Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,302 ratings
4,022 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 4,008 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Chetan B

Mar 8, 2021

I very much did enjoy the course throughout. Special thanks to Mike for making this course interesting and playful yet knowledgeable at the same time. I did love his style of teaching a lot.

By Joshua A

Jun 20, 2020

The teaching was great with hands-on examples and exercises for those who bought the MATLAB programming book. The course is excellent for anyone who desires to learn programming with MATLAB.

By Subhradeep G

Jun 15, 2020

Best course on MATLAB I've ever seen. Started from the very basic and ended with the most advanced features of MATLAB. Didn't leave any stone unturned. Thank you for such a wonderful course.

By Carlos H R B d S

Jul 24, 2020

The course is just wonderful. Professor Fitzpatrick and his team did a great job together. The classes are excellent and the exercises are very interesting. I became a fan of MATLAB myself.

By Sajjad K

May 15, 2020

I have studied this course and it helped me a lot in programming. What an excellent journey with sir and challenging assignments.

In short i have learnt more than my expectation.............

By Yukta S

May 12, 2020

It was great! The concepts were explained really well and PDFs were provided for every week. The staff was really helpful and friendly. Thank you very much, I am no longer afraid of coding!

By Shakti l

May 3, 2020

I m very satisfied after completing this course. This course provided me all the basic knowledge related to the MATLAB programming, which will help me alot for my future studies and carrer.

By Athallia Q

Apr 30, 2020

Thank you! i really enjoy this course. Doing MATLAB is so hard for me at first but after learning with Mr. Fitzpatrick, well, it is still hard but i have a better understanding at it now :)

By Roshni S

May 3, 2019

Course content was informative and well planned. Able to code basic programmes using MATLAB successfully after the course. Assignments were well designed and helped test programming skills.

By Aagashram.N

Mar 12, 2017

VERY USEFUL and the problem were mind busting. And I also want to mention about the FORUM. I had never seen any kind of active community anywhere where peoples in the thirst to help others.

By JOHN F N R

May 14, 2021

This was a very interesting course I had some difficult in the last themes but that was the thing that motivated me to still learning. I really glad to take this course. Thank you so much.

By HARISH K G

Mar 30, 2021

Really had a good time with the Matlab,the course is more interesting and far better than what i thought and also i feel better interactive with Matlab and gained more knowledge in Matlab.

By Abdul K

May 16, 2020

I am new to computer programming but this course has taught me well. Now I'm strong at my basics.

This course is well taught with long hours of classes explaining deeply about fundamentals.

By AMMAR M A B

Apr 29, 2019

This course is very useful. It helped me to get to know the Matlab environment very easily and thus gave me the first steps to start the professionalism in the programming language Matlab.

By Kiran

Aug 9, 2020

A very useful and great course. The teaching of Prof Michael Fitzpatrick is amazing. I'd like to thank him and others involved in the creation of this course and to Vanderbilt University.

By Sree P S

Jun 27, 2020

Brilliantly put forth and compiled. Gives a strong foundation of MATLAB, even to a layman. Thoroughly enjoyed and benefited a lot. Thank you so much to everyone who worked on this course.

By Takkallapally S S R

May 26, 2020

Pretty good teacher. No need of any prior knowledge in programming. The difficulty of assignments tends to increases in the last two weeks of the course. Basics are covered in the course.

By Bernard A

Dec 3, 2021

This course has given me all the fundamental understanding of Matlab. The Professors are top-class and very amiable. The perfect course for anyone who wants to start a journey in Matlab.

By Aliaksandra R

Aug 28, 2021

It's a perfect course for begginers. The first time in my life I have understood that I probably able to cope with some programming stuff. Thanks. See you in the next part of the course.

By Omkar K

Sep 13, 2020

The instructor made the course fun. Doing the stuff he does simultaneously with your matlab opened really helps with the concepts as you see them being applied simultaneously with theory

By Òscar C O

Sep 4, 2020

I already knew a bit of Matlab coding, however, this course gave me a wider vision of what Matlab is and it has provided me useful coding knowledge that for sure will help in my degree.

By Michael N

May 29, 2020

Excellent course with introduction programming but also a great introduction to Matlab. Matlab provides solutions for generic programming but try to solve it in a Matrix oriented style.

By Muhammad W

May 28, 2019

such nice course very interesting for learning programming and the assignment session make me very curious i enjoyed a lot by doing it and increased my knowledge of programming in matlab

By Carles

Dec 20, 2016

This is the first course that I have done in Coursera and I am absolutely delighted. Clear information, and very accurate assignments system. It encourages me to keep doing more courses.