Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,848 ratings
5,560 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

3876 - 3900 of 5,507 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Ravva A K

Jul 23, 2019

if anyone want to learn data science through practical approach then with no second thought enrol to this course .

thanks to cousera for providing me financial aid.

By Kaya Ö

Apr 15, 2019

Most of the work is on your shoulders, I think it needs more practice session on pandas. Wes McKinney's book are strongly recommended for help through the course.

By Prabhsimar S

Oct 14, 2017

It took a lot of self-study, practice and much more hard work than expected at start of course. But at the same time it increased my knowledge manifold. Worth it!

By Kapil C

Aug 11, 2017

The course structure was very good! Assignments were exciting although a one or two questions were not so clear. But the discussion forum was awesome and helpful!

By Timothy O

Apr 30, 2017

Great course! Some of the homework questions seemed a little ambiguous but I was able to find clarification in the course discussion. All in all I learned a lot.

By afsane h

Mar 10, 2021

This course is wonderful! I think its a good practice for those having some experience with python's pandas and numpy library, to make their a solid foundation.

By Christopher S

Jan 23, 2021

I would say an advanced level of python understanding is required. The assignments are very difficult however you do learn a lot about python and it's libraries.

By VIRAJ V P

May 29, 2020

This is my first online course the course has indeed helped me to master data science and the assignments are quite good based on self learing more

Thank you...!

By Zhuang Q

Nov 6, 2019

This course taught me a lot about pandas. However, the difficulty of the assignment didn't match the content of the lecture. It is too difficult for a new comer.

By morten o j

Feb 10, 2018

Steep intro, can be tricky to understand, the requested format of the responses. The autograder is not always verbose enough...

Good learning experience otherwise

By Dr. K A K

Oct 18, 2017

Good course - fast paced and needs a lot of self learning from the web to get through the challenging assignments. Be prepared to spend good time on this course.

By NASHA A

Jul 24, 2019

I think it would be more interesting to include more diagram/map mapping instead of lecturer's image all the way from the beginning till the end of each lesson.

By Muhammad H J

Jun 3, 2020

the course is fine. But the videos are too short and the instructor speaks so fast. Overall it gives a good introduction to the python pandas and data science.

By Michael L

Aug 18, 2019

Great course! By this time of August 2019, it is a bit dated. I wish University of Michigan would update it with current project and updated version of Pandas.

By Danny P

Feb 20, 2017

The course was structured well, there were a lot of assignments that really help with learning pandas. The lectures were ok, could've been a bit longer though.

By Mikael F

Dec 11, 2016

Very good intro into how to use Pandas for working with data sets and get insights from your data by using various aggregating functions and statistical tests.

By Yufan L

Jul 11, 2019

the assignment is discounted from the lecture, it is way harder. But I learnt the most from the assignment and the forum. Overall, it improved my skill a lot!

By Chris R

Jan 12, 2019

Sometimes my time was spent trying to get to grips with the ambiguity of the question. this was quite often frustrating, but overall good course, learn a lot.

By Kristin K

Sep 20, 2017

A challenging and fast moving course. I recommend studying up on basic python before taking the course and to pause the videos often to understand each piece.

By Adelson D

Feb 12, 2017

The course is very good to introduce people with pandas usage, however, the autograder and little data issues on the assignments costs a lot of learning time.

By Xuening H

Jan 8, 2020

The assignments is awesome!

But it requires too much self learning.

The course will be better if the professor can teach a little bit more about the functions~

By Dalton P

Dec 28, 2017

Excellent instructor with high level talk that goes into the details just enough. Recommended to have some programming experience but you can get by without.

By Syahrul F G

Jul 14, 2020

The course explained in brief, rich in theory but not much in practice, so a lot more individual learning is needed more than the time taking of this course

By Bryan R

May 26, 2019

This course is a fairly good introduction. Expect to spend a good amount of time searching forums for guidance on completing some of the weekly assignments.

By Deleted A

Apr 22, 2018

The coursework was amazing but if the student start without having strong python knowledge, it can turn out to be very difficult especially the assignments.