Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,273 ratings
2,060 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

HE
Aug 8, 2021

the instrutors were too good and their explination for the concepts was to the point and it made me realize things in linear algebra I didn't know before although I studied it in school of engineering

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 2,068 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Pranjul S

Jul 28, 2018

Concepts explained beautifully. It gave me new perspective to think about matrices and problems related to it.

By Bintari S

Jul 25, 2021

the explanation is very easy to understand, even clearer than my lecturer who explained. Thank you, Professor

By Qian C

Apr 7, 2021

Suitable for beginners without any basic knowledge and also enlightening for researchers in datascience field

By Rayantha S

May 23, 2020

Excellent! Extremely clear explanations of concepts and plenty of relevant exercises to understand and apply.

By Shivam K

Jul 22, 2019

Very much interesting course and found helpful also.

Teachers gave a very nice explanation.

Thank You

Teachers

By Jeferson S

Mar 23, 2019

Such a great first step to machine learning world. This is really useful to build up a strong knowledge base.

By Sachin W

Sep 17, 2020

One of the best courses that teaches you the intuitions and applications instead of rote-learning. Loved it!

By Vaibhav S

Jul 11, 2020

This course helped me to achieve understand concepts of machine learning in a way I never understood before.

By Mohammed f

Jun 30, 2020

It was a good experience. That way you taught us that was awesome. For that, I want to say thank you so much

By VivekSingh T

Jun 27, 2020

Very helpful course , Understanding the logic behind operations can be easily understood thrugh this course

By Nicola P

Jun 26, 2020

Great course, it requires a little of previous knowledge in mathematics to complete it in the time suggested

By Rehan S

Aug 8, 2019

Very useful in terms of Machine learning. I think this course is a prerequisite of machine learning courses.

By Xiao H

Jul 24, 2018

Focused on the geometrical view to look at the linear algebra rather than hand-calculations. Very intuitive!

By Yusufboy A

Apr 11, 2021

I really like this course because I learn so many relevant knowleg. Thanks for teachers of Imperial collage

By Damon H

Jan 23, 2021

Excellent course. It gives me necessary fundamentals of linear algebra. Good for the next research. Thanks.

By Jinqiang Z

Aug 16, 2020

The focus of the course is on understanding the concept, not calculation -- that makes the course brilliant

By Atharv M K

Aug 3, 2020

An awesome course for students who want to develop and attain an intuitive understanding of Linear Algebra.

By Laura M D V

Jul 22, 2020

I loved it! It has helped me to further understand the math behind Machine Learning and its applications :)

By Divyanshu

Jun 8, 2020

Thanks a lot teachers.Godspeed to you all for making learning fun and interesting for what it is all about.

By Mohammed E

Jan 7, 2020

Very good course, and the way of reaching is intuitive but require more details in the part of eigenvectors

By Alfonso G

Dec 20, 2019

Fantastic instructors who made the experience, as Professor Dye would say, very satisfactory and very nice.

By Tse-Yu L

Mar 12, 2018

Nice course design, especially for the practice of matrix manipulation frequently used in machine learning.

By shiva k P

Mar 5, 2021

I recommend to do this course if you are planning to learn Machine learning and Data science. Very useful!

By Nzeyim J

Feb 25, 2021

Made math fun. I didn't initially imagine enjoying the course but it was nicely and systematically thought

By Azamat S

Nov 28, 2019

Great course! A lot of focus on concepts and intuition vs mindlessly computing determinants, inverses etc.