Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
19,293 ratings
3,668 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

PD
Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

OU
Mar 26, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

Filter by:

3501 - 3525 of 3,620 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Clinton M

Jun 2, 2019

The content balance of the course feels very stretched thin over the 5 weeks. Regular, concentrated study could see an average student complete this course in a matter of days if not less.

By Nadine F R

Mar 19, 2021

There is a mistake in the first week's reading. It's the wrong reading. It seems to be pretty foundational. I reported it weeks ago and received no response. That's why my rating is low.

By Paula C

Mar 5, 2021

Good information but the "lesson" format is not very engaging. If I wanted to spend all my time reading, I would buy the book. There should be more activities, case studies and videos.

By Dimosthenis S

May 13, 2016

The course contained some valuable information, but the lack of projects even small ones didn't help much. I would prefer a small project/assignment during the last week of the course.

By Amropali D

Sep 28, 2015

It isn't as engaging as I thought it would be. Since this is an introductory course, it would have helped if this were more interactive to build the interest for the latter courses.

By Nicole P

Aug 3, 2020

the information is presented well, but not in an engaging manner, I would describe the course as mono-tone. I would have abandoned the course but I needed the certification.

By Albert B

May 26, 2020

sharing the experience was a great initiative but the links for reading is not working on google chrome or internet explorer, also I couldn't find the presentation materials.

By Zaina A

Oct 23, 2019

I realize this course isn't expensive but it relies too heavily on the PMBOK without actually discussing it. I'd be happier with the course if the PMBOK had been left out.

By Masoud P

Oct 27, 2015

I think the discussion on initiating and planning projects could be improved to be a bit more comprehensive and It would be great if the lecture slides were downloadable.

By Chris W

Jun 6, 2016

A nice intro course into what is a project and who is involved in a project. Some of the lecture material did not match the paired video which led to some confusion.

By Pranav

May 9, 2020

The Modules which were in the form of HTML files should have been in the form of lectures which would make them more understandable than reading for oneself.

By Victory O

Nov 23, 2019

The course is quite alright. The videos were too long and had too many messages in just one video. Nevertheless, I learnt how to be a better project manager

By Benjamin C O

Jan 12, 2016

It's a good course, if you're looking to learn the basics of planning projects, and it doesn't take more than a day to complete, it's just a bit of reading.

By Simone K

Nov 18, 2015

Informative and clearly structured course. However, its content is aimed at professional project managers - useful but not exactly what I was looking for !

By Miguel A D F

Feb 25, 2020

I suggest update content media and incorporate material to create a toolkit for students. Benchmark vs. Linkedin learn PM course which I consider great.

By lucyNet

Oct 22, 2020

Good and diversified resources such as videos, lectures, etc.

Exams could be more challenging and the optional eventually readings included as e-books.

By Reeve C

Aug 19, 2020

Reading materials were detailed but can cause information overload if the presentations are to be presented alone without discussion of instructor

By Yoni D

May 6, 2017

Content is good and qualitative. But lack of real assignments beyond quiz, applying this knowledge to use case, and having peer reviews for it.

By Alice L

Mar 20, 2020

Please add exercise for a real-life project scenario that I can work on. This course has many pieces of information but no practice.

By Jonathan O

Apr 11, 2020

This is great. The manner in which so much details are compressed in a few lessons running over a short duration is impressive.

By Aghyad A

May 18, 2020

It is a good course for beginners. The exercises that include imagining could be changed with something else more proactive.

By Paolo L

Jun 8, 2016

Pros: Very clear explanations, useful slides for PMP preparation.

Cons: Very easy questions and exams. Not challenging at all

By Daniel R G

Jul 10, 2020

El material dado es claro y de alta calidad. Sin embargo los videos y los casos de estudio podrían ser mayores y mejores

By Muhammad F

Sep 6, 2020

This course enhanced my knowledge about initiating a project and how to plan it and get success in your projects

By I K

May 12, 2019

Although I understand it was a beginners course, it was far too easy. I finished the entire course in 3/4 hours.