Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
3,042 ratings
751 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

PK

Jun 18, 2020

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 742 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By JANUMPALLY J R

Jul 31, 2021

GOOD

By Jagadeesh P

Jan 20, 2021

Good

By ABHIJITH N

Jan 15, 2021

Good

By NAGALINGAM M S S

Nov 28, 2020

good

By MAVURU S R

Nov 27, 2020

good

By Stalin M

Nov 2, 2020

Good

By Berşan Z S

Oct 28, 2020

good

By Jaswanth. N

Oct 26, 2020

NICE

By KOSURI N

Oct 9, 2020

good

By Aakash A

Oct 8, 2020

Well

By Sunkishala U R

May 17, 2020

GOOD

By Arifur R

Oct 24, 2017

well

By Márcio A

Jan 30, 2016

Nice

By ANIL U O

Nov 4, 2020

YES

By krishna m

Nov 3, 2020

osm

By Pooja D B

Oct 4, 2020

Yes

By 03Nithiya S

Aug 28, 2020

Gud

By Ahmed M F

Feb 4, 2018

4.5

By Prasad P

Jun 10, 2021

By Hans J D

Jan 19, 2017

.

By Arifa K A Q

Feb 15, 2020

The course was enjoyable and informative. The lectures were clear and easy to understand. The assignments were challenging but were majorly based on what was explained in the lecture videos. There were a few things that required extra study but it added to the challenge of the course.

The deadlines, however, were very hard to keep up. The assignments required quite a bit of time which was not factored into the hours of study required. That can be a bit misleading.

Also, there wasn't a lot of help available in the discussion forums and the questions often went unanswered which a a big downside especially when it came to doubts and questions.

Overall, the course was good as an introduction and very informative.

By Navneet K

Jun 13, 2020

Course content was very good and the instructor made it enough simple to understand. Even the quizzes were well-crafted and questions made us to think and understand more. But I am not happy with the way quiz answers are judged, especially the questions where we need to enter an expression. The simplification of an answer differs from person to person and the extent one simplifies an expression is important and unique for the answer which are assigned correct. Most of the times my answers were right but had to juggle them to find the right combination, which took so much time for each question and assignment. If Coursera can do something towards this, it would be much helpful in future.

By Mohammed H

Sep 10, 2021

T​he course gives a good introduction to power electronics. Without a good background in Electrical Engineering, the course is very demanding, and you need to invest a lot of time. The professor explains the most important concepts without going into detail of the mathematical background, which is good for most students.

U​nfortuanteley, I missed the practical aspect, like simulation or hardware design. But I hope to get into this aspect in the more advanced courses in this specialization. Another thing to mention is that there is no communication with the teaching team, and nobody would answer your questions if you got stuck. So, you are on your own.

By Mason G

Aug 5, 2017

This introductory course was very difficult, yet well worth the effort in retrospect. The time commitment was vastly underestimated; the last two homework assignments required 8-10 hours of work each. I would have appreciated more relevant example problems directly related to the assignments, which were much more advanced that the lectures. Thankfully I purchased the recommended course textbook, which did help. There were several issues with the web based platform, relating to rounding accuracy and data entry problems. Luckily Coursera allows one to submit as many attempts as possible. Cheers!

By Andre A M

Feb 15, 2016

Pretty solid course for an online format. Solid grader and I enjoy how you can input derived equations in the homeworks that makes it feel more brick and mortar class. This beats other class approaches I have used in other platforms that use peer grading. Very comprehensible introduction and a satisfying course. I wish the course work was a bit more challenging. I know this is difficult in an online format (1st offering?) but when I compare this homework to their actual class websites (for on-campus students), it is obvious this online format was given the "easier" problems to solve.