scientific foundations. I am not in school anymore but the concepts are applicable whether I am learning a new skill like guitar or solving a problem on projects at work. I have purchased the accompanying book and am half way through. I am begging my college age children to read it or audit it on Coursera. No takers yet :(

By Youpheng L

Aug 10, 2020

This course is excellent and is highly recommended to anyone who would like to enrich their learning experience and take the learning results to a great level. The underlying concepts (e.g. focused vs diffused modes of thinking) and techniques (e.g. chunking and the Pomodoro) introduced in this course are particularly useful in boosting our productivity and ultimately show us a scientifically-proven and effective way of learning (and test-taking).

Self-education is a lifelong work in progress, so by being able to learn effectively, a wide range of knowledge and possibilities await us. Explore the course content now and set your timer for dedicated learning!

By ROHIT S

Jun 4, 2020

I was introduced to this course at a time when I was struggling to retain and apply what I learnt. And after this course, I can say that I have more effective methods to tackle those problems and be more productive than before. The course not only teaches about how to learn effectively but also makes one aware of the illusions of learning and the incorrect methods. In addition to the course material, it also has bonus videos in which the best people share their techniques and how they do it.

I would like to thank Dr Barbara Oakley and Dr Terrence Sejnowski for this truly wonderful course. It has taught me something that it is to be remembered for a lifetime.

By Ray P S

Mar 15, 2020

I just love how the course's instructors, Mrs. Barbara Oakley and Mr. Terrence Sejnowsky, made it easier for learners to relate their learning difficulties in the examples and concepts explained. These include the concept of the two thinking modes (focused and diffused), our inner zombies (habits), willpower, procrastination, and some effective learning techniques. I just love how it gives a breath of fresh air among the ones I always see online. It was so technical yet highly creative.

I would really, really love the idea that a day would come that I could get to meet these two individuals. :) I've always aspired to meet prominent yet fun scientists. Kudos!

By prashanna k

Nov 25, 2019

I have learnt so much about my body and mind from this course. From chunking materials, to how to answer tests and also the importance of incorporating exercise into your study routine. It was such a fascinating course and it took me a brief period to finish it. After completing it, I definitely have that much needed motivation to go through difficult concepts, projects and overall to be excited about my masters journey. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to get out of a rut, who feels anxious in subjects, who can't focus even in study environment, who finds it difficult to grasp certain subjects/ topics. This course would be perfect for you. Good luck!

By Ricky

May 23, 2021

1. the class is organized with high quality in definition and script.

2. the diversity model type like presentation, interview. I like the back and forth recall of some specific topic.

3. Literally, the class includes the methodology and practical tools, which is a great helper for our office workers, as we have some basic learning concepts.

4. The class illustrates how you will change to be a more efficient learner and a more brilliant learner by changing your mindset. The solution is deep in mind and head.

5. The easy follow and execution of the class is very accessible from multiple devices because the integration from the different platforms is awesome.

By Tina

Apr 29, 2016

This course is great! If you listen to the advice from this course, take notes and actively implementing this advice as you go along, it will become much easier for you to notice results very quickly! This course has helped me change my mindset towards learning and studying - I noticed my old ways weren't working as well for me, and learning this course helped me not only becoming aware of the techniques one can use to master their leaning, but also allowing me with a plethora of different learning methods to experiment with and see which one works for me. I highly recommend this course if you want to continue to learn in life, and get ahead much faster.

By Phuong

Dec 24, 2015

Thank you so much for your course!

I realize this is a useful closeness course, it was made to be easy to understand and follow and many interesting article to find out more. Clearly I think the knowledge was transmitted very scientifically with condensed knowledge, reasonable progress.

I through this course with excited mood, from the principles of chunking to help me learn better to the video you running when you encounter the difficult in study - exercise is very important in learning. It's encourage me, give me more motivations and feel more confident when I think I knew more about the mechanisms in study. I think it's a basic course for every courses

By Maria P

Jul 14, 2021

Anybody who loves to learn, who is learning, who thinks they are too old to learn, or who's alive and has the capacity to learn should take this course. This course does not just give instructions for one to follow but it discusses the science behind neuroplasticity, which I tremendously appreciate. As a non-traditional student in my early 40's who decides to go back to school to earn a medical degree, this course is what I have been waiting for all my life. My sincerest gratitude to Dr. Barb Oakley, Dr. Terry Sejnowski, and the whole team that built this course for sharing their time, knowledge, and resources to everyone who wants to learn how to learn.

By Robyn H

Feb 23, 2016

Much appreciation and warmest congratulations to Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski. The information presented in Learning How to Learn was very engaging and presented in an accessible way. Although I am an already-experienced learner, I gleaned many useful techniques, many of which I've already incorporated into daily life. I took this course in conjunction with my home-schooled seventh grader and we both found ourselves sharing some of the most interesting bits of the course material with others. The broad applicability of the course materials and the engaging style of the presenters make this class a must-take. Mahalo nui, Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski!

By lorna w

Feb 24, 2021

I am no longer a student seeking a degree or grades. I am a volunteer tutor for GED students in mathematics. While helping them, I have often reflected on how I learned math, science, etc a long, long time ago. I found that this course paralleled my own experiences; it clarified and reinforced what I remembered of my own learning experiences. Also, it has given me new insights in how to become an even better learner and a better teacher. I now feel more qualified to share with my students the tips of learning how to learn. I will be encouraging them to explore this course on their own, especially if they plan to go further with their studies. Thank you.

By Alice T

May 7, 2020

This course is excellent! I wish I had learned this when I was in school. It helps a lot that most of the techniques taught in the course are easy to understand and can be applied quickly. I love how Dr Oakley explains the techniques so simply and making the course enjoyable, and how Dr Sejnowski explains deep scientific concepts about the human brain in an easily understandable manner. I would recommend this course to just about anyone - after all we are all learning everyday! I believe the skills acquired here will help us to learn effectively, even at work, and is one of the most powerful skills we can ever have. Thank you Dr Oakley and Dr Sejnowski!

By CHANGE Y M

Jan 17, 2021

Very grateful to the study of this (COURSE) of rare Fields the Distinctive Style and Method of learning and here is the Opportunity .

I Thank her Personality and Professional and Distinguished Human being She Admire because she Attracted Me to This Way of Learning ALL RESPECTAND RECOGNITION TO

( DR. BARBARA ) For his great effort in communicating information in a few simple ways , also in particular I would also like to mention to

( Dr.terje snoveski ) I Thank you , and thank you your guests from

( Dr.NORMAN FORTNERY )

( MR. SCOTT YOUNG )

( DR.NELSON DELICE )

( DR.ROBERT JAMAC )

( DR. KEITH DELLON )

( DR.SANTIGO RAMON KAJAL )

( DR . RICHARD FYNMAN )

By Sambath M

May 28, 2019

Hello Guys.

I had a very good time learning this course with our two carrying professor. They were really cute, and give us the motivation and the will to move on further into this course. They make things so much easier with their very well detailed vidéo, and they have a gift for teaching.

They put a lot of time and effort into this course, and I'm so grateful for that, I learn so much with you, thanks for everything, and to thank you furthermore, I, myself, will teach it to my close family, and then my close friend, and maybe the public after that.

Thanks for everything, you gave us a wonderful gift, maybe the greatest gift of all time .. knowledge.

By Chris K

Sep 6, 2017

This course is short and useful, providing students with many potential tactics to incorporate into their learning strategies. Some will be familiar and some won't, but it's a nice refresher either way. My complaints center around the brevity of each topic and also the amount of gimmies in each quiz/test. While the prior is understandable (and remedied by a ton of supplemental reading suggestions), the soft toss quiz question get old. Things like "As stated in the video, performing the Macarena while stabbing yourself with a spork is a scientifically proven method to efficiently chunk data" are humorous but kind of cheapen the quizzes and tests.

By Jia W L

Sep 29, 2020

A really good course which provides tips and insights on how to learn more efficiently. A guide which helps me to pinpoint the root cause of the struggle that I am facing for years in my musical journey. After completing this course, I had a better idea of how to help myself learn, so that I can improve for the better in the area of music. I do recommend everyone to take this course, as I believe that regardless of your age, experiences in life, there is something that you would be able to take away from this course. Even if you know the stuff that is taught in this course, it serves as a really good reminder and motivate you to learn more in life.

By Yaniv G

Sep 1, 2019

I genuinely thinks that this course is a most have for everybody, especially students (the can make the most of out it and use those practical methods immediately).

The instructors of this course make the material clear and laughable, I had great time learning how to learn.

There is a whole community behind this course - which was unexpected and welcoming. That the first time I see something like it on Online-Courses and I don't think there are many other communities out there.

I highly recommend it.

I wish to thank to everyone who helped to make this course come alive, you're managed to make an impact on my everyday life, and I'm sure on many others.

By Jenn A

Jun 10, 2021

I found the course very interesting and relatable. We weren't just given a bunch of learning tools, we delved into how our brains work around studying, chunking and memory. It was quite fascinating and the illustration bridged well with the tools provided. The instructors were engaging and easy to follow. I thoroughly enjoyed this course. After many, many years, I signed up for a Masters in Divinity. I was really concerned about my performance. I didn't have a toolkit of how to study, read texts and take notes, never mind writing papers. I left my last course a little reluctant to take another course. Thank you for restoring my faith in learning.