Chevron Left
Back to Marketing in an Analog World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marketing in an Analog World by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
915 ratings
234 reviews

About the Course

Our new digital world is dramatically changing the way products are created, promoted, distributed, and consumed. Although these changes have been revolutionary, we still live in an analog (or physical) world. For example, even today, over 90% of all sales are still conducted in analog stores. Thus, both marketers and consumers must simultaneously navigate both the analog and digital worlds on a daily basis. Although the “digital revolution” has received considerable attention in recent years, the impact of this revolution on the analog world has been largely ignored. This course examines this issue by asking how the “digital revolution” has impacted marketing in an analog world. The learning approach will be highly interactive, meaning that you will have both the opportunity to engage in a variety of hands-on activities and participate as a member of a rich learning community. You will be able to: - Understand the key differences between the analog and the digital - Examine four ways in which the analog world has been affected by the “digital revolution”: domination, resistance, synergy, and transformation - Explore the implications of the analog world for both marketers and consumers This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/imba....

Top reviews

AS
Oct 10, 2020

Quite unique in its view of Analog VS. Digital in today's world. I would recommend it for any aspiring marketing professional as it offers a different perspective than most digital marketing courses.

LK
Apr 1, 2021

Professor Rindfleisch is a great professor. I look forward to his sessions because he always keeps it interesting and he seems so excited by what he teaches he makes it interested for me as well.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 229 Reviews for Marketing in an Analog World

By Janice G

Aug 19, 2019

G

By Nishant M

May 2, 2020

The course provided a good insight into the digital marketing world at a fundamental level. It is an up to date course to understand basic concepts. It helps to stay sharp with case studies and video lectures, which are very engaging. The case studies are fairly challenging and bring out your understanding of the concepts in the module. However, the feedback mechanism on the case studies via peer-to-peer reviews seems a bit flawed as there are a lot of loopholes, students copying answers without citations, some downgrading you because you provided citations and they don't know what that means, students giving bad reviews if they have been rated badly by you, even if your feedback is honest and constructive. Overall, its a good course that could help solidify your fundamental understanding of digital marketing.

By S R

Jul 16, 2020

Professor Aric is terrific and I learned a great deal. Is there a way to make ongoing changes like some of the courses in Coursera do? For example, one of the professors is not even in academia anymore and some of the bleeding edge stuff gets left out. I know it is not possible to shoot videos every couple of months--but if every 6 months or so a checking in of sorts can be done, things will be more current. Needless to say, things change so fast in this world that today's novelty is already stale tomorrow.

By Rishabh G

May 24, 2020

I do not understand that even after completing the entire 6 courses i Specialization, I am unable to access the Capstone. And there is no help available at all.

Rest of the things are good in the course. Excellent faculty and material.

Suggestion: we should add as an activity- A blog/article writing to be published on Coursera page.

By Bhushan P

Jan 16, 2018

The professor, as always, has a good fun+teaching way of putting things across, which works for me. However, the course material needs to be looked at, as a couple of videos have wrong transcripts and students have raised the issue as far as 3 months back but to no avail.

By Marcell N

Aug 25, 2020

The other courses in the specialization were not so strong. Rather superficial, for newbs. This one had more depths and went into a rarely studied field. Plus the humor of Prof. Aric is great.

By Jennifer N

Nov 15, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and felt the professor structured the modules well building concepts for understanding how analog and digital fit together in this ever changing world.

By Magda G C V

Dec 15, 2019

Very good course. At the begining, modules are kind of long and maybe not necessarily to explain the concepts but just to explain the examples. Could be done shorter.

By Subhajyoti C

Oct 23, 2019

I like the presentation however not sure if it meant sense to have so many exercises. They ofcourse did add value but needed some diversity.

By Joe P

Nov 10, 2020

Answers required are typically 3 sentences to 5 bullets. Could have been more challenging in regards of thought experiment essays.

By Mehrdad k

Jan 20, 2019

thank you so much from all people who worked hard to create.this nice course

God bless

By Brett C M

Dec 17, 2019

A good addition to bookend the Digital Marketing Specialization.

By Ankitha P

Nov 4, 2020

was interesting. All the interviews were insightful

By PURNIMA M

Mar 1, 2021

this course needs new updates and latest examples

By Akhil A

Aug 15, 2020

It was a unique course in itself.

By Maria L C

Sep 1, 2020

Interesting and authentic!

By Ahmed M

Dec 25, 2018

nice course

By Amit B

Aug 20, 2019

good

By Jamie S

Aug 16, 2018

I really enjoy Aric's teaching style. The interviews at the end of each module were informative. Overall this course in the Digital Marketing Series was less relevant to my job.. but it was very interesting.

By Amruta M

Oct 21, 2020

Though the concept of the course is very good, the material seems to be repetitive. The course feels stretched in its 4th week. Professor is undoubtedly very convincing and delivers the course well.

By P.R.

Jul 3, 2020

Good:

Professor has a good style.

Informed me of a few new things.

Bad:

The content of this course could have been done in a reading or a few videos. The topic was not so broad and it was beaten to death.

The problem with this and other courses is they have not even fully done the math of digital marketing - so how can anyone really understand all of it.

Other courses - and I am not saying all are better at all - give you handouts and templates with what you need.

By Jon N

Feb 23, 2021

As much as I'd like to say nice things, I can't. This is a filler course that has nothing to do with the larger specialization of digital marketing. There were a few interesting things that you MIGHT be able to make an argument are relevant (distantly), but that content could have been put in a single week class. I think it's too long, and there's too much that isn't relevant. Unfortunately, it's required to get to the capstone.

By Elina D

Jan 10, 2021

Course structure: 70% peer graded assignments and quizzes, 15% the professor bragging about his 3D printing lab, 10% students opinions, 5% of information. If you are not doing this as a part of marketing specialization, it is not worth your time. Look into prof. Yao courses from Illinois university instead.

By Michael T

Apr 10, 2018

Had a very difficult time receiving reviews to advance to the capstone class.

By Tanusree B

Oct 16, 2020

Very poor as they are asking for payment twice as I had already paid the full amount once . They have started the course 5 in October but asking for charges from us for their delay in course lectures. We don't want to pay 11000 for an online course as once it is already paid.