Chevron Left
Back to Creating Sounds for Electronic Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creating Sounds for Electronic Music by Berklee College of Music

4.7
stars
229 ratings
65 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will create sounds and use them in your own musical compositions. Whether you're an aspiring producer, composer, or hobbyist, this course will help you gain skills in music production and confidence using software synthesizers. Along with your classmates, you will create a massive database of designed sounds, or patches, to use in your compositions. As part of the course, you will work with a free version of FXpansion Strobe 2. What you’ll need to get started: This course is designed for learners who are familiar with music production basics, and who have access to some basic music production equipment. Specifically, you should have experience with a digital audio workstation that supports VST, AAX, or AU plugins (Introduction to Music Production or Pro Tools Basics are recommended if you do not have this experience). You will also need a MIDI keyboard or controller (such as an oxygen 8), a digital audio workstation, such as Pro Tools, and FXpansion Strobe 2 (a free 90-day demo will be provided for Coursera learners in this course). *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

KK
Sep 25, 2020

I really like this course. It was very useful to me and allowed me to improve my music making.I have come to know a lot more about using a synthesizer.Thank you all teachers for creating this course.

LL
Jan 8, 2018

I was pleased with this course. Loudon looked a lot Younger. At first I was critical of the synth (Strobe 2) and of the Course Style But I was impressed by Other Students. Thanks Loudon - Le

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 64 Reviews for Creating Sounds for Electronic Music

By Yu L S

Apr 30, 2020

This is a really good course which very good for beginner.

By Branislav S

Mar 28, 2016

Wonderful course giving really nice ideas about synthesis

By Frijo F C

Sep 16, 2020

Its an huge opportunity for an artist who wants to grow.

By Jaehwi C

Jan 1, 2018

The best electronic music course for beginner!

By Gabriel C F

Feb 12, 2017

Now I totally understand how to use any Synth.

By Ciro D V

Mar 31, 2017

OMG I GOT A SYNTH (FOR 3 MONTHS)

By Jan

Mar 18, 2017

great! thank for new experience

By Yann C

Nov 23, 2016

Excellent ! Thank you Loudon !

By Daniel H E

Mar 4, 2016

I love this course!!

By Andrés A G Q

Jun 27, 2020

Nice stuff teached.

By Ajay Y G

Aug 13, 2019

Amazing Professor!

By Maretha C

Oct 6, 2020

Excellent content

By Allyson L d S M

Oct 14, 2019

It´s magnificent!

By Alexander M

Jul 20, 2019

Excellent course!

By Deleted A

Jan 9, 2017

Thanks Professor.

By Tom W

Mar 21, 2016

A great course...

By Gabriel M P

Jul 19, 2017

Amazing!!!!

By Juanjo R C

Jan 3, 2019

Muy bueno

By JOSE F M J

May 24, 2016

the best!

By Juan G R M

Apr 18, 2020

Great!

By Nawanthorn R

May 10, 2020

<O.O>

By Sergio A G O

Aug 17, 2017

great

By SANTIAGO G

Aug 30, 2020

nice

By Hai y

Jun 8, 2018

TQ

By Barend

Mar 31, 2016

Nice course! The teaching is excellent (5 stars), and I have learned a lot in this course. It is short but intensive.

I initially planned to give only 2 or 3 stars because of several reasons, described below. But in the end I like the course a lot so I don't want to go too low.

Reasons are:

1) Strobe, the software synth required in the course, was hardly usable (crashing always in 64 bit mode, sometimes in 32 bit mode). Several applicants stopped the course because of this. However this was (at least for me) solved during the course (I can use it now without any problems). So that is great (but a bit late).

2) The course is (as of March 2016) new and still contains many errors. The videos, as said, are excellent. But the assignments are often wrong and not accurate (actually 4 out of 4 contain errors...). In the first assignment you are asked to list favorites in 14 categories, but there are only 13. So you can never get the full points, or the reviewers should be flexible. In many of the following assignments the naming of the to be uploaded files is unclear or erroneous. It is important to fix that because reviewers are explicitly asked if the names are correct. In the third assignment it is worse, there is no room for an upload of the MP3, the final product of your whole week work which should be judged. One error was fixed during the course but in a hasty way, the most important errors are still there. Anyway, that will hopefully be fixed before the next cycle starts.

3) The course is really targetted to House (or at least Dance) music. All assignments should follow a predescribed form, while I (as an amateur classical pianist) would like to create pieces not following that form, but still using synth sounds. But if you do that, you get less points or do not pass the assignments. So that is too strict (in my opinion).

4) Strobe2 is central in the course. It is mainly educating for Strobe2. I tried after the course to apply the knowlegde to other synth plugins, which is possible but only in a limited way. You really learn how to do it in Strobe2, and there is no education for other synth plugins. Many concepts cannot easily be transferred. That is different from Loudon's excellent course Music Production, which was designed to be software independent.

So I have several objections to the course. But some of them can be fixed, and it was still a great course, I learned a lot and I enjoyed it, and I give it 4 stars.