Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
11,368 ratings

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

EC

Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

PL

Aug 25, 2018

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 2,247 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Кузьмин К Ю

Aug 30, 2018

During this course i finally got intuition for many things in Linear Algebra that seemed to me too complicated before.

By jay c

Dec 29, 2022

Great course for those who have not come across linear algebra before , helped me understand LA from a new prespective

By Florian C

Oct 31, 2020

This course is really great in conveying the intuition behind the mathematical concepts underpinning machine learning!

By aftab a

Jun 1, 2020

I guess the best I ever have, very informative, and the instructor explains the ideas very systematically and clearly.

By Dushyant S

Jun 23, 2019

This course is helpful for who are beginner in machine learning field and want to learn basic concepts of mathematics.

By Rishi C

Feb 5, 2019

This course is EXACTLY what I needed - a demonstration of the ideas of linear algebra and how to implement those ideas

By Sampath k R

Aug 25, 2020

It's very interesting and more informative I enjoyed very much and learned some thing. Thank you for the opportunity.

By Adnan S

Jun 17, 2020

Great course to get started with Mathematical Tools one wants to learn in order to get started with Machine Learning.

By Jason B

Mar 19, 2020

Loved instructors, well-paced. It can get confusing at times in the quizzes, forums will not help you in this course.

By XL T

Mar 12, 2020

totally refreshing way to learn linear algerbra. This course opens my eyes. Thanks so much for bring it to the world!

By Kurt G

Aug 4, 2019

This course is brilliantly explained. I will be reviewing the lecture videos from time to time to refresh my memory.

By Muhammad T Z

Aug 20, 2021

It was a fantastic course. The visualization and explanations were top notch. Overall I liked this course very much.

By Dheanisa W

Mar 12, 2021

i never like math like now. the instructors were very clear and also fun, so i didn't got bored easly in this course

By Nuno A

Feb 8, 2021

It was really fun and understandable for someone that didn't study any math in the last couple of decades (like me).

By Dannu L

Dec 1, 2020

Professor David Dye is very good at teaching linear algebra, making these hard/dry topics more easily to understand!

By Andre S

Aug 26, 2020

Great course to learn new things in Linear Algebra, while recalling what I have learned in undergraduate mathematics

By Sigurd G L F J

Aug 19, 2020

Best Linear Algebra course ever.

I have done it several times during my life time but this was the one best explained

By RICARDO H R

Jun 18, 2020

Great course, the instructors are super cool and they explain the content pretty well, I also liked the assignments.

By Anuj A

May 31, 2020

The course was challenging and was very useful for me to get thorough knowledge of mathematics for machine learning.

By David C

Jan 8, 2020

I learned more in 4 weeks than 1 semester at the University, I am grateful to you for sharing this wonderful course.

By Adeyinka O

Sep 11, 2022

The contents are deep, illustrative, and presented with great impacts. It is worth all the effort and time devoted

By Nileshkumar R P

Apr 22, 2020

This is an excellent course. Added new dimension to my knowledge. Great Exercises that enhance your understanding.

By Grigori P

Feb 25, 2020

Thanks a lot, linear algebra has become clearer and I'm looking forward to use that in my work and future projects!

By Akhil M

Sep 1, 2019

An Excellent Introduction to the heart of Machine Learning. Covers almost all the concepts required for starting ML

By Hang

May 7, 2019

Very good and thorough explanations on the topics, with a big scope of how things working instead of just the math.