Chevron Left
Back to Functional Program Design in Scala

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Functional Program Design in Scala by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
stars
3,051 ratings
521 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger Scala applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Finally, you will learn how to leverage the ability of the compiler to infer values from types. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity with using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

Top reviews

RP
Sep 14, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES
Mar 17, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 506 Reviews for Functional Program Design in Scala

By Michael P

Nov 6, 2016

Great course. Nice and to the point. I wish there were a course dedicated to Scala web stack (ScalaJs,React,etc. ...)

By Youwei Z

Sep 18, 2016

a more advanced class but remains friendly to beginners. i can work on 3 courses at the same time without much burden

By Zhehui Z

Apr 7, 2020

Much harder than the first course of this specialization. Many important functional programming concepts introduced.

By Patrick L

Aug 28, 2016

I'e been using Scala at work for more than a year, but still M Odersky and E Meijer brought me a lot in this course

By Сергей А П

Jan 5, 2021

Another course by Martin Odersky about Scala programming which is extremely useful and interesting. Thanks a lot.

By Akshay A

Jan 5, 2020

Last two weeks are definitely confusing, since the staff seems to have rearranged and removed some ofthe content.

By Fernando R

Mar 18, 2018

Great course. The material is stimulating, challenging, and very useful to learn functional programming in Scala.

By bredr

Mar 3, 2017

Really adds value to the previous course, filling in the blanks on how you might apply it to larger applications.

By Juliusz G

Dec 10, 2016

Three fun, easy & very informative programming assignments on streams, property testing and reactive programming

By Tin H K

Jan 28, 2017

A great continuation course to learn functional programming in Scala. Thank you very much Professor Odersky!

By Gregory M

Jan 14, 2017

Clear, though I was already intermediate in scala, I learnt some new functional programming techniques here

By Tomasz N

Jan 13, 2020

In week 4 sudden change of teacher and topic from reactive programming principles to Futures is confusing.

By Ignacio G S

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent course from the best professionals in the world. The Futures content should be tested as well.

By Krishnan C

Dec 5, 2016

This class was really useful for helping me to understand streams and functional reactive programming!

By Jędrzej B

May 22, 2020

One of the best courses I've encountered. Nice examples, clear explanations, interesting assignments.

By YACINE G

Dec 28, 2018

A very intricate and well designed course. I especially liked the assignments and programming labs!!!

By vladimir

Nov 26, 2016

Decent course with interesting assignments. The last part was slightly disjointed, but still useful.

By OLEKSIY B

Dec 31, 2019

It's was an awesome and amazing journey! Like in my childhood on interschool programmers contests

By Ankur S

Jun 25, 2019

Very Good. Some parts can be provided with some material to refer . Example reactive programming.

By Ro V

Jan 26, 2018

I learned optimal and safe methodologies to manipulate data when it is infinite, mutable or async

By Wong J P

Oct 18, 2016

Good material, challenging stuff. Took me a few reads and revisits to grasp the concepts properly

By CAI X

Feb 1, 2017

The assignment is pretty hard actually. Thought the concept is relatively easy to understand.

By Yannick S

Oct 9, 2016

really good lessions, clean and well structured - but you need intermediate++ level to enjoy!

By Seleznev A

Jun 15, 2020

Quite complicated but helpful the part of specialization. There are lots of confused tasks.

By Łukasz W

Dec 13, 2016

Very clear lectures. Interesting and demanding programming tasks. I recommend this course.