Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Personal Branding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Personal Branding by University of Virginia

4.4
stars
8,225 ratings
2,536 reviews

About the Course

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Top reviews

OS

Jun 22, 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

C

Apr 16, 2022

This course was very useful to promote me as a brand , with an emphisis to utilize the social media for it. I like this imaginative course as a timely innovative one , and will recommend to friends .

Filter by:

1826 - 1850 of 2,531 Reviews for Introduction to Personal Branding

By Yasmin P

Aug 12, 2020

I love how philosophy (-lly) this course is to better understand the importance of your social media and how you brand yourself but i wish the course give more relevant example such as in Linked in media right now

By ANIS 2

Jul 22, 2020

Thank you so much for the course you provided for us , it was really helpful , I suggest it for everyone who want to brand himself . unfortunately in some videos sound is too low . thanks team coursera as well .

By Norah M K

Sep 2, 2019

I had always been afraid of having an active online presence because I did not know how not to mess it up. But this course has shown me how I can blossom with my online presence while maintaining my reputation.

By Kim B

Jan 29, 2017

Excellent course covering the basics of Personal Branding. It was very interesting and it helped me cement my focus and write my mission statement. The staff and other students were very supportive and engaged.

By Reena M

Jun 7, 2020

The course was very helpful and the presentation of the facilitator was awesome. I learned new things like how to choose your board of directors and reputation management. Thank you Coursera for the course .

By André T B

May 31, 2020

This is a great introduction course to Personal Branding. Professor Kimberley Barker is a very enthusiastic and engaged person that brings her passion perfectly well over to us students. Thank you very much.

By Ananya K

May 25, 2020

Kimberley R Barker is a great teacher and a perfect fit for this course. She made me understand that is a lot of difference between selflessness and selfishness and how I can brand myself in various ways.

By Manan M

Jul 4, 2020

I adored doing this course on personal branding as it opened my thoughts towards social media presence, digital privacy and how one could establish a contagious content online in order to lure consumers.

By Forrest H

Feb 2, 2020

Informative, but felt a little duped. Clearly instructor knew about the change in course structure, she made a video. I'm disappointed there was no advance warning. Take my money, then tell me. Not cool.

By Piyush P

Jun 12, 2020

It is a really helpful course to learn about personal branding which an important aspect in our modern world. I highly recommend this course. And the tutor Kimberly is awesome and teaches really well.

By Charda K

Jan 29, 2016

Very nice starting point for personal branding. Encourages self-reflection and awareness via a few exercises. Touches upon social media presence and use.

Very helpfull in building your personal brand.

By Parvin G

Mar 11, 2021

The content of this course was really good and could help in many different situations. I can tell I really learned so many new things that I've never heard of ! Thanks for providing such content :)

By Selina L

Oct 3, 2017

Well,it really opens my eyes to some new ideas which I have not heard before.Thanks u so much, dear Kimberley! I will pay more attention to my personal branding, though I am still a college student.

By Jon M

Dec 2, 2018

Although this is an outdated course, IT WAS HELPFUL, as the knowledge shared here by Kimberly Barker stands on its own. If you know nothing about personal branding this is a perfect way to start.

By Esther G

Sep 1, 2020

The course is very good, but quite outdated when it comes to social media. It would be interesting to be revised.

The instructor is excellent and knows how to captivate the student's attention.

By Lucy E

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you Kimberley and the Coursera team, this course has really been helpful and insightful giving me a better perspective on branding and how to portray myself and brand better. Thank you.

By Maretchia G F

Jan 11, 2021

It was my first time to learn about personal branding so it was really beneficial and I enjoyed the course, the instructor and her nice way, the content was to the point.. thank you so much:)

By Abdur R W

Nov 4, 2020

sangat membantu dalam hal menambah effectifitas dalam bermedia sosial terutama dalah hal personal branding dan disini kita selalu melakungan hal yang bisa membantu kita dalam hal komunikasi

By GOWTHAM P

May 9, 2020

It is a useful course about the importance of personal branding for very freshers. but for the persons already know about what is meant by personal branding. It's may be too basic for them.

By Marlyce B

Jul 30, 2020

Informative for a newbie but very very basic information that can be found in a google search. Having in one central location is good though. Some of the linked articles should be updated.

By Fiona h

Apr 22, 2020

I like this course and would recommend it to anyone. I learnt a lot and its certainly helpful for me to manage my digital presence in the right way, separating professionally and socially.

By Feldianne A

Jun 9, 2020

Although some points of the course are not in-depth, this course is still helpful to the people who needs a brief introduction in personal branding. I would still recommend this course!

By Rajesh

Nov 22, 2016

Many of the topics covered appeared to be known areas except for an extension of few concepts. The assessments were either simple or not too relevant in accordance with study material.

By Kaushal M

May 20, 2021

It was a very to the point course prepared by university. I completed it very easily because of Ma'am Kimberley Barker. Looking forward to check other courses taught by ma'am herself.

By Robert S

Jan 15, 2018

Fun and engaging instructor, some good information, easy to follow. Very few assignments and quizzes, so very easy to complete this class on-schedule. Good introduction to the topic.