Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,962 ratings
4,160 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

IK

Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

SS

Jan 20, 2022

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

4026 - 4050 of 4,152 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By HARJYOTI D

Aug 4, 2020

great

By Yasmeen A T

Oct 3, 2021

good

By Sidra F

Sep 13, 2021

Good

By Vedant V J

Jul 8, 2021

Good

By GOTTAMGEETHIKA

May 29, 2021

good

By Amit K S

May 9, 2021

good

By Karri A

Feb 24, 2021

Good

By Karthik S D

Jan 1, 2021

Nice

By VOLLEPU M S

Dec 6, 2020

good

By KAVIN K P S

Sep 10, 2020

NICE

By Elvan V

Sep 6, 2020

Nice

By LOKESHVAR .

Aug 30, 2020

good

By Ajeethkumar U

Aug 15, 2020

quiz

By abhilash

Jul 29, 2020

good

By gautam K

Jun 27, 2020

good

By PRANAV N

May 2, 2020

best

By Jose L R H

Mar 6, 2018

Nice

By 121810402046 M V

Dec 15, 2020

.1

By Khalil R F

Jul 5, 2021

By NIRAJ P

Apr 16, 2021

.

By Moe s k

Jul 6, 2018

g

By Alexis S

Aug 20, 2020

I feel like I learned a lot in this course as I was a complete beginner to programming. However, I agree with some of the other reviews that the assignments were way harder than the material presented in the lectures and example problems, particularly for the second half of the course. I felt I had a good grasp on the concepts for the first half of the course, but it got significantly harder. We had to use functions that were never mentioned during the lectures and that I didn't know existed, for example. I found myself getting frustrated and having to consult the discussion boards regularly towards the end, in an attempt to figure out where I was going wrong with my code and even to figure out where to start. That helped, but I believe that the course could be better laid out to better prepare students for the more difficult assignments. That being said, I appreciate the time that the instructors put into making this course and making it available to audit for free. It is a difficult subject for those new to programming and provided a good introductory foundation.

By Ricardo D

Oct 8, 2020

I think the course is a little out of place. The first 7 weeks are for real beginners. It's slow, very slow. But the 8th week and the final assignments are for mid-level programmers. If you're new to computer programming, you probably won't be able to complete the final tasks. I think the course should end in week 7, and the last topics should be added to the next level. But, if you really don't know anything about programming, you can give it a try. If you are already a programmer, it will be a waste of time.

By Laurie-Ann R

Jul 20, 2020

The course itself is good. Learned a lot but not being able to reset deadlines (not as flexible as I thought) means I am going to lose my certificate. Not sure if I would try another certificate. Being a working mother I only have limited time to do so. Thought this may be feasible but obviously not working as well as I hoped. The only other issue I found was that the course information doesn't work with all programs so if you are using an older edition then it becomes more difficult to follow sometimes.