Chevron Left
Back to Linux Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Linux Fundamentals by LearnQuest

4.5
stars
771 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first of a series that aims to prepare you for a role working as an information technology professional. In this course, you will be introduced to the Linux operating system. You will learn about the licensing model and several Linux distributions. We will go through some services delivered in the Linux operating system. We will conclude this course by looking at how to search and analyze text using command line tools in the operating system....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

exceptionally well designed content with excellent explaination , quizzes and labs. Highly recommnended for Beginners.

QJ

Invalid date

If you're new to Linux, the fundamental training here is good. I am now able to navigate command line with greater confidence and have some knowledge in how to edit and search file and folders.

Filter by:

176 - 198 of 198 Reviews for Linux Fundamentals

By B N P

May 16, 2023

Good

By YOGI S

Dec 4, 2021

Good

By Nathan B

Mar 6, 2023

Did not like the format of the "labs". I would prefered to be given a bit more direction on specific tasks to perform. Also very odd that the cloud based labs were only accesible while using a computer. They would not work when using a tablet or phone... even if using the Coursera app. The final video in week 4 for this course was very hard to follow as often it was not showing what the presenter was talking about, it was zoomed in at another spot on the screen.

By Sadegh S

May 5, 2023

the instructor was at very high level of skill but in so many cases the video wasn't very detailed and after reading the sites and notes following I still felt unsure about the depth of what I've learned. this course is for absolute beginners so explaining objectives should be done repetitively or with different examples.

By ASIM U R

May 26, 2023

I think this course could be managed far better. Actually, the presentation slides and the reading material the instructor provided was a bit to understand for a person who doesn't know about Linux. So, the instructor should make it very easy for first-time learners.

Thanks

By 吴肖然

May 22, 2022

To my point of veiw, this course is not as good as "pthon for everybody", which is more detailed demonstrated, testbook included, interactive. I hope this course will be better.

By Rich B

Mar 13, 2022

More basic than expected, glosses over a lot, relies too heavily on man pages. Labs totally unstructured.

misses out 'why' you might be doing any of these steps.

By Brent D W

Oct 25, 2021

Not many labs considering the content. Could really benefit with sets and repetition and follow along with the instructor instead of death by powerpoint.

By Oday A

Aug 2, 2023

I liked the lab but i tried so many times some commands and did not match the lab results at all, but overall the course is really informative .

By Jamie V

Jan 27, 2022

Some of the commands could have been broken down so that they were more easily understood.

By Ronnaldo L

Feb 12, 2024

Muy buen contenido, pero se deberian añadir mas videos practicos para darle un buen plus.

By Jonathan N

Dec 28, 2023

Pretty good, but certainly less interactive than the Red Hat Linux Enterprise Course.

By Bisma N S

Apr 5, 2022

the lab doesn't appear as same as lab explanation video

By Iker Z M

Mar 11, 2023

Los tests son demasiado sencillos

By �BHAGYASHREE K S

Nov 28, 2021

good aqndf informative

By Kartik H

Oct 22, 2023

Overall good!

By Denes P

Jan 13, 2023

This is good for a very limited intro if you have never used Linux before. The Lab interface is not well thought out. E.g.; there are no files in your folder, and in one session you are supposed to try out basic operations on files, without being taught how to create any. The written documentation is usually sparse, or sometimes just a link to a lengthy Wikipedia page.

By William W (

May 28, 2023

Perhaps I'm spoiled by some of the more prominent named courses on this site, I picked this up so I could get a look at Linux before moving forward in my Google course, but I'll be honest the engagement, labs, and overall feel just weren't the same. Did its job okay sometimes, its good to have a certification for it but alot of this could be self-taught on Wikipedia.

By Maryam K

Apr 26, 2022

A brief summary on linux fundamentyals which is better for just getting to know what are the concepts but not deeping down in the concepts. more theoritically rather than applications.

By Al C

Jan 26, 2023

Roughly equivalent to a command list + a search engine. Labs not interactive: Basically, here is a list of commands, play with them. No curriculum.

By Rishabh A

Sep 10, 2023

rough around the edges, not easy for a beginner to grasp. also not good to just dump official documentation to replace good reading material.

By Іван Щ

Dec 3, 2023

I would like to receive more information. Much more than completing the entire course (which is 17 HOURS) in less than a week

By Luiz F S J

Oct 12, 2022

This is a more practical then theorica subject in my opinion, the course should me more practical though.