Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
9,932 ratings
1,996 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

PL
Aug 25, 2018

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 1,996 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Sudhir J

Jan 24, 2020

The 5 star goes for only and only the educator. I could never find such energy and enthusiasm in a teacher teaching Mathematics. Hope he teaches other subjects too!

By Fernando M

Jun 13, 2020

Excelent course. I enjoyed and learn a lot. A great decision to start a Machine Learning course at Imperial. Ready for the second course of the especialization. :)

By Shitanshu B

May 21, 2020

Highly interactive and amazing course with great learning experience . Thanks to the instructors and there tremendous efforts to explain things in a lucid manner .

By Michael P G

Apr 18, 2020

Small pieces tackled one at a time, but with some challenging exercises. Not a substitute for a full linear algebra course, but a great coverage of the highlights.

By Reinaldo L N

Feb 17, 2020

Awesome! I didn't know how much I needed this reinforcement, as I had my linear algebra near to 30 years ago. Congratulations to Dave and Sam, two great teachers !

By Alphanso W

Dec 22, 2019

Truly a wonderful course. I wish you could have touched on the interpretation of determinants a bit more. Especially since strong knowledge of it is needed in PCA.

By Benedict N Y E

Sep 1, 2019

Loved the course. The codes were quite hard to understand but I managed to understand it after a some hard work. Overall good experience. Highly recommend for all.

By Eric P

Mar 19, 2019

I really liked the pace of this course. Not too fast, not too slow. I also enjoyed the focus on intuitive understandings and linear algebra in the context of ML.

By Joshua S

Apr 21, 2018

Great introduction to linear Algebra! Wish my college experience was this good! I highly recommend an iPad Pro and Apple pencil to take notes. Man this is awesome.

By Frank N

Mar 31, 2021

Unbelievably well designed course! This is one of the great MOOCs I have ever taken. The instructors are extremely talented. I love how they made Mathematics fun.

By VIMAL K .

May 2, 2020

This course cleared many of my doubts in applying Linear Algebra to practical problems. The explanations and presentations from the instructors were very helpful.

By Xiangxin S

May 29, 2018

great class, only focused on the core concepts of linear algebra, and try to build a intuition of how these concepts fit in later on machine learning applications

By Rohail K

Jun 28, 2019

you must do this course...the best course to learn mathematics behind machine learning. Look no further.This is an amazing million dollar course for data science

By KANHAIYA K

Jul 21, 2019

Easy to get the concepts of Vectors, Eigen Values, Eigen Vectors, and Page Rank algorithm. I can now implement some algorithms which needs matrix manipulations.

By Kamil G

Jul 11, 2018

Great content, clarity and visualisations. I found this course extremely useful, it gives me fundamentals to understand more advanced machine learning problems.

By Edwin G P P

Sep 1, 2019

El curso desarrolla varias herramientas importantes para el manejo de vectores y matrices enfocadas en aplicaciones de Machine Learning. Es bastante intuitivo.

By Aman K

Aug 18, 2018

This course is a must for all the people who wants to go deep into machine learning and data science as this covers the prerequisites of the courses available.

By Rambabu Y

Jul 28, 2018

It is highly recommended. Very useful to those who are interested in AI and ML and looking for deep dive. Thanks very much coursera and imperial college London

By V A R

Jun 15, 2019

Brilliant course, thought intuitively and had a significant impact on my perspective in viewing transformation and other operations related to linear algebra.

By Zvinodashe M

Jul 26, 2018

Excellent course a little challenging but just the right pace and depth to get one back up to speed with linear algebra, looking to build from this foundation

By Harrison S

Sep 25, 2020

The last assignment (Page ranker) was really complicated. The jyupter platform also showed some issues. But the classes were really really good. I enjoyed it

By DEBJIT P

Jun 21, 2020

This course gives you a solid base on linear algebra. The instructors are very good and the technique that is applied here to teach is unique and attractive.

By Nikhil J

Apr 27, 2020

Great intuition building. Absolutely enjoyed the course. I'm still a little bit behind getting the entire intuition, will come back and get it done. Love it!

By VIJAY N

Mar 31, 2020

Great Course to provide a better perspective to mathematics needed for machine learning. Really enjoyed the course and looking forward for more such courses.

By Kyle W

Dec 6, 2018

Excellent course. It's very practical - focuses on building your intuition of core concepts and applying those concepts through simple programming exercises.