Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
12,127 ratings
2,688 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 2,671 Reviews for Python Basics

By Akash N R

Jun 1, 2020

This course is exactly the one for a beginner who is interested in learning python. The course content was excellent and the way the instructors delivered it was fantastic. Looking ahead for the next course

By Stephen T

Oct 7, 2019

Very well structured and paced for the beginning programmer. Concepts are clearly introduced, walked-through, and then multiple exercises are provided for the student to develop hands-on coding experience.

By Nadia A

May 18, 2019

Amazing course that will teach you nuances of the language that you simply will never be able to grasp in a traditional class. Even if you know Python already, this course is absolutely worth going through.

By Ethel Y T

Aug 24, 2020

At the beginning I thought It was rather basic, but later on I realize how important was coming to the basics for having a solid foundation. I found out my foundations were weak. I really loved the course!

By Ahmed M A

Aug 20, 2020

I wish all other programming languages had courses on the same level of professionalism, love & dedication as what is put into this course. We need something like this for all other programming languages.

By Amrit K

Jul 6, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. The most powerful aspect of this course is its simplicity and Runestone Interactive. Now I am very well accustomed with strings, lists, tuples and various methods for them.

By Cheah J

Jul 3, 2020

For anyone who is interested to take up Python, this is the course for you. The CodeLens feature is especially helpful for students who have problems understanding the working processes of an interpreter.

By Sherwin B

Feb 17, 2021

Truly a fantastic learning experience! The material is presented in such a clear, easy to understand and fun way. It just makes learning enjoyable and addictive, in a way. The Runestone textbook is GOLD!

By PULKIT G

Aug 29, 2020

Great course! learned the basics of python very well. It helped in building the basics strong and build the confidence of learning more and more. Looking forward to the next course in the specialization!

By Wilson R V

Jan 9, 2021

An excelent course, thanks a lot, professors from the University of Michigan, for teaching Python and making it so easy to understand. Also thanks to Coursera for allowing this content on the platform.

By Nils W

Mar 22, 2019

Great course to start with Python. The additional digital book is great with the practise module in it. For me it was a little to basic, and some explained codes are strange. I can´t see the use of it.

By Gabriele M

Sep 18, 2020

Basic course, very well eplained. For those who are a little more experienced, in some situations it may seems boring, but a review never hurts. What hurts instead is the humor of a certain professor.

By Diksha T K

Dec 8, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

By Nick E

Nov 24, 2020

This is a great course for getting started in Python. If you have (even rusty) programming skills, it might seem a little slow in places. Trust me, pay attention - you will still learn new things.

By Kristian H

Jun 22, 2020

Great course which does not allow you to not learn python !! Highly recommended for anyone who wants to understand and learn useful programming, the interactions are well structured and well fitted

By Devnandan K

Aug 9, 2020

It was really a fantastic course, my first ever online course. I enjoyed taking this course and have learned almost all the basic concepts of Python. The lectures were so good through the course.

By Nestor L D F

Jun 23, 2020

This course teaches you not only the basics of programming in Python, but also teaches you the right way to approach problems by thinking analytically, both in programming and in everyday life.

By Silver C

Sep 19, 2020

I learned all the basic coding skills with this course! Strongly recommended. I had previous experience coding with python, but after this course, my knowledge and skills have increased a lot!

By Ankur B

Mar 15, 2020

It was wonder full course with world class facility. if you are keen to learn something new technology with full concept, this is the best platform. Learn and build a better world tomorrow !!!

By Sherlyn H

Oct 15, 2020

The class is very basic. Excellent for people without a programming background. Slow for those who do, but you can skip through concepts you already understand. The exercises are very useful.

By Dusan L

Jun 15, 2020

I really like this course. It's simple enough to be easy to follow, but serious enough to actually learn things. The e-book tool is of enormous help. I really liked it. Keep up the good work!

By Johnal D

May 13, 2020

Truely, an amazing learning experience; Paul Resnick and Steve Oney you made the concepts so easy to understand and the practice assignment made it very easy to understand the basic concepts.

By Nadine L

May 2, 2020

great for beginners but the textbook is good but i would like to have a PDF textbook for practice offline and need more exercises on debugging during the 4 week trail and the official course.

By Rohit D

Jul 5, 2019

Great course to learn the basics of Python. Loved the instructors and loved the detail-oriented lectures and learning material. Would highly recommend to anyone serious about learning Python.

By Marvin M

Aug 18, 2020

Excellent course, being able to test your programming skills while you advance thru the class is really critical feature that distinguishes this course from other online programming courses.