Chevron Left
Back to Programming with JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming with JavaScript by Meta

4.7
stars
4,027 ratings

About the Course

JavaScript is the programming language that powers the modern web. In this course, you will learn the basic concepts of web development with JavaScript. You will work with functions, objects, arrays, variables, data types, the HTML DOM, and much more. You will learn how to use JavaScript and discover interactive possibilities with modern JavaScript technologies. Finally, you will learn about the practice of testing code and how to write a unit test using Jest....

Top reviews

MB

Invalid date

Fantastic description and deep insight.

Too bad some of the content is either in the wrong order making it difficult to follow or just wrong... the automatic tests also need fixing..

RK

Invalid date

It's arguably one of the best Javascript courses you can find on the internet. It covers all the basics and provided a solid foundation which will help you to become a better JS Developer.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,043 Reviews for Programming with JavaScript

By Hithesh J

Feb 27, 2023

At the beginning, 2 weeks course was well balanced and proper skill was tough later the course get less elaborated and difficult to grab the concept. few JEST snd error handling excerise was bit diffcult

By Kelly W H

Apr 29, 2023

Some of the assignments have critical problems with wording that prevent learners from successfully completing them.

By Maria D

Jun 4, 2023

It doesn't give any practical knowledge, as well as the "Basic React" course in the same specification.

By Jethro J

Oct 29, 2022

I belive these courses can benefit from visually seeing more coding during the lectures.

By Richard W

Sep 14, 2022

The course was okay. But the labs were very poorly written and programmed.

By Maxwell F

Nov 23, 2022

Labs/exercises are poorly worded and graded, teaching bad coding habits.

By Tia K

Jan 2, 2023

the title must change to Programming with Javascript for beginners

By Malyala M

Nov 22, 2022

oops concept should be more detailed with more graded ssignments

By Connie

Jul 21, 2023

This course was very poorly organized. There are two formats of teaching in the course that only follows each other half way. Only given a brief summary of ideas in one video, and the next reading or video jumps into many syntax and ideas that has not been talked about.

Teaching style is definitely not for beginners! I could only pass due to previous experience with coding, had I not have that experience I would not be able to pass week 1.

Not only that, majority of the small self review sections that should follow the assignment it is asking for a self review is not in the right order. Currently, the self review quiz comes up first asking how well we did on the assignment, then it is followed by the assignment. So order is all wrong!

By Julie S

Feb 5, 2023

Was going pretty well until towards the end. The last assignment was a major buzzkill. When I ran my code it output the correct answer, but when the grader ran my code, it came back with an error I didn't understand. Very common problem according to the discussion forum. Very discouraging. Almost thought I was going to have to give up and not be able to complete the course because a lot of the "help" I was finding wasn't helping. I got it in the end, but it was not a good learning process. This is not a course I would particularly recommend unfortunately.

By Mike B

Dec 29, 2022

Would give 0 stars if possible. Find any other course than this one to learn. This course has multiple misspellings, and the creators lack attention to detail on the samples and writing instructions for the assignments.

By Фесюк А А

Jan 21, 2023

So easy practice exercises so after completed i have enough problem with meaning about how use all knowledge on practice

By Pyae A

Nov 28, 2022

A lot of code testing error on Coursera VS code

By Muhammad A

Feb 14, 2024

Here are some key aspects to keep in mind while learning JavaScript: Master the Fundamentals: Start by understanding the basics of JavaScript, including variables, data types, operators, control structures (such as if statements and loops), functions, and objects. These fundamentals form the building blocks of JavaScript programming. Practice Regularly: Like any skill, programming requires regular practice to improve. Write code regularly, work on small projects, and solve coding challenges to reinforce your understanding of JavaScript concepts and syntax. Understand Asynchronous Programming: JavaScript is known for its asynchronous programming model, which allows tasks to be executed concurrently without blocking the main execution thread. Learn about asynchronous concepts such as callbacks, promises, async/await, and event loop, as they are essential for building modern web applications. Explore the Ecosystem: JavaScript has a vast ecosystem of libraries, frameworks, and tools that can streamline development and enhance productivity. Familiarize yourself with popular libraries and frameworks like React, Angular, Vue.js for front-end development, and Node.js for server-side development. Learn ES6 and Beyond: ES6 (ECMAScript 2015) introduced significant enhancements to JavaScript, including arrow functions, template literals, destructuring, classes, and modules. Stay updated with the latest ECMAScript specifications and learn about new features introduced in subsequent versions. Debugging Skills: Debugging is an essential skill for any programmer. Learn how to use browser developer tools, console.log statements, and debugging tools provided by IDEs to identify and fix errors in your code. Understand Browser Compatibility: JavaScript is executed in various environments, including web browsers, Node.js, and mobile devices. Be aware of browser compatibility issues and learn about techniques like feature detection and polyfilling to ensure your code works across different browsers and environments. Stay Curious and Keep Learning: JavaScript is a dynamic and evolving language, with new features and best practices emerging regularly. Stay curious, explore new technologies, read documentation, watch tutorials, and engage with the developer community to keep learning and growing as a JavaScript developer. By focusing on these key aspects and maintaining a growth mindset, you can build a solid foundation in JavaScript and embark on a fulfilling career as a web developer or software engineer.

By Prakash S

Mar 31, 2024

I recently completed the "Programming with JavaScript" course, and I must say it has been an incredibly enriching experience. This course provided a comprehensive introduction to JavaScript, covering essential concepts and practical applications that have greatly enhanced my programming skills. One of the most commendable aspects of the course was its structure. The material was well-organized, starting with the fundamentals of JavaScript syntax and gradually progressing to more advanced topics such as DOM manipulation, event handling, and asynchronous programming. This progression allowed for a smooth learning curve, ensuring that even beginners could grasp the concepts effectively. Moreover, the course content was delivered in a clear and concise manner, making it easy to understand even complex concepts. The use of examples and hands-on exercises further reinforced learning, allowing me to apply the newly acquired knowledge in real-world scenarios. One of the highlights of the course was the emphasis on practical applications. Rather than focusing solely on theory, the course encouraged hands-on practice through coding exercises and projects. This approach not only solidified my understanding of JavaScript but also provided valuable experience in problem-solving and coding best practices. Additionally, the course instructor was highly knowledgeable and engaging, providing insightful explanations and guidance throughout the learning process. The instructor's passion for JavaScript was evident, which made the learning experience more enjoyable and motivating. Overall, I highly recommend the "Programming with JavaScript" course to anyone looking to learn JavaScript from scratch or enhance their existing skills. Whether you're a beginner or an experienced programmer, this course offers a comprehensive foundation in JavaScript programming that will undoubtedly benefit your career and personal projects.

By Nitin G

Aug 25, 2023

I'm glad to hear that the course "Programming with JavaScript" offered by Meta on Coursera was helpful to you and that you found value in obtaining a certificate. However, please note that I don't have real-time access to current courses or their specific details beyond my last knowledge update in September 2021. As a result, I can't provide a specific rating for this course.

If you'd like, I can provide you with some general aspects to consider when evaluating a programming course:

1. **Content Quality:** Was the course content well-organized, comprehensive, and up-to-date? Did it cover the essential concepts of JavaScript programming?

2. **Instructor Expertise:** Did the instructors demonstrate a strong grasp of the subject matter? Did they explain concepts clearly and provide relevant examples?

3. **Engagement:** Did the course keep you engaged and interested throughout? Interactive elements like quizzes, coding exercises, and projects can contribute to a more engaging learning experience.

4. **Hands-on Practice:** Did the course include practical coding exercises and projects? Hands-on experience is crucial for effectively learning programming languages.

5. **Certificate Value:** Did the certificate you received hold value for you? Did it contribute to your personal or professional development goals?

6. **Community and Support:** Did the course offer opportunities to interact with instructors or fellow learners? A supportive community can enhance the learning process.

7. **Ease of Accessibility:** Was the course platform user-friendly? Could you access the course content easily?

8. **Value for Money:** Did you feel the course was worth the investment of your time and money?

Considering these factors can help you provide a well-rounded assessment of the course's quality. If you have specific questions about JavaScript programming concepts or related topics, feel free to ask!

By ruhollah j

Mar 16, 2023

The Programming with JavaScript Meta course on Coursera is an excellent way to learn and improve your JavaScript programming skills. This course is designed for beginners who have little or no programming experience in JavaScript. It covers a wide range of topics, including the basics of programming, web development, and advanced concepts such as asynchronous programming and APIs.

The course is divided into several smaller courses, each covering a specific topic. The first course covers the fundamentals of programming, including data types, variables, and control structures. The second course focuses on web development, including HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. In the third course, you will learn how to use JavaScript to manipulate the Document Object Model (DOM), which is the structure of a webpage. The fourth course covers asynchronous programming, which is essential when building modern web applications. Finally, in the fifth course, you will learn how to use APIs to build interactive web applications.

Throughout the course, you will have access to quizzes and assignments that will help you assess your understanding of the material. Additionally, you will be able to interact with other learners in the course and learn from their experiences. The course is self-paced, which means you can work on it at your own speed and on your own schedule.

Upon completing the Programming with JavaScript Meta course, you will have a solid foundation in JavaScript programming and web development. You will be able to create web applications that are both interactive and dynamic. This course is an excellent investment for anyone who wants to become a skilled JavaScript developer.

By Kateryna H

Jan 13, 2023

It was a surely magnificent course! I immediately adored the brilliance of structure, preparation of lectures, and easy-to-understand information modules. The lectures are usually very short, so it is easy to follow and concentrate. Moreover, the explanation is understandable even for newbie programmers like me:)

I would definitely recommend everyone doing notes throughout the course, since they were a lifesaver for me. It connects your memory to what you are writing down by hand, so I noticed a significant improvement in my knowledge and skills after starting to make notes. They are also convenient during tests and recaps, as you can quickly go through them and revise everything you've learned so far! Definitely worth spending time on!

It was a 2nd course from the specialization that I took. I can say that every module is made on the highest level. Even if some challenges arose, I could always look up additional reading linked in the modules to explore the topic even further.

Therefore, I would definitely reccomend it to the people, who are seeking to learn basics of JavaScript or to people, who forgot them and just wanted to recap. Definitely will fill all the holes! 😊

Additionally, I wanted to spare the gratefullness to Coursera for giving me a financial aid! Without it, I won't be able to pursue my learning for a future career. So I am immensely thankful for that!

With love and kindness, Kateryna.

By Abdul W

Apr 13, 2023

I recently completed the Programming with JavaScript course, and I must say that I had an excellent learning experience. The course is well-structured, and the content is presented in a clear and concise manner, making it easy to follow even for beginners.

The course covers all the essential concepts of JavaScript programming, including data types, functions, control structures, arrays, objects, and DOM manipulation. The assignments and quizzes are challenging but not overwhelming, providing excellent opportunities to practice and reinforce what you learn in the course.

What I appreciated most about the course was the instructor's teaching style. He has a deep understanding of the subject matter and presents it in an engaging and interactive way, using real-world examples to illustrate the concepts.

The course also has a supportive online community, where students can ask questions, share their experiences, and get help from peers and instructors. The discussion forums were very active and provided a great way to connect with other learners and build a sense of community.

Overall, I highly recommend the Programming with JavaScript course to anyone looking to learn JavaScript programming. It's a great course that provides a solid foundation in the language and sets you on the path to becoming a proficient JavaScript developer.

By Solomon U

Jul 18, 2023

Course Title: "Programming with Javascript"

Course Provider: Coursera

Review:

I recently completed the "Programming with JavaScript" course on Coursera, and overall, it was a valuable learning experience. The course covered a wide range of topics, providing a solid foundation in Frontend Development.

One of the highlights of the course was the hands-on assignments and projects. They challenged me to apply the concepts learned in lectures to real world app development. The assignments were well-designed and progressively more challenging, allowing me to build my skills step by step.

The course community was supportive and active. The discussion forums provided an excellent platform to interact with fellow learners, share ideas, and seek help when needed. Additionally, the instructor and teaching assistants were responsive to questions and provided valuable feedback.

In conclusion, the "Programming with JavaScript" course on Coursera is an excellent starting point for anyone interested in entering the field of Frontend Development. The course offers valuable insights, practical knowledge, and hands-on experience, making it a worthwhile investment of time and effort.

By Matt B

Feb 24, 2023

I primarily work with Python, but needed to quickly pick up JavaScript for a project. This course was included in my Coursera Plus subscription, so I decided to give it a shot. I'm glad I did because it turned out to be the best course I've taken on Coursera. It was organized, up-to-date, and thorough, without going into the weeds.

Given my experience in this course, I decided to start working through the other courses in the front end developer program. For me, front end work has always gotten short thrift while I focused on data work with Python. So, I'm excited by the prospect of adding a lot of new tools to my belt with the larger program and giving front end work the attention it deserves. In any event, well done to the team who put this course together.

By Mohd F N

Jul 29, 2023

The JavaScript programming course was an amazing experience. It covered all the essential topics, including data types, functions, arrays, loops, and objects. The instructor was knowledgeable, engaging, and always available to answer questions. I loved the hands-on approach, as it provided plenty of coding exercises and assignments to help me apply what I had learned. Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to learn JavaScript, regardless of their programming experience. The knowledge and skills gained can be applied to a variety of web development projects.m scratch and it is self-paced. Really helped a lot and was great to begin with.

By Alberto V Q

Oct 10, 2022

Great course for web developers with no computer science background. This is as extensive and in-depth as it can be for an introduction to JavaScript. I had already used JavaScript and coded for various data tasks but never as much for front-end development. The best part is that they teach you how to do testing which is crucial for languages like JavaScript where you are never sure what a piece of code can end up doing. The course doesn't need to go too deep into programming paradigms and computational thinking, as dealing with the web browser is pretty straight-forward and they make it clear that that is the purpose of JavaScript and the course.

By Ashish L

Jul 3, 2023

Explanations and division between topics are good. If there would be more deeper teachings on how things work behind the scene and add 2-3 minutes of extra time in explanations for each topic with how it works behind the scene might have cleared my all doubts. Because there are few topics which are taught just assuming we already know programming so it is good for intermediate learner. More explanations on Testing, error handling, OOP would be really helpful and make this course excellent. Moreover, Providing tips, techniques when combining loops, statements will be Plus for beginners.Overall, it is great course provided by meta.

By Denis K

Dec 11, 2023

This course is just great! The quality of materials, explanations and code practices are excellent! I have understood all the features of JS that have been covered here. But now I want more, because I still need to understand more advanced JS topics like Promises and most of the aspects of working with calback functions that were not covered here. However, it was a pleasure to learn this course with Meta. I have become more confident with JS, and I hope that the next courses in this Professional Certificate program will be of the same high quality. Can't wait to try React:) Thank you, Meta and Coursera!