Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods by University of Pennsylvania

4.4
stars
1,075 ratings

About the Course

Learners discover how apply to research methods to their study of Positive Psychology. In this course, we study with Dr. Angela Duckworth and Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft. Through an exploration their work "True Grit" and interviews with researchers and practitioners, you develop a research hypothesis and learn how to understand the difference between internal and external validity. You also begin to understand and apply the strengths and weaknesses associated with different types of measurements and evaluation designs. You then interpret the results in an empirical study. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science and Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions....

Top reviews

SM

Oct 21, 2022

An extremely well developed course about not such a simple topic ir research methods. The instructors broke the topics down into easy to learn bytes such that an interested learner can complete easily

RW

Dec 27, 2019

Though i have nightmares of research design from my undergraduate career, this puts a neat spin on it and reminds the sheer importance of it. Thanks for the reminder of what is important UPENN!

Filter by:

301 - 316 of 316 Reviews for Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods

By Costantino S

Feb 25, 2018

Lessons from A. Duckworth are difficult to follow because of bad audio, and also because they are mostly extracted from a longer lesson, without much context.

Reading material is in part low quality (notes by a student, containing errors; websites with a lot of ads, etc).

Lessons regarding research methods are quite dry and maybe not extremely useful for non-researchers. On the other hand, the articles to be read and analysed are an exercise for grit!

By Adriana G B

Jun 25, 2021

Even the themes are perfect, for me were disarticulated. The videos of grit and character were segments of a class, not designed for the course and un-related with the research methods. Complete different from the courses of Dr. Seligman that even where classes are related and articulated.

Also, for the assignments, the instructions were unclear and vague.

By Brian H

May 18, 2018

Unlike the other positive psychology courses I've taken on Coursera, this one seemed to lack focus and not be particularly helpful. I don't feel better off for having taken it.

It's also repetitive, to the point where I think some of the exercises in some weeks were copies or near copies of prior weeks' exercises.

By Merrie D

Jan 22, 2019

I enjoyed the information on Grit and Dr. Duckworth's research, however, I did not care for the research methods sections. I understand the importance of this information, however, I have already learned this information in college. I did not enjoy rehashing information I already knew.

By Mario E T A

Jun 18, 2018

I was expecting more context about grit, too many information about measurements and statistics. I am sorry but it was a big disapointment, I even bought the book from Angela Duckworth because the topic if very interesting to me

By David K

Oct 5, 2017

there was little coherence in this course and at times it was challenging to see any connections in the content. The videos, in particular, Dr. Duckworths, had serious sound issues..... didn't like this course.

By Eugene K

May 16, 2018

For those who learned statistics and research earlier and would want to focus on PP only, this course will be a waste of everything. The grit part is quite messy.

By Danya S

Feb 10, 2019

I am not a science/math person and I found this course very difficult to get through. I had to keep going though, you can't exactly quit a class about grit :)

By Dana C

Dec 28, 2019

The only interesting part were the Angela Duckworth parts..All other aspects of the course were quite boring

By Ayana S

Jul 2, 2020

I wish the content focused more on grit and not on research methods

By Fabien C

Sep 11, 2018

Very technical around scientific studies

By Yousra M

Sep 5, 2021

quite dry

By Carsten S N

Jan 9, 2023

The sound quality on Duckworth is amateurish.

The entire focus on scientific article construction and reading is over the top and uninteresting for most consumers.

The content was uninteresting compared to M. Seligman chapters and Resilience part.

By Evonne O

Feb 3, 2020

We want to learn more about Positive Psychology NOT details on research methods. Unless we intend to go into research ourselves, I found a huge portion of it unnecessary and a waste of my time.

By Andrew K

Jan 15, 2018

Dreadful. More evidence that positive psychology lacks rigour and is a brand.

By Sara A

Aug 6, 2018

research based