Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
5,888 ratings
1,633 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH
Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG
Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,614 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Reginald N N

Oct 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this foundation class. It provide me with a deeper understand of human resources beyond just transactional duties. Human Resources is a key component in the life of an organization.

By Maria G

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

By Mario L V

Jan 15, 2019

This course has an outstanding wealth of information for new people entering the Human Resources arena. I also recommend it to others that want to brush up on knowledge and skills of the HR industry.

By Vikramjeet S

Feb 9, 2019

Excellent Course

By LM

Oct 28, 2019

This is an excellent course!

I had no prior knowledge on, nor experience in HR. So, this course served to eradicate my previous misconceptions. I learned more than I expected to; the lessons are packed with extensive information, and the videos are interesting, clear, and sometimes interactive. I will recommend this course to anyone.

You won't regret taking it!

By woody l

Feb 6, 2019

I learned a lot from professor Budd! An excellent instructor and the whole team covering the HR Management Specialization really!! I love the fact that you can go at your own pace. They managed to get all the goods in the 5 courses. I'm starting course #4 now and I get more excited as I go because the info provided is so useful.

By Garrison L

Apr 18, 2020

Professor Budd was quite good. Obviously the knowledge of HR practices is there and he knows the material but Professor Budd does a fantastic job presenting the material. His voice fluctuates enough to keep you on your toes but doesn't fluctuate so much that it's hard to follow. His course used graphics and videos to assist in following his presentations and he does an excellent job of breaking down topics into an easy to follow format. The class is not easy, even for a seasoned HR person but it's easy to follow and the online format works quite well. Thank you!!

By Ishaan T

Apr 20, 2020

This course is very effective in improving your role as an HRM and Very good lecture with lots of fun with humor used by the professor during this course.. Thank you sir for the wonderful experience

By Gloribeth S

Oct 9, 2018

So far this course has been very informative and is exactly what I need to get my mind ready for a new career in human resources and understanding what human resource really means in the workplace.

By Bryan B

Jul 26, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. It is a great introduction to the HR world. It kept me interested all the way through. It made me want to take the rest of this HR series to get the certification.

By Kristine R

Feb 18, 2019

The course was really useful, entertaining and very well made course. Easy to learn and understand. Thank you Mr. Budd, I did enjoy it!

By Muhammad W K

Nov 7, 2018

Good for people who want to start their career as a manager. This course will give you basics of human resource management.

By Pavla H

Feb 15, 2019

I enjoyed the format as well as well as content. Thank you.

By omnia i m

Feb 3, 2019

Thanks a lot for your effort with us

By Ahmed A S

Feb 6, 2019

Great course

By PALAVALA A

Feb 15, 2019

Good course

By SONI T

Feb 9, 2019

Nice course

By Carla D

Jun 7, 2017

It's a good introduction to managing Human Resources. I think it covers enough material for you to really learn more about what it takes to manage, the different perspectives and approaches related to management, a bit of history of where all these thoughts came from. One thing, though, that I believe can be improved on is having the professor be a little bit more interactive in the videos. In some of them, it seemed like he was just reading off a prompt and I found it a little difficult to internalize what he was saying and ended up just reading and taking notes from the transcript. But aside from that, this was a course I thoroughly enjoyed and would advise anyone interested in HR management to take.

By lupo

Aug 27, 2017

Very useful to step into the HR management practice. It provides a foundation to understanding the complexity of HR management strategies and managerial styles. The lessons are quite short but dense and challenging. While a transcript of the videos is always available, I found extremely useful to take my own notes while listening to the videos, stopping and restarting the video as required. and even revisiting previous lectures to establish the necessary connections among notions, where necessary. Some lectures are indeed quite dense and content intricate, but that challenges your learning process.

By Ananya L

Sep 18, 2017

The course helped me gain the basic understanding of Human Resources. I did have a course in my undergraduate studies in India but this online course was a different experience. Prof. John Budd explained concepts in a simple and easy-to-understand way.

The video sessions of HR executive managers talking gave a real-world exposure. If the course has at least one session where students can interact with the professor John Budd would be good.

By Stoya l

Aug 6, 2017

not knowledgeable enough course came off as common sense we all already know. It was bunch of random information the history of early workers etc

By JIA N

Jun 2, 2020

well designed curriculum and the content is well presented. The peer-reviewed assignment was particularly designed in a structured way, which allows me to connect the dots and apply what I have learned to my own case. I think it is awesome that while the assignment is open-ended, the professor also gave sufficient guideline and mini examples to explain how the question should be answered.

Besides the structure, the content itself was insightful and inspiring. As a people manager for five years, I am able to reconcile my own experience and understanding with the employment relationship theories. The people manager value proposition graph which was presented at the first lecture, I wish every new people manager gets to see that on the first day they turn into people manager. It would save tons of effort of them trying to discover the entire landscape of people management and greatly accelerate their learning.

By MIAWAWANA G F

Mar 24, 2018

super ce cours avec des exemples concrêts et surtout adaptés aux besoins actuels des enteprises.

Partout, les entreprises souffrent d’une pénurie de main-d’œuvre compétente et qualifiée. Dans ce contexte, tous parlent de la nécessité de trouver le talent, de l’acquérir, de le développer, de le retenir et de le gérer, multipliant les stratégies pour garder ces effectifs précieux.

La situation globale peut s’avérer paradoxale : d’un côté, du chômage à grande échelle, de l’autre, une abondance d’opportunités d’emploi. Comment expliquer une telle situation? Parce que plusieurs de ces emplois exigent des compétences particulières, et que l’inadéquation entre le travail disponible et le travail spécialisé s’accroît. Comment alors conserver ses acquis en matière de ressources humaines? telles sont les questions traitées et comprises dans ce cours !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By NGUESSAN A L H

Apr 21, 2019

Je suis très heureux d'avoir pris part à cette formation qui a apporté un éclaircissement à la notion de gestion des ressources humaines que que j'appréhendais difficilement et que je limitais au recrutement, à l'encadrement et aux mutations. Je croyais même qu'un bon manager des ressources humaines était celui qui parvenait à aider la direction générale à réduire la masse salariale et étouffer toute éventualité de revendications syndicales avec des primes circonstancielles. Je comprends aujourd'hui que savoir motiver les employés de façon intrinsèque peut être plus bénéfique que juste négocier les primes et autres motivations pécuniaires.

Je comprends aussi l'impact ambivalent des normes sociales qui régissent l'emploi.

Thanks a lot, Dear Professor.

By Isabel M

Apr 5, 2016

A very enjoyable course: not as easy as the subject would let you think. It is a real preparation in the sense that you get an intensive crash course on basics of HR philosophy/history/trends and what's to be expected from a manager.

The instructor really made an effort to render the course into a MOOC format. Each course is well documented, his speeches are clear and each sentence has been carefully selected. He summarizes a lot and makes an extra effort to make us understand how each subject is connected to the other. I found him a great pedagog.

As for quizzes, you need to understand the subject and not just memorize.

Very entertaining. I sure will watch it again!