Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
8,288 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH

Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 2,244 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Seçil B A

Oct 29, 2020

Mr. Budd is a brilliant instructor! Learned a lot of theoretical information which lies beneath the HR policies and many practical information that I can start instantly applying in my daily business. Many thanks for this informative course!

By Rizwan N

Oct 26, 2020

First of all i would like to thanks my teacher who has such a tremendous way to explain which really helps me to understand everything.

I will continue my study from Coursera and i would must say its just a beginning.

THANKS COURSERA

By Cynthia C Z

Nov 1, 2020

I really enjoyed this first. I didn't know that to be a good manager all of the mentioned in the course are required. Big thank you to Prof. John Budd for teaching us this course in an a fun but effective way.

By Dr. C

Dec 17, 2020

I thank Professor John W Budd, for his excellent insights in human resources subject and the way of teaching is excellent. the course was very informative and interesting.

By Pimchat P

Oct 28, 2020

This course is really useful for any managers who would like to know how to efficiently manage their teams or employees. It’s also useful for the one who would like to know the meaning of HR, how HR people work, the process behind the scene, and other things that one needs to know about HR.

After I finished this course, I realized that HR is a lot more than I thought and it’s really interesting. I can also extent my knowledge and continue searching for more resources and studying by myself easier since I’ve got all the basic knowledge from this course.

By Melissa P

Oct 28, 2020

This course was harder than I had anticipated. I learned a lot and definitely could have benefitted from a vocabulary outline/key.

By Sumaiya T

Jan 26, 2021

I'll be very honest and give my opinion. I gave 3 stars because this course overall gave me a lot of knowledge and taught me what exactly is the job of an HR. However, I didn't give 5 stars because of the lecture presentations. It was really annoying at first (when they showed trains running in the background and more) but after week 2, I got used to it and didn't have any trouble on focusing on the lectures.

By belgisu t

Jan 22, 2021

i think this course was very easy. instructor was not very engaging and dull and the assignment was not for everyone. Overall, thank you for this course i think I am gonna try to get in to HR.

By Amy L B

Jul 5, 2020

Very difficult to follow the instructor.

By Kayla D

Dec 13, 2021

The professor that is teaching this course is very mundane. He thinks he is funny, I do not agree. There is no type of terms given for each video and there are times he uses words that you are left to figure out. If feels like he jumps around from spot to spot. The videos are super short. How are you supposed to retain anything when you are trying to take notes he is talking too quickly or goes onto another subject within seconds. Yes, you can pause the video, however when you pause the video you lose the fluidity of the lesson. Also, the only additional reading he gives is his blog pages. Is there no other reading material? That is his opinion, in most cases. I would rather additional reading that is not on someone's blog. I feel like a different professor or maybe a new structure of the course and videos.

By Niwech H

Dec 6, 2016

It is not what I was expecting to learn from this course. The course syllabus seems very good but the actual lectures are not good. I would not recommend this course to any one. I don't think we can call this as introduction of HRM because it doesn't give us any knowledge related with HRM. The only new term to me is the high-road vs. low-road, the rest is the common sense to me.

By Shaniqua P

Oct 20, 2020

There is no hands on activities with this course. It consist of watching videos and answering quizzes. I am more of a hands on learner so I got very bored with the course.

By Elishama U

Aug 2, 2022

The learner's project helped me understand that people are willing to get a pay cut in order to do jobs with significant improvements .

1. Basically, i think i have learnt entirely too much in this course to place a lot of emphasis on one specific area. As an essentials course i feel that the course filled out well and did a great job of getting my feet wet with the principles, philosophies, theories, ideas, and practice of Organization Development , Managerial styles, Laws and so on. I think one of the most important thing that i learned during the course on Organization Development is a holistic approach to change. There is no simple solutions when dealing with change. Everything including processess, employess, managers and behaviors have to be looked at to get a good sense of where, when, and how a change intervention can be successful . A practitioner needs to be well grounded and be able to look at the world around without making hasty judgments. This course was a great introduction , there is so much that goes into become a successful Human Resource Personnel and I feel like i have much much more to learn. And with this i have known my right also as an employee.

2. I really enjoyed the online course. I thought it was well planned and layed out, easy for me to follow. The work load was just enough, so i could finish everything with enough time, learn about the topics and not feel over loaded and rushed.

Overall I really like this class because all lectures, assignments, and tests are straight forward. A couple things I dislike about the class are that there should be more opportunities for extension as some of us work and it would be awesome if the final was an objective essay about what we have learned in this class or what we like about the class. I believe that I have more knowledge about Management, Labour laws and hopefully, I can use them in my place of work.

The course was everything you said it would be, fun but a lot of work. And it was! I enjoyed the video classes because they were a lot of fun and easy to understand. And the answers were usually somewhere in the text. I also liked the assignments that required us to get online. Sometimes articles aside from the reading book gave me a better idea and understanding of the subject for that week. What I disliked was the short essay question because I found it difficult to explain certain concepts without introducing in some way, Ideas from the course notes . I never expected to learn so much from an online class; I now see Human Resource in a whole new way. I know I could have done better, but in the end I learned that an online class could be as much work or more than a regular class. However, I still enjoyed it very much.

By Brenda E

May 5, 2021

This excellent course taught me how to be a managing leader, a strategic HR partner, and a human resource high-road taker. I would highly recommend this outstanding professor (John Budd) for his clear ways of explaining complex material. Professor Budd made it fun, interesting, and relevant. He connected his presentations with today's business cases and blog posts, and he also gave us relevant assignments to do that were thought-provoking and meaningful. The videos, blogs, and PowerPoint slides were all designed to help me learn the material as a career changer new to the HR field, and the practice quizzes, HR landscape assignment, and module quizzes provided good assessments. Thank you so much!

By Nisal L

Oct 31, 2020

It is a good learning ...what I did to have a beter comprehension I rewrite all the subject matter on papers sothat they may help me oneday to remind my lectures at works. I got to know about the people managing in addition, people are the most valuble thing on earth to deal with. All the things take place between humanbeings throughout this human living circle so therefore this coirse values not only for when we deal with workers in a organisation but in our lives also this can be applicable. At last I want to thank for your encoragous teaching and for the cultivation you as a teacher who plant a tree ( specific knowledge) in me. So now it is my turn to harvest it. Thank you very much.

By Tony M

May 14, 2022

T​he instructor was excellent, as were the materials. To make this course better, I think the discussion questions should be required and I think that more needs to be done to filter out peoplem who are just clicking through. More rigor should be added to complete this course. The other submissions on the peer reviewed assignment were generally not serious and were kind of insulting considering the work I put forth. Thank you for the opportunity to take in the excellent material you offered here for essentially free online. You have helped my career.

By Mónica A S

Jan 28, 2021

Really great module, I learned a lot of new concepts, a lot of things that have an influence on HR, the different things that a manager should consider in order to be a great manager and so much more. I personally think that the interviews and "speed-dating with HR executives" were amazing and really helpful. As an undergraduate looking forward to specializing in HR, this introduction was amazing and I'm looking forward to complete the whole specialization course. AMAZING PROFESSOR and amazing explanations. Thank you very much.

By Sandra E

Aug 3, 2021

I previously submitted feedback. My name is Sandra Escalante, I am Human Resources Generalist at Lone Star Reel, Inc. in McKinney, TX. Our corp. office is Carris Reels, Inc. in Vermont. I am not a teacher, but I am working with our Production Manager to build training programs and standards for our current supervisors and shift leads. Most of them acquired their current roles through "battlefield promotions" Carris acquired the company and removed some people and others quit, but the ones that remained are not prepared.

By Apurva H N

Aug 24, 2020

This is a best course for someone who wants to learn what HR is about or explore the field. The course gives flavor of all the different areas in HR in a very easy to understand way. There are frequent quiz and assignments which actually helps to check our understanding a lot. The best part was indeed the peer graded assignments, which encourages to think creatively and helps to connect the theory into practical application. Plus, it allows to read responses by other students, which gives so many new perspectives.

By K V

Nov 23, 2020

Professor Budd is definitely a fun teacher. Everything is explained in detail without that much nonsense talk. Being someone who likes taking down notes, I actually filled up a whole notebook with all the awesome information he has taught. I definitely have a better understanding of what HR does now. I took his course so I can manage people better, and will definitely finish and do all the other courses under HR for People Managers Specialization, so I will be a better leader and manager.

By Jude P

Apr 29, 2022

It's a valuable course, providing profound and priceless lessons. As the course opens, the introductory speeches state something along the lines of that this HR-relevant course is different in its approach than other HR courses are. I don't yet know because I have only taken this HR course. But, with that said, by the end of the lessons I knew it was true.

I am glad to have participated, and glad to have been exposed to the lessons and the weath of information and insight it provides.

By Douglas I

Feb 20, 2021

My review is based on what I have learned so far, bearing in mind that there could be a lot of details that I'm yet to know about, being new to the course. However, Professor Budd did a good job in the way the course was presented. He defined the subject, gave a good background of where economics, psychology and sociology come together in human resources management. He talked so much about strategy and how to be successful, and the pit-falls to avoid. Again, a very good start.

By Sucheta C

Aug 7, 2019

I feel that this course is an absolute commendable course as an basics to know what HR is all about. It can basically give an bird's eye view on how things work in an organization both from the worker's and the HR manager's side. By going through this course you'll realize how vast and dynamic this field is. I would definitely recommend this course to all the beginners like me who aspire to become HR as this would act as an introductory foundation class for your higher studies.

By Jason L

Dec 17, 2021

The course had robust video content and interesting ideas on the principles of management of human resources. I would have liked to have started the series with a more basic human resource course, because I am not in management at the moment. This seems like it shouldn't be the first course in the series but something that you work up to. That being said, the material is good and useful for anybody, even people who aren't managers, but more useful for those who are.

By ONI, T O

Sep 16, 2020

I am ONI, Thomas Olatunde a Nigerian and a Postgraduate Degree holder working in one Private University in Nigeria. The course Preparing to Manage Human Resources is a course that is loaded and contribute an educative impact to the live of learners. I really benefited from the course as it exposes me to many things which I dont know from onset. The facilitators of the course really did an impactful knowledge and I am grateful to them all.

Thank you.