Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,680 ratings
5,721 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 5,673 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Illia K

Nov 24, 2017

It was my first python experience ever, so it was hard. But the course materials are very well described and detailed, so if you are motivated enough - you definitely can do it and enjoy it. Also all knowleges are applicable to real life since the very first week, so this course is really helpfull. Highly recommend!

By Neo Y X

Dec 27, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the entire learning experience- I took the course with minimal familiarity with the pandas package, but am not much more confident with Pandas. While the weekly assignments are tough (expect to spend hours on them), the forum has been very helpful in addressing any queries. Thanks for the course!

By Shomari M

Nov 10, 2018

Great introductory course to using python for a (more or less) full data science project ! Of course much more can be done, but this course serves as a good intro Numpy, Pandas and some basic statistical operations from SciPy that build a solid foundation for expanding on the data science process in other courses.

By S. M

Mar 12, 2022

This is a great course, loved the assignments.

Assignment 3 is not a 3 hour work at all, it's quite time consuming. Please review the recommended time for this Assignment, 3 hours is very misleading.

A huge thanks to Yusuf Ertas and Jimmy Kumar Ahalpara for prompt reply to all my questions. Especially Yusuf Ertas

By Changyu G

Apr 19, 2019

A quick introduction to Python and Data Science. The assignments are not as easy as you might think. To those who feel the assignment of Week 4 daunting, keep going -- data cleaning per se is not a difficult task yet a somewhat tedious one.

Thanks to the course team. I shall continue towards the following courses.

By Nathaniel S

Nov 26, 2017

I'd been hacking with pandas for a while, but I never felt I'd truly grasped it. In fact, I'd often switch to using multi-dimesional numpy arrays instead of dataframes. After taking this course, I now fully understand how to use pandas dataframes and will be using them regularly for data analysis going forward.

By James N

Apr 21, 2020

Great course. I feel like I learned a lot of new information and can start working on my own projects. It would have been nice to have access to some of the instructor or expert solutions to see how my solutions compared but I would assume they do not want to post them to maintain the integrity of the course.

By Yoshan W

Oct 8, 2021

This was my first. Hence I had my doubts on how it's going to work and will it be effective as face-to-face education. Having the course completed, now I'm very satisfied on what I gained and learnt through this course. Forums and active participation and quick responses from the instructors were a great help.

By Andrew W

Feb 2, 2020

Outstandingly well composed and presented in every way. The inclusion of an actual programming environment that actually verifies your efforts is incredibly rewarding - far more so than having to complete a three multiple choice questions and discussion to pass an entire course! Cannot recommend highly enough.

By Juan M A

Jan 30, 2020

The course teach me a lot. I didn't have previous experience in Python so it was quite challenging. It gave me solid foundation to start learning more about Data Analysis in Python.

However, from time to time, I found the Assignments very challenging and I need to search a lot in outside sources to complete.

By Benjamin S

Jul 18, 2017

This was a really interesting course. The homeworks were very challenging and took longer than I anticipated, but because of this, I learned a lot. The only complaint I would say is that I posted a question on the forum and never received a response. I wish there was a better way to get questions answered.

By Indranil G

May 5, 2018

I am an undergraduate Physics student who intends to delve into the remarkable field of Data Science and Machine learning. I think this course is an absolute beauty to beginners like me. I am glad that I found this course. The lectures are wonderfully delivered and each and every concept is nicely explained.

By Karina C F

Jun 5, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It did not only helped me to enhance my knowledge in python, it also improved my logical reasoning. This course has definitely aided me to develop my professional skills and broaden my knowledge about what a data scientist do. I just wish it had an upgraded version of Jupyter.

By VARUN V

Nov 1, 2019

Very good course. The Instructor is very good at explaining the concepts. The content in the assignments was very well chosen and help in getting a better understanding of the concepts. The teaching assistant was also good at explaining. All in all a very good introductory course... definitely recommended!

By Javier F N V

May 8, 2022

This is an excellent course to get introduced to pandas by completing practical assignments. Python and basic statistics are required. Assignments on weeks 3 and 4 take longer than three hours. Almost all the course is self-contained, some specific topics should be searched online to complete assignments.

By T.V.S T

Jul 19, 2020

This is one of the best course for a beginner in data science. The assignments provided and the quality of information provided and the emphasis on self learning, making familiar us with websites like StackOverflow and GitHub and Geeks for geeks which are some of the top websites in this programming world

By KEE K X

Jun 17, 2020

This course enables me to practice a lot on my programming skills. This course emphasise a lot on hands-on exercise and require abundant amount of self-learning over the network. The friends and teaching staff in the discussion forum are also friendly and the forum is so useful in solving the assignments.

By Shuyi Y

Feb 25, 2017

Great course in hands-on experience with Python on data analytics. Before the class, I took a intro class to Python in my school covering basic commands, and thought this Coursera course would be kind of easy. But it turned out to be a very intensive one. I take more than 6 hours to complete the homework.

By Muhammad F N

Jun 9, 2021

An Intermediate level course. you must have prior grip on python in order to expertly understand and employ this in to practice. Overall the course is Highly detailed with each and every thing elaborated and the disussion forum is very responsive. Loooking forward to use these skills in my future Career.

By Hung N

Aug 14, 2020

One excellent class to start understand and practicing Python's numpy and pandas. The instruction and course structure are great. I really like the assignment because they gave me chance to use the code syntax/knowledge I just learned. If your job involve working with data, I highly recommend this class.

By Robert M

Feb 24, 2019

This is a fantastic introduction to Data Science using Python. It's challenging enough and I love the way Jupyter has been integrated to help with assignments. I love the fact that they encourage using independent research to solve some of the problems as this is a critical skill for any data scientist.

By Pawan K P

Apr 26, 2020

This Course is very challenging and assignments very tricky. It covers lot of thing regarding python. Just one suggestion I know this course was not for beginners however Please try to give more explanation in video. Discussion Forum was Fantastic. Solved many doubts and explain the program in detail.

By XL T

Apr 20, 2020

very good course. It requires a lot of self learning, I think that is also the core of online education. However, the python assignment has some trivial problems. like in some cases, I already have the obvious right answer, but the system has judge it incorrectly, and just have no idea what's going on.

By Zeev S

Jan 17, 2017

This is the best ever of all courses I took on MOOC. It was well prepared, Clear, fast paced, informational, challenging, and with appropriate exercises. Sometime I had to pool my hair to get things done and spent a lot of time, but it was fun and worthwhile. I thank Christopher Brooks and the team.

I

By Manisana N

Jun 23, 2021

Its Awesome To Take This Course.What I AM Interesting Is To Give US More Suitable Lecturers And Questions Based On The Course.Anyway,I Am Reallly Happy To Take The Course From One Of The Popular University (University Of Michigan).I AM Really Enjoying This Course .Lastly,Thanks To All The Professors.