Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,646 ratings
5,715 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3851 - 3875 of 5,665 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Krishna B S

Dec 30, 2018

This is an excellent course for laying strong foundation for data science skill-set.

The course assignments are very thorough and reference/further reading resources are very handy.

Many thanks for this.

By Yi-Hsuan L

Jun 22, 2018

The structure of the course could be more organised (the current content is more scattered). In that way, the content could be more understandable for people who are not that experienced in python coding.

By Sopan S

Jan 30, 2017

The course content is great - Prof Christopher seriously made justice to the content. He is great instructor. He has presented course in right manner, with right speed.

Looking for more courses from Him.

By Avadhoot K

Feb 14, 2020

The entire explanation of each topic is good but it is too fast. There should be more number of examples for each topic and for various cases. Other than that, It was very beneficiary for me. Thank you!!

By Graham K

Aug 17, 2021

Great introduction to Python, a few strange buggy bits and the autograding/feedback is sometimes not very helpful for actually figuring out what you did wrong. The discussion forums are useful for that.

By Akash S

Jan 7, 2020

Really loved working on the assignments from the course, it was really helpful for me to learn by doing things practically, however the course video content could improve thus giving it a 4 star rating.

By Ah Q

May 28, 2017

The explanation and content in teaching video is too brief for the assignment. It cannot not provide sufficient concept and knowledge for student to complete it, especially who not familiar with pandas.

By Andrew Y F L Y

Mar 7, 2017

Thank you for the very elaborate and very beginner's course. The difficulty quickly ramps up and the questions within an assignment often differs substantially. This can be seen as both a pro and a con.

By Sourav P

Aug 15, 2018

Great Course.!The assignment problems should have been more comprehensive. The auto-grader needs more getting used to. Should introduce practice notebooks to consolidate the concepts being worked upon.

By Edwin A A

Sep 14, 2017

Very good course.

This is somewhat complex, prior knowledge of python is a must. There is an interesting gap between lessons and practical exercises but with some reading is possible to solve everything

By Ayesha N

Aug 15, 2020

I found this course appealing because it was more practical based.it helped me alot in getting hands on experience and most of all I have learned how to solve real world problem with python libraries

By PRUDHIVI R K S

Aug 12, 2020

Assignments are way tougher than what is taught in the class, but they are challenging and the help in discussion forums is speechless. Without that, completion of assignments will take too much time.

By Martin F

Apr 12, 2018

Good course but at times very tedious assignments that require a lot of independent trouble shooting and stamina that someone with little programming experience may not have. Anyway, very interesting!

By benabbou f z

May 18, 2020

super hard course I enjoyed it but the thing that I didn't like specially when this is supposed to be the learning phase the assignments were hard and it sometimes pushes you to look for the solution

By Saurabh S

Jun 3, 2019

Christopher Brooks was exceptional but the other guy was going too fast.

Overall it was a good course. The assignments weren't too tough but the assignment's language made it unnecessarily look tough.

By Daniel d P F R

Aug 25, 2017

The course is good but the oral explanations are at times very tiresome. A more constructive approach in which the explanations are followed by step-by-step examples whould be far better.

Best regards

By Mohamed E

Jul 27, 2020

Quizzes were very challenging and interesting. I learned alot. The main drawback in this course is that the materials are insufficient to answer the assignments.And some questions were not so clear.

By Patricia B

Jan 4, 2019

Excellent content and up-to-date material. Dont get 5th star because despite very well crafted Exams, there are evidently some problems with explanations and the "grader" ends up being too restrict.

By Vikrant T

Jul 2, 2020

Assignments are tough compared to the course lecture material. Therefore, alot of self learning is required other than the lectures. There should be more study material covered in the course videos

By Syed I S

Jan 22, 2020

The speaker is so dull, And the way he speaks doesn't motivate one to learn the things with interested. The speaker of the videos should be the one who speaks passionately about what he is saying..

By Kyle L

Mar 12, 2018

A very nice introduction to libraries/skills used by data scientists. The auto-grader was extremely annoying though. Also, I felt that some of the questions on the assignments were a bit ambiguous.

By Kirk H

Jan 23, 2018

Massive learning curve. I was going to recommend this course as an intro to Python/Pandas to my colleagues but the content ramps up too fast for those with only introductory programming knowledge.

By Fernando B M

Mar 26, 2018

Loved it! Exercises were really interesting. A bit too dense at some points till the point i had to go back several times on some videos. The jupyter notebooks to follow the lessons are brilliant!

By Richard N B A

Nov 19, 2016

Although the tests can be a bit fiddly, this is a great course if you already have a bit of background with Python and/or data cleaning. Lecture and tutorial videos are lean and information-dense.

By Wasim I

Feb 8, 2021

The videos provided by this course is very good for learning the basics of data science and we really do not need prior knowledge of python just need to be familiar with any programming language.