Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,552 ratings
4,072 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

SS
Jan 20, 2022

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

IK
Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

Filter by:

976 - 1000 of 4,058 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By VAIBHAV S

May 26, 2020

The course is extremely good to learn from a beginner level and to reach an advanced level.

Pace is good and most important professor is most cool.

By AMBATI M R

May 19, 2020

It is a great Course. I'm glad that this course is made free for like us people.Thanks to Vanderbilt University and all the professors and others.

By Yan L

May 6, 2020

Best course for MATLAB! The funny and knowledgable professor made my insistence all courses. Thank you for all professors and staffs in Coursera.

By Tjaša L

Jan 14, 2019

Loved it! Nice pace with enough practical examples and homeworks. At the end of the course you are actually able to understand and write the code.

By Eleanna

Oct 15, 2018

Fantastic course, thorough and with lots of practice problems to master the material. The instructor is brilliant and has a great sense of humour!

By Abinaya A R

Jun 2, 2017

Very useful course for beginners in MATLAB. I loved the course structure and this course brought in me the enthusiasm to explore MATLAB on my own.

By Leow X Y

Feb 3, 2021

Very in-depth lesson that is very well structured. There are also many assignments that test your understanding as well and they are challenging!

By Neema D

Sep 28, 2020

Very well planned course. I was doing programming after 25 years, still I was able to do as the material is taught in a very logical way. Thanks.

By Akash P

Jun 26, 2020

This course helped me in understanding different coding concepts through this course and I enjoyed this course till the end. Thank You, Coursera.

By Mayank M

Jun 12, 2019

Must opt this course if you want to learn from scratch.

Excellent teachers, examples and assignments.

No prior knowledge require for this course.

By Linda L

Jul 25, 2017

Learned a lot!!! This is THE course if you didn't have any experience with MATLAB and would like to get started. Very professional and organized.

By Sebastian A Y T

Nov 22, 2021

Amazing course, learning with an useful tool that is very helpful for many activities and courses that will improve the knowledge and save time.

By Shuvajit M

Oct 16, 2020

This course help me to understand the basics of Matlab programming. This is helpful for me to analysis of many complicated problems very easily.

By Ankit S

Aug 2, 2020

The course was very good.

just one complaint that the asiignments were too difficult for a first time programmer.

they should have been a bit easy

By Nuwan M W

Jul 12, 2020

Its actually great flat form to improve programming skills actually instructors also very friendly and very clear teaching.

Thank you very much

By Temitope A

May 23, 2020

It was a great experience. I am already feeling like a professional programmer. This course is too detailed to be called introduction to matlab.

By Prabhakar S (

Apr 22, 2020

The course gives a simple approach to learning MATLAB and covers all fundamentals.I recommend this course to all those aspiring to learn MATLAB.

By Juan M R

Dec 17, 2017

Great course, everything is very well explained and the homeworks really help to practice and better understand what is explained in the videos.

By Anthony E S

Nov 29, 2017

Excellent course with enough homework to really make you know the subject. The instructor was easy to understand and very helpful on the forums.

By Elizabeth D

Nov 18, 2017

Really enjoying it so far!

As a biologist with no official training in Matlab finding the explanations fantastic! Great well explained examples.

By Pablo H

Sep 28, 2016

Amazing instructors, very appreciate their input and explanations by typing it on the system. Very well thought and excellent material content.

By segundo f s a

Aug 17, 2020

Excelente curso. altamente recomendado. Me permitió ordenar lo que sabia y aprender tips que mejoraron mucho mi dominio de este buen programa.

By Ashok K P

Jun 7, 2020

Really awesome course created by Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee. A big thank you to Prof. Mike Fitzpatrick and Prof. Akos Ledeczi.

By Abyaz A

Dec 21, 2019

It is such an amazing course to start your journey with Matlab. I will recommend this over any other Matlab introductory courses. Best of luck.

By Durgasankar n

Sep 8, 2020

i am initially has very less knowledge in programming , with completion of this course ,i am fond of programming and has found interest in it.