Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods by University of Pennsylvania

4.4
stars
1,075 ratings

About the Course

Learners discover how apply to research methods to their study of Positive Psychology. In this course, we study with Dr. Angela Duckworth and Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft. Through an exploration their work "True Grit" and interviews with researchers and practitioners, you develop a research hypothesis and learn how to understand the difference between internal and external validity. You also begin to understand and apply the strengths and weaknesses associated with different types of measurements and evaluation designs. You then interpret the results in an empirical study. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science and Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions....

Top reviews

SM

Oct 21, 2022

An extremely well developed course about not such a simple topic ir research methods. The instructors broke the topics down into easy to learn bytes such that an interested learner can complete easily

RW

Dec 27, 2019

Though i have nightmares of research design from my undergraduate career, this puts a neat spin on it and reminds the sheer importance of it. Thanks for the reminder of what is important UPENN!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 316 Reviews for Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods

By Maria B

May 3, 2021

This course is well presented. Candidly, I cannot say that it was a fun course because formulating research studies is not my interest. However, the instructors were engaging and explained research methods and concepts in a very accessible way. I feel I have a better understanding of how to review a study.

By Amy H

Apr 19, 2021

By far the most rigorous of the courses in this specialization thus far in terms of content, amount of reading and assessment. I must say though, I enjoyed the high standards and content even if it seemed more intense than the other positive psy courses. I think I'm grittier just from taking this course!

By Zhao W

Sep 6, 2018

Love all the courses in positive psychology. They are so practical and fun to learn. I really like this particular course to combine research methods and design with Grits, which give a flavor of sciences yet we are not just learning methods. Grits is an interesting concept. I have learned so much.

By Rachel J

Sep 30, 2018

Very challenging! I love this course because research, applying research methods, and understanding (and creating) formulas is not my strength. However,this course was able to break down the topics of grit, character, and research methods in a very user friendly way. Would definitely recommend.

By Mialan G

Dec 6, 2020

I really really liked the technical aspect of this course. Love Angela Duckworth and Claire. I learned how to read a research article and refreshed the statistical part. Claire has done a great job. I just wish it never ended because I really liked attending Angela Duckworth's sessions :/.

By Ruby O C

Sep 28, 2020

It was agreat way to refresh what I learned about Statistics and Research while I was at University. I highly recommend this course. I loved how interactive this course is, and the examples provided to know how to be a smart research consumer and how to read Positive Psychology researches.

By S H N

Dec 23, 2022

Appreciate the instructors for their willingness to teach an important subject which may not be easy to make it interesting.

Thank you for making it practical and relevant;I learn to evaluate clinical studies.

I also have some ideas if I wanted to start doing a research study

By Michael K T B

Mar 14, 2022

Thank you very much for giving me this opprtunity to attend this course. I loved the course and I learnt a lot on my character and grit. The assignments helped me to work on my personality and wellbeing.

May God bless you all and your familes.

Stay blessed

M. K. Teresa. DMI

By dr_rubinowatkins@yahoo.com

Sep 11, 2017

Loved all the information on Grit in this course. I am using the Grit research findings already as I prepare to disseminate it to teachers and parents in the community. Thank you for all your hard work and expertise in conducting the research and in teaching it to us.

By Leslie S

Oct 3, 2019

Excellent course, the training in research methods was particularly interesting and useful not only for those who might want to do research themselves, but for those who want to evaluate the quality of research and the media's reporting of research.

By Duncan C F

Jan 7, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to research methods. I learned a lot about how to create a research plan and how to read scientific articles. I also learned a lot about character strengths, especially grit, and how many factors contribute to it.

By Deya S

Jun 24, 2020

I have to admint was little bit difficult, don't if is normal regarding the topic or because of me - for me the topic is complicated in my native language- but at the end of the course I permerformed better than I expected! Love the course :D

By Trang K T

Dec 12, 2021

A useful course to gain general understanding into how hypothesis is created, tested and researched. I am not a big fan of research but definitely find this helpful and mind-opening. We are making hypothesis everyday and seem not to know it!

By Xavier L

Apr 24, 2020

A simple-to-understand and succinct course on the basic research knowledge required for applied positive psychology research. Videos on field experts applying the theoretical concepts taught were included as well, which reinforces knowledge.

By Bob C

Nov 12, 2020

Claire and Angela successfully make statistical analysis, dare I say, fun! I better understand how to think critically about research that I encounter. The coursework kept the learning germane to positive psychology and not a stats class.

By Michiko K

Oct 1, 2017

I am personally not interested in data collections but am very much interested in the results and findings. Thank goodness for the researchers! I think this course is definitely helpful and needed to become educated consumer of information.

By Carey N G

Sep 22, 2020

This is by far my most favorite out of all the courses in the specialization. It was so so helpful and the way the research process was explained is top notch and not intimidating AT ALL. Thank you so much! I really enjoyed this one :)

By Jafed E G

Jul 6, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Dianne O

Aug 14, 2020

The course was fast-paced and rigorous. The syllabus was constructed well and the assignments stretched me. I was impressed with the number and quality of the reading materials. I was intellectually stimulated and loved every minute.

By Marcos M C

Dec 11, 2017

An intense course of much reading, but excellent. He reminded me of statistical concepts and demanded more than I thought. I learned a lot how to take the analysis of the studies and mainly the GRIT concept. More than for beginners!

By Claudia A

Mar 19, 2018

Very helpful to understand research studies and to plan our own. Grit insights by Angela Duckworth are always fantastic. The practical uses from the interviews open new windows in how all this knowledge can be used. Great course!

By Elizabeth A

Nov 23, 2018

I didn't know how very important it was to understand research deeply until I took this course. Not only does it help me understand my other courses better, it also motivates me to do some research myself. I highly recommend it!

By Daniela T S

May 8, 2019

Thank you for a very well structured course presented in a very comprehensive way. The knowledge and skills I acquired during this course are very valuable to me as a career counselor and as a doctoral student. Thank you! :)

By Maciej K

Aug 12, 2020

For me it was the hardest one out of the first 3 courses in this specialization (I'm not a native speaker) but at the same time it was very interesting. Both Angela and Claire shared really valuable knowledge here. Thanks!

By Sathish K T

Nov 28, 2019

Good course! I thoroughly drilled me into 'research method'. Also, you really need discipline and perseverance to complete this course compared to others in this specialization. Loved the entire experience. Thank you.