Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
3,073 ratings

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

PK

Jun 18, 2020

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 752 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Antonio B

Mar 10, 2020

It is a good course, but I do not have a feedback on the exams, when my answers are wrong it is very difficult to know where is my mistake.

By Amith P

Oct 13, 2016

A very good basic course. Tough homeworks. Be prepared to put in some effort to crack this course. But it's worth the time you spend on it.

By R.P. B

Jun 10, 2016

Excellent course for brushing the fundamentals. The assignments also shows how the fundamentals are related to the big scheme of things.

By Ramiro R

Sep 14, 2021

I was expecting something more practical with real world applications. Course is focused on circuit analysis and "manual" calculations.

By Rafael C M

Sep 14, 2021

Muy buen curso. Lo único mlao es que para que te salgan las soluciones correctas tienes que coger una gran cantidad de decimales.

By NITESH M

May 3, 2020

after course completion we should be provided with the detailed solution of the course assignment.

thank you sir

thank you coursera

By SRIRAM S

May 13, 2020

this course is good for beginners and can learn about boost and buck boost very well as well as simulation of that topology also

By Sachin Y

Mar 15, 2018

The course was very good. It gave insights about the analysis of converter losses by two port method which was quite new for me.

By Ankit R

Aug 6, 2017

Quiz are difficult not because you don't know the answers but because of0.1% accuracy. Lectures are great and covers everything.

By Luca G

Dec 23, 2020

Good course, but the tests are way too difficult. The material provided should cover the subject of the test much more.

By Koustubh J

Apr 30, 2020

There should some kind of interaction between the faculty and the enrolled students so that the doubts can be cleared.

By Priti

Nov 14, 2017

Good basis and intro to power electronics! Not easy as thought and learnt a lot!!! looking further for great learning

By Paul D

Apr 22, 2018

It would be great to receive the solutions after taking the quizes. Otherwise, we can't learn from our mistakes.

By Marco L S

Apr 1, 2020

Very well explained course; It would be better to do more exercises with the professor but it's good anyway!

By saurabh v

Mar 18, 2019

The course was concise, and very well presented. The problems were also very good at grounding the concepts.

By Daniel D M Z

Apr 10, 2022

Really interesting course. I has been a good start. Now I want to start new courses and learn new things.

By Adhithya

Oct 17, 2020

The course is well structured and homework problems are adequate to understand and retain the concepts.

By José A P

Feb 1, 2017

The course is GREAT!!! It would be amazing if we could receive more feedback but everything is awesome.

By POLISI,Vincenzo

May 26, 2022

Prof. Erickson wqs clear in the explanations, HW assignment in line with the course difficulties.

By Eland E

Aug 4, 2018

Support on the forums is not really present. but the material is very interesting and difficult

By Jacky H

Jan 27, 2018

The assignments are worth practising. They are harder than those of my university subject.

By Gonçalo V d S

Sep 2, 2021

t​he first chapter should be a bit harder other than tthat i think its a great course

By Sajid N

May 25, 2020

I am doing Bachelors of Engineering already, so it was a bit tough for me to handle.

By Kaushik M

Aug 5, 2020

I found that the lectures were pretty basic. But, the assignments were pretty good.

By Jehan A L

Jun 30, 2017

I really enjoyed this lesson and increased my interest in studying more than before