Chevron Left
Back to Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Functional Programming Principles in Scala by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
stars
7,599 ratings
1,532 reviews

About the Course

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top reviews

VP
Sep 13, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

RS
Oct 8, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,469 Reviews for Functional Programming Principles in Scala

By Francisco M L Z

Aug 23, 2019

Great course, but I think it's a bit difficult to put your attention on functional programming itself when there are so many math examples and not trivial algorythms. Anyway, I enjoyed it and looking forward the next one

By Konstantin

Aug 29, 2016

The course is worth learning. It is interesting and challenging. Even though I needed more time than one session to complete the course because of some of the assignments, I don't think that they should be made easier.

By Eran B

Jul 22, 2016

I really enjoyed the course, even though some of the concepts were quite familiar as a CS graduate student. Prof Martin Ordesky goes to fine details, which make the Scala big picture much clearer.

Definitely recommended.

By Cristian G L

Aug 10, 2020

This is an amazing course given by one of Scala's authors. So many new concepts for those coming from Object oriented programming. It is a new world where some applications can be coded in a few lines of pure functions.

By Pravin M

Mar 22, 2019

It is "the best course" to start understanding functional programming and get ur feet wet with scala.I really loved the way in which concepts have been explained , it has really helped in writing code in functional way.

By Ibrahim M

Jun 6, 2020

Great Start in functional programming. It tackles a lot of the main concepts of functional programming. The way I was taught Scala in this course showed me how to leverage both FP and OOP to solve problems efficiently.

By Sergey G

Apr 8, 2020

Really great course. Martin explains the material with passion and in detail. Learning functional programming was a lot of fun, because it enforces you to adjust your approach based on experienced with other languages.

By Fred N

Sep 2, 2017

Excellent course. I always wanted to know more about functional programming and this was an awesome introduction. All of the examples are very well chosen. I found the assignments to be challenging but I enjoyed it.

By Paul B

Mar 4, 2017

An amazingly deep dive for an intro course: covers generics, pattern matching, immutable data structures in lectures. Week 3 had some issues with the grader robot and exponential run times if you wrote some bad code.

By Bogdan F

May 24, 2020

Прошел курс со 2 попытки. Если вы пришли сюда за знаниям скалы - вы их особо не получите.

Курс больше о ФП. Задачки для домашней работы довольно сложные явно требуют 5-6 часов работы для людей у которых нет опыта в ФП

By Ashok

Jun 17, 2018

Wonderful course.. Gave me good insight in to functional programming paradigm.. Assignments are well created to apply the right thought process. I will recommend this course for any newbie to functional programming.

By Yihan S

Jun 4, 2017

It's more focus on the functional programming rather Scala programming language itself, but nevertheless it's fascinate to switch the mindset from one to another and think about the a totally different perspectives.

By Matthias R

Dec 21, 2016

very clear, informative, thought through course in functional programming. This course gives additionally to the programming of Scala a background and up-to-date view on functional programming topics and objectives

By Nicolas B

Jul 17, 2020

Cours très formateur. Les explications de Martin Odersky sont très claires (il faut néanmoins un niveau d'Anglais correct pour suivre ce cours) Je recommande vivement à tous ceux qui souhaitent apprendre le Scala!

By Peter M

Nov 28, 2016

Excellent course for Scala, if you want learn the functional programming. In some parts of the course was difficult to understand the math explanations (long ago out of the University). But i recommend the course.

By Jon W

Oct 25, 2016

An excellent and well-structured course. The exercises are challenging and interesting. The instructor combines in depth technical knowledge with the ability to explain things very well, which I've found is rare.

By David F

Sep 4, 2018

This is a great introduction to functional programming principles and Scala. By the end of the course, students can expect to have a good handle of Scala collections and how they work in the functional paradigm.

By 재문 심

May 5, 2017

I know how to use scala collection and functional programming unclearly.

This course help me to understand functional programing theory and so on.

But, I still don't know about principle of Collections.flatmap ...

By Кузнецов Н В

May 23, 2017

Amazing intro to Scala! However I think that assignments may be more... practical (i.e. related more to some real-life tasks maybe) and concentrated on core concepts, not on dealing with Huffman coding trees :D

By Bongani R D

Feb 11, 2020

Challenging enough and well explained without clattering the course with material that can be easily obtained from the API. I like the way the material is delivered, pointing you in the right direction always.

By Daniel W

Dec 14, 2016

Hard going at first, as it was a mind-set shift from imperative programming programming to functional, but worth it when you get to the end and look back at what you've learnt and achieved in the assignments

By Tom P

Jun 8, 2016

Lectures were very clear and the topics were explained very well. The assignments were quite challenging and did take some time but, on completion, they were extremely rewarding and worth all of the effort.

By Cheng H

Apr 20, 2020

Lots of information in the course, it's not only a course for learning new programming languages; but also a great course share thoughts at a broad view about programming languages at all different styles.

By Miguel R

Mar 26, 2017

This course is exceptional, I haven't seen any course at this level, it is really hard even when having some programming experience, It should be taken by every programmer, really looking for next course!

By Narek G

Jul 8, 2016

Mostly Great!!

There were certain things in penultimate assignment that were only talked about after the assignment which was a little intimidating but in general the course was well sructured and useful