Chevron Left
Back to Programming with JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming with JavaScript by Meta

4.7
stars
3,996 ratings

About the Course

JavaScript is the programming language that powers the modern web. In this course, you will learn the basic concepts of web development with JavaScript. You will work with functions, objects, arrays, variables, data types, the HTML DOM, and much more. You will learn how to use JavaScript and discover interactive possibilities with modern JavaScript technologies. Finally, you will learn about the practice of testing code and how to write a unit test using Jest....

Top reviews

RK

Invalid date

It's arguably one of the best Javascript courses you can find on the internet. It covers all the basics and provided a solid foundation which will help you to become a better JS Developer.

DH

Invalid date

amazing in depth course, feel like i have grasped the basics and will go away and practice what i have learnt. I like how there are videos, readings and tasks to complete to keep it varied.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,032 Reviews for Programming with JavaScript

By Malasri J

Jul 17, 2022

The course covers essentiel knowledge for beginner. Easy to follow.

By Morish W

Jul 7, 2022

Easy to Understand.

By Ahmed k

Aug 4, 2022

The content was great and the instructors too but there are two issues in that course first the grading system wasn't the best, especially for the first two weeks and the second point was the course didn't mention callstack, event loops, and Async javascript which is important topics

By Tarique H

Apr 24, 2023

The module quiz was not satisfactory. On some occasions the correct answer was evaluated as incorrect. Additionally, the readme.md files in lab work were not easy to understand. Some of the assignments were based on knowledge that had not been covered in the course.

By Marisa M

Jul 27, 2023

Ok, so this does take you through the basics of JavaScript and parts of it are done well. But overall this course was confusing. I learned more from YouTube, W3 Schools and my husband. My husband is a full stack developer who has been doing this stuff for nearly a decade and he was appalled by the way the course went about presenting some of these concepts.

Some information was presented out of order, the concepts are thrown at you really quickly with little opportunity to practice within the course, the labs frequently added new information that hadn't yet been taught and was not explained in the lab and I feel horribly ill-prepared to take these skills to the real world.

I wanted to go through the Meta course to get a certificate and show future employers that I completed something as opposed to just gleaning what I can from the internet, but after this course I'm not sure I'll continue with Meta.

Some ideas for improvement: don't add new concepts to the labs, create more exercises that help teach us how to solve real-world problems with JavaScript, explain why we should do something instead of just saying that we should do it and make the labs easier to understand.

I won't be recommending this course to other newbie developers.

By Junya I

May 1, 2023

It just provides a lot of information without explanations which make it easier to understand. Besides, the weight of the course is really biased. I feel week 3 covers more than half of the course contents. It makes you feel that I cannot keep up to the pace. I think the week should be diveded 4 weeks. Discussion Forums also do not work properly. It provides a lot of coding answers but I have difficulties to find a good hints or comments of admins to provide them. I also think the course should provide course slide to look back the contents more easily. Looking for the contens and watching the contents everytime to find out something is a waste of time.

By Carolina A

Oct 28, 2022

This is the worst course I have taken from coursera, I am already displease and regret enrolled this course.

The logic of code seems pretty fine and working in my own console, but there is an assignment where you need to open IDE online. The grading system is extremely bad without any feedback what went wrong. I already saw some people unenrolled this course too. This will not help a new learner to improve their skill instead it will confuse them "what went wrong?" because od the grading system. keeps error and strict.

By Jennifer H

Sep 13, 2022

Coursera needs to hire someone with curriculum design and assessment expertise to rework this course (I volunteer as tribute) as it has exceedingly too much info and not enough valuable assessment. I, like many of my peers, had to turn to other free options to attempt to learn JavaScript.

By Simon

Sep 15, 2022

My code does work as intended in the assignments, the grade however is graded "not passed". The code have to be on point with what the answer code should be, not the result which can be achieved in many different ways.

By Dan P

Dec 27, 2022

I got number 6 correct and it was marked as wrong. This course is FULL of errors that can confuse a beginner and that really should be addressed.

By Jeff H

Nov 23, 2022

Final project is bassically unpassable due to the way the grader is set up.

By umarul f

Nov 23, 2022

no teacher support.

By Yasir K

May 31, 2023

The Programming with JavaScript course by Meta exceeded my expectations. The hands-on approach and interactive exercises made it engaging and practical. The instructors provided valuable feedback and support throughout. I now feel confident in writing clean and efficient JavaScript code. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to master JavaScript.

By Khushal G

Dec 16, 2022

Overall best course and the way instructors teach or engaged us is literally well and good every single concept is clear from basic, and assignments are also good for practice. Quality course.

By Raja K

Oct 2, 2022

It's arguably one of the best Javascript courses you can find on the internet. It covers all the basics and provided a solid foundation which will help you to become a better JS Developer.

By Alisson G d L

Jul 9, 2022

Great introduction to JavaScript and some other concepts like programming paradigms and testing.

By Aballah S

Jul 20, 2022

good exercises that will make you a good understanding of programming with javascript.

By Matthew M

Jul 11, 2022

Amazing course!

By Herman S

Jul 7, 2022

Great course!

By Tatsuya T

Jul 3, 2022

Great course

By James C

Jan 3, 2024

Great course. Covered lots of material and supported with video and supplemental readings. I replayed the videos several times and took notes which helped on the practice exercises. On a couple of occasions, I felt the tests covered material that was not in the videos, but perhaps only in the supplemental readings. The content directly after the exam would then cover the missing material. Not sure if that was intentional or not. Either way, the course was worth it and I'm looking forward to putting my new javascript skills to work.

By Ramon C

Nov 1, 2022

A very high-quality course. The faculty explained the essential knowledge of Javascript very clearly and figuratively. However, the content of this course is a little too cramped in the middle. There are too many points in Week 3 for students to learn, but Week 4 & 5 requires much less devotion. This can be optimized by moving some content from Week 3 to other weeks so students will feel less stressed during week 3. Overall, very pleasant experience, great work!

By Nattachai N

Jul 22, 2022

These course is taught overview of Javascript. Minus one star from too strict assignment

By Garrett S

May 1, 2023

The auto grader needs some serious re work

By Sonja V

Dec 7, 2022

The course itself is very good and informational if you're new to JavaScript. However, the grading system is full on TERRIBLE. For nearly every assignment I 'failed' multiple times before passing, just because my code wasn't EXACTLY how the grading system wanted it to be. The grading system appears to give you feedback in the form of 'this piece of code was expected to give this output, but instead gave this output', and literally each time both the expected output and received output were exactly the same. And still it would tell me that it didn't pass. In some cases just changing super minor things in my code (like let to var or adding a ; somewhere) just to pass the assignment took me 40 minutes of my time. In the discussion I could see that a lot of people struggled with this. This really needs to be improved. For a course about coding it's terrible UX...