Chevron Left
Back to Programming with JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming with JavaScript by Meta

4.7
stars
1,345 ratings

About the Course

JavaScript is the programming language that powers the modern web. In this course, you will learn the basic concepts of web development with JavaScript. You will work with functions, objects, arrays, variables, data types, the HTML DOM, and much more. You will learn how to use JavaScript and discover interactive possibilities with modern JavaScript technologies. Finally, you will learn about the practice of testing code and how to write a unit test using Jest....

Top reviews

MM

Aug 17, 2022

I'm an experienced software engineer, and I'm pleasantly surprised how great this course is at removing the unnecessary parts to present what is needed to work as an engineer in an organization

KG

Dec 15, 2022

Overall best course and the way instructors teach or engaged us is literally well and good every single concept is clear from basic, and assignments are also good for practice. Quality course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 400 Reviews for Programming with JavaScript

By Michael

Jul 17, 2022

Despite the grading system making it frustrating/difficult to decipher whether your logic in the assignment is wrong or if you just didn't write the assignment the way the course wanted you to, I still feel like this course gives you a comprehensive understanding of JavaScript and all of its features. The video and Instruction thoroughly explain all the concepts you need to know at a pacing that anyone could follow regardless if they have a background in programming already or if they're new. It never assumes you already know something and expects you to pretty much only do exactly what they demonstrate for you.

By Maiko M

Aug 18, 2022

I'm an experienced software engineer, and I'm pleasantly surprised how great this course is at removing the unnecessary parts to present what is needed to work as an engineer in an organization

By Daniel P

Aug 4, 2022

The most common problems I've seen with this course are the Graders. It's all automated, and the feedback is honestly quite bad. Be prepared to check all the spaces and semi-colons over and over and still get it wrong. Use the discussion board, other programmers and learners are your greatest assets during this course. JavaScript, or any other programming languages are difficult to learn, so do not beat yourself up if you don't understand. Do your best, and you'll get there in no time.

By Jason S

Jul 11, 2022

Good course, covers a lot of very useful topics. Only negative is the instructions for the assignments were conflicting and incomplete at times.

By Hossam M

Jul 17, 2022

the course is amazing but the graded system needs to be upgraded

By Misagh A

Nov 7, 2022

It starts kind of great, but at some point the topics become randomly placed. The subjects are suddenly presented in very short and heavily info-loaded videos, followed by extremely long reading materials. There are almost no practical, real-world applications and/or projects to complete: only out of context examples with cats and dogs. Very disappointing. To be honest I am not very confident in my JS abilities after finishing this course and probably need to polish my skills somewhere else i.e. Codecademy which will cause additional costs...

By Dzyanis S

Jul 26, 2022

Of course, it is impossible to cover all JavaScript in a such short course, but essential topics are illuminated. For successful completion in addition to the video and exersises, you need to use and explore a bunch of sources (what is actually provided by the META staff) by yourself. What I really like is a lot of exercises during the lectures and at the end of each module. Also, I would recommend do not rush and very carefully reading instructions for the tasks to prevent grade issues. The lector speaks with a little Scottish accent, but very clearly. Kudos to META!

By Eric L

Aug 14, 2022

Grading is poorly developed and material was very brief without a lot of excerceises

By Mahamud H

Jul 17, 2022

I felt that this course is a compact one where a lot of things were covered or introduced. I would definitely love to explore similar JavaScript courses in more detail. However, the overall experience was excellent!

By Mann J

Aug 24, 2022

This is the best Javascript course in the market for now!!! Had an amazing time learning from the best.Thank you

By Sarah H

Jul 15, 2022

Well organized lectures and topics . Assignment instructions need improvement as of July 2022.

By Jeremiah A

Nov 12, 2022

The course was kind of ham-fisted - in the beginning it has a specific and deliberate pace, but the flow is still much different than the previous course in this professional certificate, and other courses I've taken on Coursera.

This is what it feels like:

1) the course was made and set up one way, then

2) at some later point they came back in to fill in the gaps and/or re-did videos to explain concepts, but they didn't have the same team so

3) everything is disjointed.

Concepts that are promised to be explained later, aren't always; videos reference finding details in the additional reading that aren't always there; quizzes about the assignment come BEFORE the assignment; quiz questions bring up concepts that aren't covered anywhere in the course.

I think the real problem here is JavaScript could be its own multi-course specialization/certificate - there's a ton of potential concepts to cover. Unfortunately, they try to cover basic programming concepts (loops, OOP, variable scope, etc.) AND JavaScript, and there's just not enough time for that in a five week course. There's good information in this course, but it can't shine the way the course's goals are split.

I still think it's valuable, but it is definitely one of the more frustrating courses, just for the things discussed above, and putting it early in the specialization order, I suspect this will be a wash out point.

By Maria D

Aug 9, 2022

The content itself is good, but there's lots of hiccups with lessons out of order, unclear instructions in coding challenges, and such. Also, if you're doing the speciaization, beware that courses four and onwards might not be available yet, leaving you with a big gap in-between.

By Jaber H S

Sep 4, 2022

Learned about lots of thing those I've not learn before. This course not only given me a clear concept of Javascript but also many conceptual thing such as Error Handleing, TDD, OOP. I'm reallly glad to completed this course successfully.

Thanks Meta & Coursera.

By Julian G

Sep 21, 2022

Very good course, but be aware that it starts from the very basics of programming and doesn't really go very deep into JavaScript.

By Malasri J

Jul 17, 2022

The course covers essentiel knowledge for beginner. Easy to follow.

By Ahmed k

Aug 4, 2022

The content was great and the instructors too but there are two issues in that course first the grading system wasn't the best, especially for the first two weeks and the second point was the course didn't mention callstack, event loops, and Async javascript which is important topics

By Igor P

Nov 15, 2022

The information in this course is given in a too much complicated form. YouTube videos and self-study books are much more helpful, and they simplified the process. I would recommend supervisors of the course to review all the materials and make the course more detailed and more simplified. Given tasks were without prior clear and full explanations. The additional resources were mostly from Mozila.doc, where the main condition to learn is to have some programming experience! I really wish the course will be reviewed, and next students will have better experience.

By Eduardo R C

Aug 5, 2022

Information is good but the automatic grading sucks, you receive feedback of the expected output and it is the same as your output. Really annoying

By Dale H

Oct 17, 2022

amazing in depth course, feel like i have grasped the basics and will go away and practice what i have learnt. I like how there are videos, readings and tasks to complete to keep it varied.

By Raja K

Oct 2, 2022

It's arguably one of the best Javascript courses you can find on the internet. It covers all the basics and provided a solid foundation which will help you to become a better JS Developer.

By Alisson G d L

Jul 9, 2022

Great introduction to JavaScript and some other concepts like programming paradigms and testing.

By Aballah S

Jul 20, 2022

good exercises that will make you a good understanding of programming with javascript.

By Morish W

Jul 7, 2022

Easy to Understand.

By Matthew M

Jul 11, 2022

Amazing course!