Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Personal Branding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Personal Branding by University of Virginia

4.4
stars
7,889 ratings
2,456 reviews

About the Course

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Top reviews

OS
Jun 22, 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

SI
Aug 29, 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

Filter by:

1726 - 1750 of 2,446 Reviews for Introduction to Personal Branding

By Win M

Dec 21, 2020

I really loved the lectures about finding self personality types, how to be authentic and true-self, pick the right board members and mentors, using social media wisely for branding, and tips for digital privacy.

Thank you so much for lecturer, Kimberley R. Barker for these knowledgeable topics.

By Erika J M

Sep 27, 2020

Is really helpful, makes you be more true to yourself by open your mind and look for what really important. It has to be updated on the last subjects like social media. Give more advice of what it should be and not be there. I learn a lot about myself and how to introduce myself to the public.

By Govind S

Jan 20, 2016

A very simple and easy to understand course. Very impactful if you take it seriously and try doing what the instructor explains. The articles that were shared were very useful, especially while creating a mission statement, etc. Would recommend to those who want to be launch their new self.

By Jaehoon C

Dec 21, 2015

As a software engineer, materials related to social medias and its privacy issues are not new at all. However, basic principals and practices on the personal branding are very helpful. I am still searching for my board of directors. This course makes me change how I live as a professional.

By Amanda M

May 10, 2020

Great course but it needs to be updated. I believe it was created in 2015 and things move so fast with the digital aspect of personal branding that many of the materials are no longer relevant! However I learned a lot about aspects of personal branding I had not considered. Thank you!

By Cyril D

Feb 7, 2016

As suggested by other learners, this course is a good introduction for the majority of us out there. It gives you the essential skills you need, as well as provides resources to dig deeper. Extra bonus, the instructor is very engaging and funny, and the format is informal in a good way.

By Alvin M

Dec 24, 2016

This course is really wonderful. It helps us to know ourselves better and then reflect it in our digital media in order to 'sell' our personality. Nothing is perfect, this course too. In my opinion, the course is not up-to-date and uncompletely describes social media's functionalities.

By Tiffany D

Sep 12, 2020

This course was extremely informative on the topic of personal branding. I learned many facets of this topic that I had never before come across. I would, however, like to see the reading assignments link to more current articles, since our world is so rapidly changing and developing.

By Namita J

Sep 22, 2017

The informality of the course made it refreshing.

The faculty made that possible.

Some discussion on a couple of other fora like LinkedIn, or Google+ would have enhanced the take away.

The brevity of the course made it fun to do and yet with key learnings available. thank you Kimberley.

By Ana E F

Apr 13, 2020

It´s a really useful course that gives you a good overview about your Personal Branding. The teacher is really nice and she absolutely manage a lot about branding and digital reputation. Maybe some items could have been explained with more detail but, in general, is a good training.

By Olga B L

Jan 27, 2020

Good course, I picked up a few ideas that I plan to implement. A little bit too basic and IDK - conversational? - I ended up skimming transcripts to speed up the process. I got more value out of reading assignments than the class videos. Reading assignments were very well selected.

By Ligeia V

Jul 27, 2016

Enjoyed the course Kimberley. You made it fun and informative and I used the content to make a slew of changes! I had a real distilling of exactly where I am going with my brand and I'm off on this adventure of creating it now. Can I convince you to do a course ORM through Coursera?

By Yash N N

May 29, 2020

This course was very.....enjoying, motivating and self-inspiring. I would thank our instructor KR Barker for her valuable guidance. Also, the assignments were very easy and enjoyed discussion forums very much, then it may be writing mission statements, choosing three words, etc.

By Julia U

Sep 11, 2016

This course was a fairly decent introduction to personal branding. It certainly made me aware of it, although, it did not completely prepare me for the enormous task of consistent branding. It was a good place to start if you know nothing about things like twitter which I didn't.

By Kristen C

Apr 5, 2019

I found the both the content and instructor to be interesting. While I enjoyed the introspective exercises and the idea of putting together a personal mission statement, I was hoping to take away a little more practical knowledge. Overall though, I am satisfied with this course.

By Giuliano M

Apr 24, 2020

I was wondering if I should have put 4 or 5. I put 4 only for a small minus: there are part of this course that are a little bit old (see for example the part on the introduction to twitter and so on), but from a general point view is a very good course and I would suggest it!

By Jeevan L

Jun 25, 2020

Ii was very useful. Appreciate the Professor for shooting some of the video's around the campus, which game me a fresh feel. The style of lecture delivery is also appreciable. The only problem has been the voice and video clarity. (not a big issue though). thank you

By ANYA D A

May 26, 2020

The instructor is quite engaging and knowledgeable about the course subject, but I think it could be expanded more by having an assessment during every week to review the important points for every week of lecture. Still, a very informative course and I enjoyed it!

By Alexander v E

Jun 30, 2019

Very nice course, which got me up to speed in idea's about personal brand yourself. It was for me a conformation in the way of identifying my own value and qualities and thinking about the options I want to use to present them as my personal brand. Very useful.

By stefano g

Feb 2, 2018

3 words and mission stmts were most helpful. effort to maintain a social presence is probably more than what most people are willing to deal w long term. Some content such as the google specific review is prob more in depth than necessary but ok as optional.

By Claudiu R

May 1, 2020

This course will give you some basic knowledge of how a reputation can be built or destroyed.

You will also learn to know yourself better and to ask the right questions about you core values and how to show others what you're good at and what you love doing.

By Lanre A

Oct 5, 2020

I find this course very informative and quite relevant for this current time. it is not bad for an introductory course. Although, because I'm taking this course in 2020, I feel like an update is needed in some parts. overall it's great. Thanks Prof. Kim.

By CAT.LBC4745 2

May 24, 2021

The lesson is very understandable, I can easily get it. However, many aspects that is mentioned in this course, I’ve already known before. I expect more so I sort of feel a little bit disappointed about the things this course delivery to me. Thank you.

By Mahmoud S K

Jul 30, 2018

It's very good course foe everyone wants to start his career or to start a new business

The prof is very simple and friendly which will help you continue in your self learning way

For me the language was very simple in spite of being a non native speaker

By MURALI N

Mar 17, 2020

It was an interesting course, looked different on seeing the title at face value. But after going through the content and realizing how you can present yourself technically and personally, i have learnt a lot and i am going to apply it in the future.