Chevron Left
Back to Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project by Google

4.8
stars
13,862 ratings

About the Course

This is the second course in the Google Project Management Certificate program. This course will show you how to set a project up for success in the first phase of the project life cycle: the project initiation phase. In exploring the key components of this phase, you’ll learn how to define and manage project goals, deliverables, scope, and success criteria. You’ll discover how to use tools and templates like stakeholder analysis grids and project charters to help you set project expectations and communicate roles and responsibilities. Current Google project managers will continue to instruct and provide you with hands-on approaches for accomplishing these tasks while showing you the best project management tools and resources for the job at hand. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand the significance of the project initiation phase of the project life cycle. - Describe the key components of the project initiation phase. - Determine a project’s benefits and costs. - Define and create measurable project goals and deliverables. - Define project scope and differentiate among tasks that are in-scope and out-of-scope. - Understand how to manage scope creep to avoid impacting project goals. - Define and measure a project’s success criteria. - Complete a stakeholder analysis and explain its significance. - Utilize RACI charts to define and communicate project team member responsibilities. - Understand the key components of project charters and develop a project charter for project initiation. - Evaluate various project management tools to meet project needs....

Top reviews

MG

Feb 7, 2022

everything is excellent. but i am facing the problem that says 'upgrade to submit' when i traied to submit the peer graded assignment. and it is been 3 weeks i stucked on this module. please help me.

AA

Feb 14, 2022

This has been a good learning experience. I now know the different project management tools available. I have a good understanding of project initiation and how to determine the success of a project.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 3,046 Reviews for Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

By SOLOMON G F

Nov 27, 2021

I am so delighted in getting the skills of project management. It will be a great endeavor to open a new career not only in the same organization and profession but also in other new professions too. In this course, particularly in the Project initiation phase, detailed course contents have been addressed and these will make an individual who has been attended this course has a plus skills and know how apart from his/her previous skills.

By suzanne r

Mar 3, 2023

i don't like the fact that i have to wait on peer grading to get my certificate

you still have to do the work and turn it in you just should not to wait o other people and what if no one grades it then what , not real happy with this part

some people are able to move faster through this then other and the ones that can move faster have to bring their learning to a halt , maybe someone should have planed this part a little better

By Sarah B

Jul 29, 2022

I really enjoyed this second module. It provided great working examples of how to put together a project charter, define strong project OKRs, multiple tools for stakeholder analysis and management, and a great overview of task management, productivity, and collaboration tools. I have found this course an excellent addition to the project management I am currently doing, and it's helped me do my current job more efficiently!

By Gabriel S

Jan 27, 2023

I finished the first course and moved onto the third in this series, but this has been the best one for me so far. This is specifically for the 'Key Notes" feature they're trying out. It has pretty much any text that pops up in the videos and allows you to pop that into a word doc and take additional notes on top of those, which saved me a lot of time and allowed me to pay better attention to the video.

By Stephanie T

Sep 4, 2022

I really liked the course, but became very frustrated when my project was marked as a fail by another classmate without any explanation.

While I agree with failing individuals, i do think that you should force individuals to state why they failed. I ended up passing during my second attempt, and was provided some pretty sound feedback that I was greatful for. Rather frustrating and demoralizing.

By Teddy L T K

Jun 6, 2022

I have learnt about project initiation in this course and how a project gets started which is very similar to my working environment. Although I don't heavily participate in the initial phases as in how it got started. Usually, I begin when the project charter is already fix with an assigned budget from the Program Manager. Glad that the sharing in this course here has given better insights for me.

By Abdulrahman A

Jan 16, 2022

The course was very big and has a lot of details. The nice thing in this course was the teacher JuAnn,she was outstanding teacher I understant and I learn a lot of information from her to start my jib in this field.

Thanks a lot for everyone share us information in this course, and I want to thank my peer in this course.

I neet to expand my study in this course , and sort the idea from the begining.

By Eleanor C

Apr 30, 2021

The course is closer to Agile and its practices so it gives a very general overview of the basics of project management and doesn't dive in too deep on the traditional project management and its practices.

But this is a good course with great insights by people who are actually doing the work and in the field, and it's especially useful for people who want to work in project management

By Joshua M

Apr 28, 2022

A great learning experience. The course took me about 15 hours total in about a week and a half. The first week's material was about 1.5 hours and then the next 3 weeks were over 4 hours.

It required a lot of critical thinking to complete the assignments, and the peer review assignment of creating a Project Charter was helpful.

The PM tools and templates were exciting to learn about!

By Eleanor L

Jun 3, 2022

Exciting, engaging, & curiousity-driven course that helped me learn how to apply analytical skills & assign roles to the stakeholder based on RACI charts, Objective, & Key Results. Don't stop learning now. It gets really interesting in the 2nd course and I'm looking forward to the 3rd course to learn more. These are valuable skills and knowledge that will help you in the future.

By Romina L T

Dec 16, 2021

Un curso excelente que me ha ayudado a cambiar la mirada sobre algunos tópicos y con el cual he aprendido sobre ciertos conceptos y herramientas que desconocía.

Por otro lado, el material brindado es muy claro, el tutor grandioso y las evaluaciones ayudan mucho para cerrar y entender cada tema.

Estoy muy felíz de tener la oportunidad de realizar este curso! Gracias Coursera y Google

By B. G

Dec 31, 2021

This is really a nice course on project management. I like the fact the examples are not strictly limited to digital projects, but encompass a wider range of different projects in different industries.

The first-hand accounts by seasoned Google PMs are fantastic.

The info provided is helpful and certainly gives a good understanding of what project management is all about.

By Jay L

May 15, 2021

It was more practical than the Foundation of Project management.

I liked the same business case with different scenario.

For recommendation, many software were introduced and I have not used them all. I t is time-consuming for doing trial for even some. Hoped to have ideas/recommendation which software is fit based on size on company, industry, and size of project.

By Allie Y

Jun 9, 2022

This course was thoughtfully crafted and developed. I enjoyed and appreciated the use of various media (videos, readings, activities, quizzes, etc) to learn the material. Overall, I've learned that I already do a lot of these things, but didn't really know the terminology. Some topics were new to me entirely. This course is definitely going to help me in my career!

By Ojo S

Dec 6, 2022

ttThete iThere is this avenue to learn like a beginner even though one ight havmight have gotten few prior knowledge about project initiation but they were littleThis module really brightbrought clarity and knowledge of what I was ignorant of concerning Project ignorantProjectinitiating Projecta ProjectsuccessfulProject.Thank you Coursera and GoogleGoogle.

By Guillaume H

Apr 12, 2022

I found the step-by-step understanding of initiating a project to be very useful for guiding teams in game development. I took everything I learned in this course and applied it to professional experiences. In addition, applying and understanding the skills learned in this course helped to boost my confidence and openness to teach others what I've learned.

By Amey H

Sep 17, 2021

I thought the course was excellent. One thing I would like to see change is more information about the different Project Management tools. Maybe a comparison and contrast chart so we can look at the various differences between the PM tools. This would help the student visually see and understand the differences that can occur between different PM tools.

By Jordan N

Sep 6, 2022

I have really enjoyed this course so far and I love the video format. However, I feel it would be easier to better understand how to fill out the graded assignments and worksheets with a video as well. I often times find myself frustrated trying to figure out how to complete the assignment. I think its easier to reverse engineer these sort of things.

By Clevy O

May 13, 2022

It is a very complete course that covers the entire framework to develop a successful project. It teaches about the stakeholders and their analysis, their influence and management, also about the different tasks and work tools such as RACI, the scope of a project, the criteria, the SMART objectives and the results that determine a successful project.

By José H

Jun 12, 2022

This has been again a very intersting second part of the journey; acquiring and strenghtening my PM project . Happy that I'm still in my plan and my time is well used. Similar the course 1, I really appreciated the methodology used and the content, which is not really easy for the beginner like me, but made simple in a simple so anyone can try it.

By Ali H

Jan 30, 2022

This course was a challenging one as I expected it to be. Giving a more elaborate detail on the documentation aspect and providing you with Peer-Graded Assignments for an extra hands-on experience with what is to come. Thank you to all the instructors who shared their experience and introduced such an enlightening course about Project Initiation.

By Kathrin G

Aug 18, 2021

Fantastic course that helped me learn so much about starting a successful project. The material challenged me, helped me stretch and learn and, ultimately, I discovered that so many of the tools I've painstakingly created over the years...are not just my own geeky mind but...but...incredibly valuable. Thank you, Coursera! Future, here I come!

By Arturo S

Oct 17, 2022

Very intersting and well designed certificate for beginners with no clue of Project Management, I definetely learned a lot from this course and feel motivated to continue. The lessons are quick and to the point, the assignments are challenging enough for beginner level. I recommend this course to anyone who wants to start on project management.

By Pauline E

Oct 27, 2022

Course was thoughtfully made. The instructor was a just a bit disengaged with the audience. And she speaks a bit slow for me. Also, there are some participants in the peer review portion who do not know what to do. And instead of asking for help from other peers action on items that they're not supposed to action which affected my grades.

By Prathamesh K

Aug 3, 2021

I want to highlight one issue regarding peer graded assignment.

I had reviewed one peer graded assignment and in that assignment, the person has not written one necessary point so I haven't given a point to him for the particular.

Because of that the same person graded my assignment and failed me even though there was every detail present.