Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
16,579 ratings
3,232 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JB
Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

MA
May 23, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,\n\nUsing commands with Windows and Linux\n\nHow to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot\n\nThanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

Filter by:

2326 - 2350 of 3,195 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By RAM C M

Jul 19, 2019

good

By Johnathon D

Jul 15, 2019

easy

By Muthupandi B

May 5, 2019

good

By Waleed M S A A A G

Feb 8, 2019

good

By Valeri S

Jan 26, 2019

cool

By Nada A H

Dec 24, 2018

GOOD

By Brendan O

Jul 29, 2018

sudo

By Atichat P

May 20, 2018

Good

By Ryan E

Mar 6, 2018

b

u

g

s

By Austin Y

Apr 16, 2021

fun

By Yudha R

Mar 4, 2021

wow

By IBRAHIM K Q F

Feb 17, 2021

thx

By James T

Dec 30, 2020

wow

By Mohamad D S

Jul 17, 2020

Top

By Er. S P

May 5, 2020

wow

By Abhay K P

Feb 25, 2020

osm

By Devin F

Feb 18, 2021

bf

By TANGATURU C

Dec 5, 2020

ok

By Kamriyadin

Nov 9, 2020

ok

By Davis N

Oct 12, 2020

ok

By JETTI L S K

Dec 5, 2020

-

By Reinaldo j d s

Aug 18, 2020

.

By MANUEL R T E

May 30, 2020

o

By Ali K

Jan 14, 2020

.

By Putra P

Sep 24, 2020

It was a good course. I love it especially because it covers linux for beginners like myself. Cindy as an instructor was quite good. However, it kinda felt like she never actually taught in a live classroom environment as a real teacher before. The reason I say this is because the way she explained stuff didn't seem like she was aware there were actually students who were listening to the lecture.

For people who had some sort of experience with real live classroom teaching would be aware about their articulation, delivery, and points that need to be made clear to students. The instructor always talked really fast (mind you there are many non native English speakers joining this program too, I am one of them).

Every time she typed something she would just type type type enter! It was at times so fast I couldn't even have the time to pause it (or have real difficulty to time it right to pause). I paused a lot of the instruction when it comes to the Linux materials. Because I never tried Linux before and I am so interested I want to try it along while following the video.

Another thing that's bothering me was why would they put the information about VirtualBox at the last week of the course?? I was already using the VirtualBox to practice all the Linux materials as I go through the course. I didn't even expect that they would actually give the info about the VirtualBox. I mean why? Why would you tell us that on the last week? Don't you think it is an absolute beneficial to the learners if they knew that from the start? So that they could install the virtual machine and have Linux (or windows) on their computer? That way they could practice it first hand along with the course. I literally almost shouted "WHAT?" when I got to the part where they were telling us about VirtualBox.

So my humble suggestion to anyone taking this course do yourself a favor and install VirtualBox on your computer so you could install Linux and learn by actually practicing it along the course. You can look videos on how to install it on Youtube. I watched a video on Benjamin's Tech channel called How to Install Ubuntu 20.04 on a Mac using VirtualBox (2020 Version). It really helped me tremendously understanding Linux because I got to do it along the course following all the instructions.

The last thing I want to mention is prepare yourself to be frustrated with qwiklabs. To be honest the majority of the time I had almost no trouble working with it. But, as other people wrote and complaining it does give you a headache sometimes. My only real problem with qwiklabs came at the final assignments. It didn't record my score correctly (I screenshot every steps and results). But anyhow I still passed and didn't want to bother more by contacting the customer support.

However, overall this is a really good course and I had a great time doing it.

As for the the instruction or the delivery of the course it definitely needs an improvement. It is not however the instructors fault. Cindy as I said as an instructor gave her best and was pretty good throughout the course. I would like to suggest to Google to make all the instructors to actually teach as a real teacher in a real classroom before making them the instructors on these courses. The experience of that would be really significant because they would actually be a teacher and not just an "instructor".

I always think that a "teacher" just sounds more human than an "instructor".

All and all, thank you Cindy and Google for making this course. It allows me to start learning about Linux and CLI in general in a "light version" kind of way. I guess see you in the next course.