Chevron Left
Back to Material Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Material Behavior by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
1,060 ratings
234 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the first of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Top reviews

SS
Mar 29, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

SS
May 29, 2020

This was very useful for me to understand the material beviour , crystal structure of various material , material type after that got the sufficient knowledge about material beviour

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 228 Reviews for Material Behavior

By Amit k m

Mar 11, 2019

GOOD

By penperoo7

Jun 12, 2017

well

By Fhareza A

Sep 18, 2020

wow

By Rajneesh K G

Mar 26, 2019

gr8

By 唐雪松

Mar 6, 2017

666

By Ajay A R R

Oct 21, 2020

Ok

By sravanthi c

Aug 17, 2020

E

By Marieke S

Jul 31, 2017

A great and very informative course! Thank you! Some known mistakes (-> discussed in the forum) should be corrected though; especially those very annoying ones in the quizzes where correct answers are marked as incorrect and incorrect answers have to be selected to pass the quiz. Sometimes information to pass all quiz questions is missing in the slides of the lecture. However, most of the times, the answer can easily be found out by some additional source (literature, internet etc.).

By Angelique A J

May 31, 2020

Overall it was a great course for me. The practical applications and diagrams were useful to increase understanding. However, in my opinion, I was not able to fully grasp some of the more difficult concepts, which require much more in-depth explanations.

By himanshu s

Nov 13, 2016

Gives brief understanding of almost every aspect Materials engineering. Effort is required from the side of student to understand the concept wholly. Many complicated topics are dealt with with relative ease and from basics.

By Tan S Y S

Apr 27, 2020

Clear introduction of fundamental concepts for material structures and thus their behaviors. I was expecting more coverage on polymers and composite materials, but bulk of the course covered metallic materials.

By Vivek P

Jul 3, 2020

Interesting, informative and exciting course content along with clear and elaborate explanation of the content. Lots of examples are used which makes it easier for the learner to understand the concept better.

By angel d l

Feb 25, 2021

To whom concern.

The whole of course is fantastic , I have learnt too much about scince engineering.

Nevertheless, I would have liked to have more practical examples.

Thanks¡

By Thomas B

Jul 12, 2020

Very interesting topics and provides a good introduction to Materials science. Equations used could be explained in more detail.

By Gerald S I B

May 11, 2021

Kindly put explanation why the answers in the quizzes are wrong and if those are right, please give an elaborate explanation.

By Tianyi L

Jul 21, 2016

A very organized and well guided course. However, the contents are fairly difficult for a pre-university students.

By Robert

Aug 29, 2016

Pretty good teacher. Easy words for not native-speakers. German subtles would be great.

By Vivian N

Nov 24, 2020

Very informative thanks to this course I am more informed on Behavior of materials

By Dr D M

May 21, 2020

Very good course for those who are starting to learn about different materials.

By Joshua K

Nov 18, 2016

Some quizzes ask questions that aren't discussed until subsequent lectures.

By BARANI M

May 8, 2020

This course is good for the students who are mechanical background.

By Shaik A M

Jun 10, 2020

Really worthy teaching. Frame of learning designed is appreciable.

By Shirish B

May 5, 2020

Very Good course for Basic Material Science & Material Behaviour

By DEEP B

Aug 20, 2017

Good review of fundamentals and application based understanding

By sintu r

Mar 17, 2017

A really nice course. I would have wanted more about polymers.