Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,143 ratings
5,612 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

3776 - 3800 of 5,559 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Matthew M

Nov 4, 2017

Lectures are VERY dense with material. I needed to pause the video and study the learning point (using jupyter notebook and Python API) to absorb it. That said, I was new to Python, which also slowed me down.

By Victor E

Jul 17, 2017

The course is fantastic. Lectures are clear and informative. Assignments are well-designed and encourage studying. Grader is not great, this adds up to frustration and reduces the overall score for the course.

By Lajos P

Sep 4, 2020

Felt like a real college course in that more learning occurred outside of the lectures.. I'm excited to see what the new course version will include, it looks promising based off what they say will be added.

By Tushar T

May 14, 2020

The course is really good and easy to learn. Only thing is that the content is less. Maybe because it's just the introduction. But overall, course is good and one really get to learn basic about data science.

By Paresh B

Dec 17, 2017

This course is amazing. Explanation are good. Assignments really provide some exciting challenges which create curiosity to find multiple ways of achieving a result. Looking forward for same with next course.

By SANKET P

Apr 7, 2020

It's a bit fast-paced for new learners nut is a perfect way to dive into the applied world of python for intermediate learners. I would highly recommend this course(12/10).

Thanks for the AWESOME experience!

By Aminath K G

Aug 1, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed it. The pace for week 3 and 4 were a bit fast given that it was 1 month course (at least for me, as someone with full-time job). I look forward to playing around with Pandas and Numpy.

By BIJOY K G

Jun 23, 2020

It was an interesting course i came to learn a lot of new things under python like how to use the pandas, Matplot and Numpy libaries. It has taught me how the data are being process under the pandas libary.

By Shashwat D

May 9, 2020

This course is quiet hard as compared to Python 3 specialization courses. Use of interactive textbook just like in Python 3 course would have been better along with jupyter notebook. Course content is good.

By CW G

May 19, 2019

i find this to be a great follow up from the Python for Everyone course. The course introduces python functions which are commonly used in data analysis and the course assignments are practical and useful.

By Prathamesh P

Feb 7, 2017

Very well structured course. I would really appreciate if there are more video lectures. For someone like who is not from CS background, self-study topics can get really difficult.

Apart from that loved it.

By Ali M

Sep 2, 2020

This course is a great introduction for the basics of data cleaning, searching and proving hypothesis. The main con is that sometime the question in an assignment isn't that clear, but overall, thumbs up.

By Krishna B S

Dec 30, 2018

This is an excellent course for laying strong foundation for data science skill-set.

The course assignments are very thorough and reference/further reading resources are very handy.

Many thanks for this.

By Yi-Hsuan L

Jun 22, 2018

The structure of the course could be more organised (the current content is more scattered). In that way, the content could be more understandable for people who are not that experienced in python coding.

By Sopan S

Jan 30, 2017

The course content is great - Prof Christopher seriously made justice to the content. He is great instructor. He has presented course in right manner, with right speed.

Looking for more courses from Him.

By Avadhoot K

Feb 14, 2020

The entire explanation of each topic is good but it is too fast. There should be more number of examples for each topic and for various cases. Other than that, It was very beneficiary for me. Thank you!!

By Graham K

Aug 17, 2021

Great introduction to Python, a few strange buggy bits and the autograding/feedback is sometimes not very helpful for actually figuring out what you did wrong. The discussion forums are useful for that.

By Akash S

Jan 7, 2020

Really loved working on the assignments from the course, it was really helpful for me to learn by doing things practically, however the course video content could improve thus giving it a 4 star rating.

By Ah Q

May 28, 2017

The explanation and content in teaching video is too brief for the assignment. It cannot not provide sufficient concept and knowledge for student to complete it, especially who not familiar with pandas.

By Andrew Y F L Y

Mar 7, 2017

Thank you for the very elaborate and very beginner's course. The difficulty quickly ramps up and the questions within an assignment often differs substantially. This can be seen as both a pro and a con.

By Sourav P

Aug 15, 2018

Great Course.!The assignment problems should have been more comprehensive. The auto-grader needs more getting used to. Should introduce practice notebooks to consolidate the concepts being worked upon.

By Edwin A A

Sep 14, 2017

Very good course.

This is somewhat complex, prior knowledge of python is a must. There is an interesting gap between lessons and practical exercises but with some reading is possible to solve everything

By Ayesha N

Aug 15, 2020

I found this course appealing because it was more practical based.it helped me alot in getting hands on experience and most of all I have learned how to solve real world problem with python libraries

By PRUDHIVI R K S

Aug 12, 2020

Assignments are way tougher than what is taught in the class, but they are challenging and the help in discussion forums is speechless. Without that, completion of assignments will take too much time.

By Martin F

Apr 12, 2018

Good course but at times very tedious assignments that require a lot of independent trouble shooting and stamina that someone with little programming experience may not have. Anyway, very interesting!