Chevron Left
Back to Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
631 ratings
137 reviews

About the Course

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Top reviews

CM

Aug 07, 2018

I have enjoyed the course, specially the detailed way of explained all the topics by the instructors. Also, I went through some of the bibliography sources provided which is a lot. Thank You all

NV

Feb 06, 2019

Fantastic teachers, very informative and useful. Highly recommended to those who are interested in pursuing cognitive sciences and learning about consciousness

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 135 Reviews for Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

By Meini S

Jul 28, 2017

good organized

By Clare H

Jan 13, 2018

I thought this was a great overview: well-produced, engaging, and thought-provoking.

By Grzegorz N

Jul 07, 2018

Really well designed and conducted introductory course to philosophy of the cognitive sciences. A lot of complementary material in form of articles and videos. Well balanced quizzes help to organize new knowledge and to find out what need additional attention to properly comprehend course material.

By Diana M

Jan 21, 2017

good course

By Karina R J

Jul 09, 2017

Thank you for a great and interesting course. It gave a lot of inspiration and new angels to how our brain thinks!:)

By Naz Y

Sep 01, 2017

A perfect introduction course ! Lecturers, subjects, and slides are intriguing; the sources and further readings at the end of each week are amazing and rich.

By Jorge R

May 02, 2018

This course I help myself to updating concepts and to be to the forefront in the area of philosophy.

By damarillier@gmail.com

Oct 11, 2017

E

By Francisco A M

Sep 26, 2017

Fantastic experience. I really enjoyed the explanation of such complex topics. It is really a unique opportunity regarding philosophy of science.

By Essaq A R

Mar 20, 2018

At the first I would like to thank you from Edinburgh university to offered and especially thank you from all of my teachers

By Javier P M

Dec 22, 2017

Loved it. Never thought it was going to be this insightful. Grateful for running into this one and will tryout some more from this university.

By Tang S S S

Jan 09, 2018

I am a full-time postgraduate student and have found this course very useful!

By Rigoberto J M A

Oct 26, 2016

Excellent.

By FRANCISCO D C P G

Apr 17, 2017

The course focuses the top issues involving philsophy of sciences at present time, it is hosted by top figures in the field. Great course!

By Wajdee C

Aug 24, 2017

<3 <3 ..

Enough to have a third eye !

By Glenda F

Jul 21, 2017

Muy interesante e ilustrativo. Te permite intriducirte en aspectos complejos de las ciencias cognitivas sin demandar una especialización en este campo. El sistema de evaluaiones por questionarios es efectivo.

By Andrew E D

Sep 19, 2017

I LOVED this course, I learned so much about cognitive Science!

By Thomas J H

Jun 27, 2018

Highly recommended. Clear on what is science, what is philosophy, and what the convergent areas of inquiry are. High on sense, short on bombast, and deeply intellectually responsible. (The anti-Daniel Dennett approach). Much appreciated.

By Yingyi Z

May 16, 2018

A very good introductory course to the philosophy of mind and machines. Ideas are well explained and very easy to follow.

By Ihsane E H

May 06, 2018

a very good/ useful mooc

By Oky T S

Nov 20, 2016

Superb

By Edson S M

Nov 12, 2017

Very interesting!

By Lexy C M

Nov 26, 2016

Excelente plataforma para aprender.

By Karanveer S

Jun 03, 2017

An amazing course where you get introduced to concepts like cognitive science, philosophy of mind, consciousness, etc. Simple and crisp content matter.

By Vincent W

Sep 10, 2018

I learned some really interesting things from this course that I will be using in an upcoming project