Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,652 ratings
5,715 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3626 - 3650 of 5,666 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Omar E R L

Dec 16, 2019

Fue uno de los cursos más retadores, pero más satisfactorios que he tenido la oportunidad de tomar en una plataforma en línea. Sí, requiere mucha investigación por parte del usuario y algunos de sus incisos requieren mayor dedicación que un curso introductorio, pero las recompensas se vuelven sumamente fortuitas al final. ¡Saludos y éxitos desde El Salvador!

By FLAVIO M R I

Dec 13, 2019

O curso apresenta de maneira objetiva os conceitos das estruturas de dados com Python, utilizando aulas bem estruturadas, excelentes exemplos e tarefas desafiadoras. Poderia ter um material de apoio um pouco mais elaborado, como alguns resumos dos comandos apresentados em cada aula, para facilitar a execução das tarefas e organização das ideias apresentadas.

By Tristan D H

Feb 1, 2019

Excellent introduction to the subject with comprehensive example code and solid assignments. I personally avoided most of the optional writing prompts as the anonymous feedback received from other students on the first such assignment was not constructive. I would recommend the optional readings and outside information though, it is quite thought provoking.

By Shourya P

Mar 6, 2017

Some topics are very difficult since many of the concepts are outside of what was thought in the lectures so one has to do a lot of research outside of the website. This takes up a lot of time and is way more than the estimated time for each part of the course. I did find excellent help available on the forum. Overall, a very challenging yet fun course.

By Fernando S

Feb 21, 2020

This was a good course in the sense that I learned a lot. I would have expected more detailed explanations from the teacher, because I did not know anything about Pandas. But at the same time, that forced me to research in order to be able to make the assignments. I don´t know if the fast covering of the subjects by the teacher has that in mind or not

By Ria S

Feb 24, 2019

Learnt a lot. However, I would credit the helpful answers in the discussion forums behind that. The course material was simple and basic. But not enough to support solving the assessment exercises.

For someone, who had no background to Python/Pandas I had to spend a LOT more time than what I estimated I would be spending at the beginning of the course.

By Jamol B

Jul 26, 2020

Learned a lot in the course, Prof. Brooks is awesome. Last assignment was difficult due to lack of clarification. Task description was different from description of the objective of the run_ttest() function. in the former, it says quarter_before_price to recession_bottom_price, in the latter it says recession_start_price to recession_bottom_price.

By Omar M

Mar 3, 2019

Great course. Just needs a little time to get used to the pace, specially when they explain you examples and start typing the code. I had to slow down the "playback speed" and also try each step on the Notebook side by side. Not to discredit the course in any way. Just that it was my first attempt at such a course after 30 years. I am a bit rusty.

By McKay H

Nov 17, 2017

The video instruction and content is excellent. My one complaint is that there is enough ambiguity to the assignments to where you must read the forums if you want to pass. I would like to see some refinement in the assignment descriptions. Otherwise the assignments are great for getting the experience you are looking for in a class like this.

By Simon W

Dec 18, 2016

It is an interesting course. I would say this course expects more from students than other courses. It does not take you by the hand in working with Pandas. For the assignments you will spend a lot of time in the Pandas documentation and Stack Overflow. I don't know about others, but this lead to my code being very clunky and not Pandorable code.

By Hanieh M

May 1, 2020

Thank you for the intriguing course.

Please revise the description of the run_ttest() of the assignement four. In the header of the assignemnt, the ratio is defined as (price_ratio=quarter_before_recession/recession_bottom). However, in the body of the run_ttest() , it is described as (price_ratio=quarter that recession starts/recession_bottom).

By Payani S M

Jan 4, 2018

While the course lecture material might be thought to be just Intro and i expected more on the lecture part. The assignments are really of good standard and really make you do the homework and research on your own to complete. so at the end of the course you do feel more comfortable and confident on the skills gained albeit at the beginner level

By Tim K

Jul 8, 2018

Overall, the course provide good background information on using python numpy and pandas. The assignment were helpful in applying the course knowledge. Unfortunately, some of the assignment instructions were vague which made completing the assignment harder. Had to consult the discussion forums for help on completing several of the assignments.

By TANVIR M T

Jul 8, 2020

This course will not be my most favorite course but it has a knack for making the students work hard to get to the longed point. i had to do a lot of study outside of it and it paid off. I lacked total guidance on python before starting the course too. And I kinda hit two pots at once. This course will teach you more than they have promised.

By Andreas L

Feb 19, 2021

Great course! If you want to learn more about NumPy and Pandas, this is the course that introduces those libraries. Be patient with the assignments. Even though you think you have the correct code, the autograder sometimes disagree. Dealing with this problem, there is a lot of help to get in the discussion forums. Great instructors as well.

By Bai S Y

Jul 13, 2020

Challenging course with little hand-holding and some independent learning is expected. Marking for assignments was needlessly stringent (e.g. numpy float vs python float) and expectations of answers was not very clearly outlined. Had to trawl through the forums. Nonetheless, very good exposure to pandas for someone just getting into python.

By Miriam K

Apr 25, 2018

The lecture content is rather short and you have to search a lot on your own. I like the assignments at the end of each week, completing them helped me to understand what I am learning. Good introduction to frameworks, pandas and in general analyzing data in Python. It's quite a lot of work but when you finish, you can be really satisfied.

By sunita p

Nov 21, 2021

Some of the assignment questions are difficult understand without the help of course coordinator. I appreciate the help from course coordinators in guiding to understand the question. It was my first course in the series of Python and I could follow everything it was tought. But I am not happy with the short time assigned for the course.

By Harpreet S

Aug 3, 2017

The course is a must-do for a person new to Python, however it ramps up very quickly. I had done another python course before doing this, which helped me do this one. The assignments were challenging in my perspective; however cracking the exercises gives one lot of confidence. Forum discussions helped me a lot to complete the assignments

By Sasanka K

Feb 9, 2018

This is a very impressive course for someone who wants to get an intro to data operation in Python. The assignments are very well laid out. The automatic grader gives good insights of what may have gone wrong.

One thing though- there could have been more concentration (especially in the assignments) on grouping and slicing the datasets.

By George V

Dec 12, 2016

Spent more time figuring out what was being asked in the assignment rather than solving the assignment. Typos in assignment questions led to wasted hours without understanding why the grader kept rejecting solutions. Course content was useful and I would recommend if you are willing to live through the pain of the assignment submission.

By Kim N

Mar 24, 2019

I'm very new to python and the course has been pretty helpful. The format of having the notebook to walk through the course is also helpful. The course's assignments are pretty good too - but could be improved. Some of the instructions are vague/conflicting and I had to spend a lot of time figuring out / confirming the question intent.

By David C

Feb 27, 2018

First, I would like to say thank you. I learned a lot about pandas/numpy via practising in the assignments.

The assignment content is very good. But the guide and program checker are so poor (as other students mentioned in their reviews). I wouldn't pass the the assignment if I didn't read a lot of tricks/explanations from the forum.

By Kent R

Dec 30, 2017

Solid course. Still very challenging without more pointers on basic syntax. There are a few inconsistencies in python that makes debugging challenging - and I don't know what to do about that. Otherwise, the course achieved the goals.

One thing that would help would be more testing on basic knowledge of how to access panda dataframes

By Zbigniew M

May 1, 2017

frankly, it takes a lot of searching information on one's own, outside of this course.

I raked my brains for the most of Saturday and Sunday and finished two last assigments although I still don't feel strong in pandas, neither there is much material left here for me to come back and review something step by step in a systematic way.