Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
7,405 ratings
2,007 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

MG
Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

SH
Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

Filter by:

1976 - 2000 of 2,012 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Adebayo B A

Mar 16, 2021

At the outset of the course i learnt how to explore the importance of linking

recruitment goals with overall company strategy.

We then look at a number of options to recruit and

select employees both effectively and legally.

By Laura M

Jul 6, 2021

The instructor is annoyingly cheesy and spends a lot of time "reviewing" and telling you what he's going to speak about. I would rather you just tell me the information straight up.

By Lauryna B

Aug 4, 2021

The course itself was useful, sometimes interesting, sometimes got bored of it. The testing system was not the one I expected, the questions were a bit complicated and crowded.

By Tijana Z

Jan 23, 2019

It gives you the overview of the HRM, but the slides are often crowded, confusing and distracting. Please, use less colours and pictures and make better slides with some order.

By shabnam m

Jan 22, 2018

I wish the instructor had provided review slides at the end of each section. Some more complex terms could have been elaborated more clearly.

By Weneeke M

Dec 6, 2017

it was a good course. Maybe the target audience is current HR or people who have experience. This was totally new information for me.

By Angelica R

Apr 23, 2016

The module of legal was very focus on US which does no apply to international students.

By Ingrid O

Feb 7, 2021

I was happy about finishing this course now, but WHY the credit hours are not given?

By Enayatullah A

Jul 20, 2016

a good one for gaining more knowledge regarding managing people

By BHUVANESH A K 1

Dec 25, 2019

It is very good to learn and I improved my hr skills

By Mohammed N J

Jul 16, 2020

the course is nice but overall i found a bit boring

By Eleni M P

Dec 14, 2020

I do not think it is fair to have a peer review.

By TOLULOPE O

Apr 20, 2020

T

h

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

h

a

s

b

r

o

a

d

I

n

g

m

y

o

p

I

n

I

o

n

o

n

H

R

R

O

l

e

s

By Thy N

Mar 26, 2020

the presentation should be less colour

By shefali s

Jul 7, 2021

c​ould be a bit more interesting

By Amouna b

May 22, 2021

beneficial course , thank you

By Yanhua W

Mar 28, 2021

not vert practical

By K. S S

Jun 11, 2020

excellent course

By Shreya D

Sep 17, 2021

PERFECT COURSE

By Baimukhambetov Y

May 18, 2020

Not bad course

By Andrea C

Jan 3, 2019

Good Course!

By Bhumika P

May 18, 2020

average

By Rajanikant K

Jun 26, 2020

good

By Dilini B

Aug 28, 2021

By Thales F N

May 21, 2020

There was some nice insights into macro analysis. The external factors to an organization that you should pay attention to before designing an HR strategy.

However, it was too academic and not very practical. The course provides really little real-life examples of situations that organizations face. In addition, sounded a lot like the professor was showing off how smart and academically awarded he was instead of providing useful frameworks and insights.

One last thing is that all of it was presented in an extremely boring and badly designed way. Really bad jokes made me want to stop attending the course several times.