Chevron Left
Back to Mountains 101

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mountains 101 by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
2,242 ratings
839 reviews

About the Course

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top reviews

BS
Feb 11, 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

SK
Dec 22, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 838 Reviews for Mountains 101

By Zainab S

Jul 16, 2020

The course really was helpful in understanding the nature and obviously tge benfits , origin and hazards of different types of mountains.

By Stephanie W

Aug 31, 2017

Great overview of geography, geomorphology, mountain culture, biodiversity, mountain ecology, and diverse professionals in the mountains.

By Diego T H M

Jul 10, 2020

Excellent course, gives a broad overview of all the areas that intervene in mountainous environments.

It helped me a lot for my degree.

By Gary J

Aug 1, 2020

Were well done course. I really enjoy the interaction, and I learned a lot about mountains I did not know before. great instructors.

By Maria R

Jun 24, 2020

Good holistic approach to understanding about mountains. Music, images, resource speakers and main lecturers conducive to learning.

By Deborah C

Mar 10, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. My daughters even did several of the lessons with me. We learned a lot; thank you for a great course!

By Mika N

Jun 7, 2020

An excellent course! I really enjoyed this, it was the best online course I have ever taken. Well organized and planned. Thank you!

By Jeevan G

Apr 8, 2019

fully enjoyed this course and wish there were more in depth lessons associated with what was taught. thanks for a great experience!

By Isabelle B R

Jan 14, 2021

Well thought out and produced course, readily accessible, interesting and makes you fall in love with mountains. Highly recommend.

By Richard S

Oct 26, 2017

Excellent instructors and a well designed course. Hopefully, there will be another course developed and offered at the next level.

By Gabriel A F G

Nov 27, 2020

Considero que es un curso muy completo, las explicaciones son concretas y están bien ejemplificadas, realmente se disfruta mucho.

By Mansi K

May 30, 2020

I Loved the course, it gave me a change to connect with the mountains and learn about something that gives me joy and goosebumps!

By Don M

Jan 24, 2019

Very informative and enjoyable. I recommend this to anyone who is interested in the ecology, geology and philosophy of mountains.

By Karla E

May 14, 2017

great course! Very well structured and executed: something for everyone. I learned a lot. Loved the special guest at the end too.

By Oliver P

Aug 9, 2020

One of the best MOOC I have ever taken during the COVID -19 pandemic period. A definite salve to the rigors of home quarantine.

By Torsten M

Jun 22, 2020

Learned a lot and had fun doing so. Perfect mixture of information and nice impressions. Please add Mountain 102 or 201 soon....

By Elizabeth T

May 3, 2020

This is an amazing course for the diversity of topics. Geology, climatology, dinosaurs, botany, anthropology. It covers so much.

By Costin S

Jun 30, 2020

One of the best and hear-warming courses I took online! I highly recommend for all the mountain and outdoor lovers! Thank you !

By Mitul B

Jun 26, 2020

Amazing course. Loved it a lot. The first one I wanted to keep going for ever. Worth the cost and would recommend for everyone.

By Karnik P

Jun 20, 2019

Gives a deep understanding that how mountain ecosystems works and how to conserve them with keeping various dimensions in mind.

By Hans K

Jan 31, 2019

Very well structured, enetertaining and full of knowledge!! I would recomend it 100%!! Great job by the Uneversity of Alberta!!

By Vicki S

Mar 30, 2021

Loved the range of topics covered and the way the instructors wove together the scientific and cultural aspects of mountains!

By Xavier W

Jan 20, 2021

It was a great course, and there was an astonishing amount of different materials and subjects over the course of the course.

By Cyril C H

May 27, 2017

Absolutely exquisite lessons, instructors, knowledge content, technical production et cetera. I am beyond pleased. Thank you.

By Mary L X

Jan 28, 2021

This course was very educational, eye opening, engaging, and well put together. I was sad for it to end! This was amazing!