Chevron Left
Back to Model Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Model Thinking by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
1,828 ratings
403 reviews

About the Course

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Top reviews

AA
Nov 23, 2020

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

GK
Feb 24, 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 394 Reviews for Model Thinking

By Davide G

Jul 2, 2020

Even if you already have a strong math background, this course will open your eyes: it will provide you with extremely useful tools to think clearly about important problems. Scott is a great teacher, 100% recommended.

By antonio q

Jan 22, 2020

A very good training, really pushed me to think in model terms, looking at most of the life aspect and see correlations, maybe causations, being challenged to use more models at once, I highly recommend this course

By Alexey M

Mar 19, 2016

It is really great course!

Thanks for making it available.

I think it is course that everybody should take before going into machine learning/data science. It may help you to make better sense of what you will learn.

By Sara D R

Mar 11, 2016

This overview of a variety of modeling concepts and applications was both challenging and interesting. The course requires study and effort which pays off with a broader perspective on simple and complex processes.

By Nguyen A V

Dec 21, 2015

It is a very interesting course. The lecture is easy to understand and the lecturer is very friendly. I got a lot of interesting and useful knowledge not only for my jobs but also for my life. Thank you very much!

By Ritayan B

Jun 25, 2016

I found this to be extremely interesting. This is the course that you savour every second of. Both content and delivery are superlative. Highly recommended if you have any clue of what models are all about.

By Ross A

Aug 18, 2020

Excellent course showing some interesting ways to analyse social relationships using simple models. The lecturer is excellent: clear explanations, well organised and provides nice examples of the concepts.

By Gerard X

Dec 29, 2019

One of the best courses I've seen. Broad coverage of different types of models and many have a place in the life of an analyst or data scientist. Excellent. I also strongly recommend Scott Page's books.

By Mark

Jun 9, 2016

This course is simply AMAZING!!! Thank you Michigan University, & Mr. Scott for your meticulous efforts in bringing to the world quality education in the most simplified pattern!!! Kuddos to Coursera!!!

By Michael C

Mar 18, 2016

Very good and inspiring course. It teaches around 20 different models, not overwhelming you with math but giving you nonetheless a good and solid introduction. Also, the reading material is really good.

By Denerson D P M

Jun 24, 2018

Excelente curso para desenvolver modelos analíticos que vão muito além do senso comum, de forma estruturada e crítica, a partir de dados e inferências estatísticas, matemáticas e sócio-comportamentais.

By Anish A

Nov 24, 2020

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

By Kleber G S

Nov 20, 2020

Ótimo curso !

Um dos melhores que já fiz, com certeza passei a enxergar múltiplas situações de forma diferente.

O Curso cumpre com seu objetivo de fazer pessoas melhores para um mundo melhor .

By Anshul T

Jun 7, 2016

Wonderful course and equally wonderful instructor. I really like how Scott builds up from a very simple model and by explaining the intuition behind how we got the math, explains the maths.

By Julius G

Apr 8, 2018

This is a great introduction to the types and uses of models. The lectures are clear, and the examples given show good applicability to real world problems. Thanks for making it available!

By Andrey R

May 24, 2017

This course is a great introduction to simple but useful models. The prominent feature of the course is an intuition and practical examples based one the models provided. Many thanks!

By Henrique d M

May 17, 2017

I learned a lot in this course.

I think it is a essential course to social scientists especially those that are a little lost, don't knowing how they contribute to the wider society.

By Nas Y

Oct 17, 2016

This is a course for anyone who wants to be able to think logically. As an IT professional I would recommend this course to my colleagues in the Information Technology field.

By frank y

Mar 19, 2016

Very inspiring! Brings me into a whole new world, to look at things from brand new perspective.

I love this course and would like to be posted on any update on this subject.

By Lester H

Jun 19, 2020

First time I have ever been excited about algebra and calculus. Understanding models will prove to be of great value when asked to interpret the meaning of collected data.

By Jaideep S

Feb 2, 2016

Loving this course so far, eager and excited to continue it and finish very soon. A great addition of analytical frameworks and management strategies to add to my toolkit.

By Filipe G

Jan 4, 2016

Really good. Fantastic overview.

For my taste it was a bit too easy and it could have gone more in depth in some topics. But I understand the need to keep it general also.

By Carla M

Mar 7, 2016

Very interesting! The teacher explains really well and even though his expertise is social science, he always explains how this thinking can pertain to other realms.

By Ameri

Sep 20, 2018

All the way 5! I am a last year Ph.D. candidate and this is one of the best courses I have ever had in my whole life! The instructor is amazing! I highly recommend.

By Philip W

Nov 18, 2016

Clear. Well paced. Methodical. Ideal balance of mathematics and practical application. Mathematics not too overwhelming although it did push my thinking hard.