Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
15,652 ratings
3,751 reviews

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

DS
Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

AB
Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 3,732 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Apurba D

Apr 27, 2020

Opened a new insigt to the business world.

The course is relevant and inspiring to today's changing dynamics and is applicable to all spheres of life.

By Min S T

Sep 5, 2016

This is a fantastic course - should be compulsory learning for all!

Clear, concise and easy to understand - you won't regret taking this course!

A+++++

By Timin J

Nov 9, 2021

The professor is just amazing. It didn't even feel like a lecture, rather felt like hearing a nice story. Several videos, materials very nice course.

By cesar f

Apr 11, 2021

Muy buen curso, excelente de verdad muy útil y muchas cosas que aprender. me gustaría que hubieran mas ejemplos de casos del sistema de derecho civil

By Katrina M

Feb 21, 2021

Great course! Very easy to follow the instructor was engaging and easy to follow. I really enjoyed this course and gained a great deal of knowledge!

By HIZBULLAH H

Sep 24, 2020

This course is very helpful to review materials in my ADR class. George Siedel clearly is one of the best person to give us courses on this subjects.

By Koduru B

Aug 29, 2020

I really liked the end exam which is an elaborate evaluation on the entire course.

Added to that the role playing game ("elm Street") is also awesome.

By A. M

Jul 28, 2020

A lot of useful information given elaborately to conduct successful negotiations with apt examples for most of the concepts for better understanding.

By Rainer R

May 27, 2020

I love the tools used for negotiation and loved the explanation behind each tools. It was wonderful and I am confident that I can apply these skills.

By Vladyslav P

May 4, 2020

Мені сподобався курс. У нас в університеті такого не викладали на юридичному факультеті. Професор дуже приємний, не зверхній, пояснює майже доступно.

By Samir M F T

Apr 24, 2020

I encourage all to took this basic soft skill course . Negation is a daily practice for all , the more skill you are the better results you will gain

By Julian

Jul 15, 2018

Excellent is a really small word to describe how good and useful this negotiation and the teacher are. The best negotiation course I have ever taken.

By Gerald F F

Apr 30, 2018

This is by far one of the best classes that I have ever taken. I would highly recommend

it to anyone looking to succeed in life, as well as business.

By Esther K

Jan 12, 2017

Loved every example that was given and appreciated the instructor's thorough explanation for each step of the negotiation process. Thank you, George!

By Adriana M C

Jun 21, 2016

Me ha parecido un excelente curso, donde nos permite conocer y desarrollar habilidades como negociadores. Me encanta porque el profesor es muy ético.

By Fernando G F

Dec 13, 2015

stunning course about the science behind the negotiations. It also offer you a lot of tools for the negotiations in business or in your private life.

By Chi-Lun L

Aug 26, 2021

The content of the course and what I have learned from the course are much more and helpful than what I have expected in the begining of the course.

By Sheikh M M

Feb 28, 2021

I have learned a lot of things from this course. It was beautifully crafted by the professor. I'm sure it will be helpful for me in the coming days.

By Marianela M

Sep 9, 2020

Excelente curso muy didáctico, se aprenden muchas cosas nuevas y buenas, fácil de aprender, se entiende perfectamente todo, maravilloso, me encantó.

By RAO R B S

Jun 4, 2020

Being a law student it would be a great pleasure for me to go through with this course as to enshrine my negotiation skills for the upcoming future.

By Amit K

Apr 24, 2020

Very nice content of the course & can be directly implemented during professional or personal negotiations in day to day life. BATNA & ADR are best.

By Daniela P

Dec 30, 2019

Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan on Coursera exceed my expectations ! Very well prepared and done !

By Rawan A A

Jun 29, 2018

Professor siedel ..You rock ! you have completely changed my perspective about negotiation..It was an amazing course .. Thank you for your efforts !

By 邓巧

Jan 2, 2018

The professor is a great teacher! I did learned a lot from this course even though I am not finishing the whole lesson, still I acquire quite a lot.

By Deleted A

Oct 8, 2015

I think Mr. George Siedel is an excellent teacher and this course is quite good overall. Thanks to coursera for providing such high quality courses.