Chevron Left
Back to Management of Fashion and Luxury Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Management of Fashion and Luxury Companies by Università Bocconi

4.7
stars
3,228 ratings
861 reviews

About the Course

Learn how fashion and luxury companies work and understand their brands, products, retail, and communication strategies. Travel through business models, international development, and product categories with industry influent experts. Adopting a case-study approach, the course presents strategic brand management in luxury and fashion companies as a balancing act: tradition vs. innovation, expertise vs. experimentation, casual vs. stylish; in order to increase the brand value by nurturing the brand heritage and at the same time staying fresh, relevant, and contemporary in the global marketplace. Topics such as the impact of new retail channels, new media channels, and new business declinations for the brand and emerging markets will be discussed in the course....

Top reviews

PM

Mar 02, 2017

What a great resource for both Fashion and Business Students around the world. I am a student in London using this resource to further my knowledge and Iove it. I will continue using and supporting.

VK

Jan 31, 2020

It's a great course for those who'd like to understand the the way fashion industry is organized; what's the key factors in marketing of fashion and luxury brands; what's important in communication.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 846 Reviews for Management of Fashion and Luxury Companies

By Parameswaran C

Jun 24, 2020

The course is a very rigorous and demanding since, the concepts are introduced from an elementary to complex level in a systematic way. One needs to be attuned to what is happening in this complex industry since, we have seen huge changes during the last decade or so. Understanding the concepts being taught in a affable way, makes the whole experience rewarding and endearing. I recommend each one of the professionals who is connected with fashion and luxury retail to enroll and take advantage. The only aspect that the Institution has to update is... with live examples closer to 2018-20 instead of 2012/13. Otherwise, it is a wholesome.

By Moudu J A

Mar 14, 2016

Dear,

I am very thankful to Coursera to create this wonderful Door towards achieving specialization. With this course i not only got knowledge but also a confidence.

Fashion is passion for me, i wanted to do this course from a long time but for many reasons i could not afford it, with Coursera i got my "Dream Come True".

I am, and will be always grateful to the creators of this wonderful platform.

Now my only concern is how i can get onto this boat of Fashion and Luxury Business.

Evening a small opening is enough to open the Doors in this business.

Thank you.

Regards,

Junaid Ahmed

By Silvia F

May 24, 2017

Overall a very positive feedback: content is very interesting, professors are very clear and provide not just slides but also links to inspiring articles and videos.

Constant reference to well known companies (which in some cases my need a slight update :) !) really helps you grasp the concept and apply to current environment.

The way the course is structured (2 mid + 1 final exam) and Coursera flexibility (download course content to watch it offline) make this course suitable also for full time workers often on business trips.

Highly recommended!

By Ricardo A C

Feb 18, 2020

Yo encontré este curso y lo tomé por curiosidad y gusto por el segmento de lujo.

No he tenido la oportunidad de trabajar en una empresa de lujo en México ni en ninguna parte del mundo, pero, lo que se aprende en este curso puedes tomarlo para cualquier industria en la que te desarrolles (con algunas restricciones para la industria farmaceutica farmaceutica).

A cualquiera que vea este curso, se lo recomiendo para tener idea de lo que es cunstruir un nombre, una marca y conocer sobre el posicionamiento de la misma.

Gracias por este curso.

By SunYiwen

Jul 03, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and the materials. I have learned a lot of fashion and luxury brand management such as business model, distribution channel, communication. And what is most important is that the course gave me a different perspective on fashion industry, it is not only about designers and rich customers, it is also about the people working behind the brand, the company behind it, etc. So I want to say thanks to the professors and University of Bocconi for presenting this course on coursera.

By Yaqing H

May 01, 2016

First certificate obtained! This is a rich course where we can learn theory and get to know the industry. The course provides guest speaker videos, detailed lecture notes, and other forms of interactive learning. Although the lecturers have an Italian accent, it does not hurt at all. Thank you so much! Suggestion: 1. making assignments a little bit more challenging, so students could have a deeper thought about the topics; 2. the final quiz could be an essay or branding/marketing plan.

By Mahak M

Apr 10, 2019

A very well designed course. It gives you a 360 degree, in-depth experience about managing fashion and luxury companies. For a novice like me, it was a perfect way to divulge into the world of luxury management. I learnt some very interesting concepts, trending business models and fashion terminology which will surely help me in my professional life. They have curated some chosen live-case studies, CEO interviews and additional videos which help immensely in the learning process.

By Denise R V C

Nov 06, 2015

Although I did not finish the course, I enjoyed and was very satisfied with the content. The lecturers, although not very fluent English, were the best and new exactly what they were teaching which made me very happy. I easily understood what was being taught from the beginning. Although my passion is Fashion Design, this course helped me understand more about the Fashion Industry and everything behind the scene within the Industry. I am very happy with the knowledge gained :)

By Anastasia

May 06, 2020

I was very happy and satisfied about this course, It is really well structured, the lessons are very captivating and interesting. One of the aspects that I appreciated most are the interviews with fashion expert, the videos and the last material related to annual report, because give you a concrete knowledge about this sector. I understood better many aspects and differences, especially speaking about business models and the product development. This course was very helpful!

By MONIRUZZAMAN

Jul 29, 2017

I would like to thank Bocconi Fashion Institute for this wonderful course. My personal appreciation to the Bocconi for offering this at free of cost though the fashion courses are very expensive. I am sure that I have learnt important aspects of Fashion industry due to this course. May be in near future, i will study in the Bocconi Institute due to its wonderful faculties. I request you to offer more courses in this field. Thank you very much once again. Love from Paris.

By JOSÉ A

Oct 13, 2017

This course is such a powerful tool whether you are familiar with fashion and luxury or you already know these industries. The course dissects the most important themes in terms of management to understand why fashion and luxury are different to any other industry. It sets the basis for any of us to work in this kind of business. The modules are clear and well-structured, and you have complementary tools to strengthen the knowledge.

By Ruth C

Sep 15, 2016

An absolutely complete course that teaches about Luxury companies, but mainly about Fashion. There are 2 great teachers that gives contents, but also makes sudents think about future and trends. Cases and interviews are also great !! I got very impressed about quality of Albini Group. Its clearer for me definition luxury vs fashion, business models, differences, challenges and opportunities in Fashion companies. Thank you Bocconi !

By Aura C

Nov 15, 2016

Hi there I am an established fashion designer living in Los Angeles, but with european heritage. Ive heard about the course from other artsy friends and my husband suggested to take a look. It was very interesting and it offered a better understanding and structure of the knowledge i and experience i already have in the industry. This course is good for people who are both beginners or advanced in fashion knowledge. Thanks

By Tracy T

Oct 16, 2017

Excellent! Well delivered lecture videos. Great interviews to link together content. The quizzes and exams is will written. I purchased the two text books for additional reading. The books are hard to order in Canada. It may be helpful to provide Ebook version as well if the books can be referenced for suggested reading sections each week. Overall, this has inspired me to further courses with this University.

By VASANTH K D

Jan 05, 2017

One among the best course I've taken in my career. The teachers are really great and the materials are really informative for learning. I would like to recommend it to anybody who is interested to learn the basics of fashion, branding and retailing. Finally, I would like to convey my sincere thanks to coursera, the organizers and also my teachers for providing me the Financial Aid support to learn this course..

By Marcello T

Jul 08, 2019

I have to admit. Some online courses are quite shallow; but this one is so enriched with interesting content and unrivalled explanations. I don't want to extend myself but I now see the fashion/luxury world with a new set of eyes that allow me to understand and differentiate all/most aspects that are unbeknownst to the average consumer. This is definitely a course to review on a regular basis! RECOMENDED 100%!

By Samiha A

Jun 08, 2019

A great way to learn about the foundations of the industry from a lot of different subject areas- marketing, operations, strategy etc. Both course instructors were knowledgeable, engaging and comprehensive in their delivery of the facts and information.

I really enjoyed this course. It has not only provided me with more useful knowledge on the industry, but taught me elements I can implement in my projects.

By Veronica

Aug 14, 2015

A great basic fashion business course on the luxury side business and the many categories you can find within. I would love to see a more expanded continuation exploring the middle ground of the fashion business found between luxury fashion brands and fast fashion brands. Which although less explored continues to be a thriving sector. Thank you to all the professors and assistants who made the course happen.

By Inès K

May 05, 2020

Ce cours est très complet. Il contient, outre les bases du management du luxe, de nombreuses informations concernant le monde de la mode en général (comment créer sa marque, quelles sont les tartégies clés à adopter...). Il contient aussi plusieurs études de cas très détaillées sur des grandes marques ce qui est très utile pour comprendre le fonctionnement des marques. Je suis ravie d'avoir fait ce cours !

By Hiba K

Feb 05, 2017

I loved this course, it was extremely up to standard and beneficial. I wish it went longer. I felt it ended a bit too soon! still got a lot to learn and go into details. It could've used to go over Annual reports and discuss them or go actually behind the scenes on case studies to better implement the things we're learning with concrete and elaborate examples. I highly recommend this course. thank you!

By Natalie N

Feb 05, 2019

Bocconi appears to be a prestigious school and it's so wonderful of them to offer a glimpse into the world of fashion and their luxury and fashion course. Of course, I feel the course could have delved deeper into various topics, but as it is provided for free, I am happy with what I've learned so far nonetheless. The professors were personable and the topics were thought provoking. Thank you Bocconi!

By Diana L

Dec 06, 2015

I really enjoy the lessons because they show me the professional structure of the fashion industry and the main players in luxury. The examples were perfect to illustrate every chapter. It was interactive, worthed and glamorous. I enjoyed how fierce are Italians of the Made in Italy label and I understood a little more of this concept thanks to the explanations in the videos. I recommend it 100 % !

By Yukiko S

Dec 27, 2019

Management of Fashion and Luxury Companies course from Bocconi University was very meaningful and useful for me to breakthrough some entry barriers I had with the field of luxury and fashion marketing. It basically covers all areas of fashion and luxury company management with focus on the histories, definitions and real practices. I can't thank enough. I loved it and appreciated it so much.

By Narima L B L

Jun 03, 2017

I learnt A LOT from it! It was really worth it taking the course, as it gave me a broad introduction on the main aspects of the complex fashion and luxury industry. I believe the evaluation system (the quizzes and final test) could be better (challenging in a smarter way); regardless, the course provides great tools for those who desire to understand the world of fashion and luxury better :)