Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
7,056 ratings
1,933 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH
Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG
Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

1726 - 1750 of 1,929 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By AlexU

Oct 15, 2017

Very good introduction to the topic. During the line drawing descriptions, it might have been good to incorporate even more discussion on each specific topic.

By Nur a A

Oct 20, 2020

This is a great online course. But I had difficulty in catching up with the instructor and noticed very few differences between the video and the script.

By Shaghayegh S

May 1, 2020

It was an eye-opening course to determine whether I like to consider HR as my own career or learn the basics so that I become good at managing people.

By Elise P

Feb 25, 2021

Overall I enjoyed the course. I don't like the peer review aspect in particular. It would be better if the assignment was reviewed by a professional.

By Sakshi M

Jun 17, 2020

Great Course for understanding context. The very basics of what work is and why people work helps you t get perspective to different sets of member

By Sheila M

Dec 5, 2018

This course was very informative. The more theoretical parts were went over very quickly and It would have been nice if there had been more detail.

By Huda A

Mar 23, 2020

I like the course, I have finished it in a short period of time , even the instructor's teaching is very simple and way easy to understand the HRM

By Narjes M R

Mar 14, 2021

Learned a lot from this course. They have resources and reading part will make things more clearer. Thank you for providing us this opportunity

By Ahmad A S

Sep 23, 2019

it's a good a good course in general, it gave you a general idea about human capital management and different management styles. It also brief

By Shivam M

Oct 19, 2019

This course is one of the best course , as it will give you fundamental and basic knowledge about Human resources and it's management.

By Alwyn A

Jul 19, 2021

If you want to pursue your career in Human Resource then do apply for this course, you'll get to know the basics through this course.

By Dayeta B

Jun 20, 2020

I liked this course, no doubt. I have definetly learned a lot and to be honest professor Budd is a good teacher. He does teach well.

By Jan J

Sep 13, 2020

I enjoyed the course. I learned quite a few new concepts. The focus on economics seemed a little heavy, but overall it was great.

By Ina d O

Nov 2, 2017

Nice course, although the main focus is on the U.S.. It gets interesting after the first week. (first week is a lot about history)

By Ashish S

Jul 10, 2021

The course could be a first step to your HR ladder. Credible and relevant in every sense. It is fun, engaging and interactive.

By Ehab E D

Feb 2, 2021

The instructor is too useful and in general it was a good course but i would like to have the slices as usual in most courses.

By ARADHANA B K P

May 12, 2020

It was great to learn here,,, kindly try to provide as much as information that you could and try to make it more interesting.

By Maria C

Mar 17, 2016

The proper course for me! My instructor knows to teach and he helps me to understand what is Human Resources. Thank you!

By MIGANOUSH M

Oct 13, 2017

This is a good course especially if you are new to managing people and want to get an understanding what is HR all about.

By Margeaux L L

Mar 3, 2016

Gained valuable insight that can be aplied to many industries. The concepts given were comprehensive and easy to follow.

By Oluwatobi I

Nov 14, 2018

This is a great course and I have learnt a great deal, I definitely want to take other courses in this specialization

By Gillian G

Mar 21, 2016

A very solid intro to how to think about HR, managing, and strategy - very broad, but well-explained and manageable!

By Waetara,Jane M

Apr 22, 2020

A great learning opportunity that enabled me to learn a lot regarding key HR subjects for managing human resources.

By Layola U

Jan 25, 2021

It was a very exciting cousre. The Prof always had a very interesting way to deliver his lecture. I am grateful.

By Paula S

May 23, 2020

The content and the delivery of this course was excellent. It was engaging and kept delivering quality content.