Chevron Left
Back to Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
10,671 ratings
1,388 reviews

About the Course

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Informative course
(132 Reviews)
Relevant project
(132 Reviews)

Top reviews

BC
Apr 28, 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

JC
May 25, 2017

I found this course a little bit easier that some of the previous courses, however, it allowed me to gain experience managing a larger projects that encompass several languages and multiple programs.

Filter by:

1276 - 1300 of 1,356 Reviews for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

By Marcel F

Jan 2, 2018

Interesting, but just scratching the surface of processing and visualization.

By Wai S C

Nov 4, 2019

This course is not as useful and valuable as the previous courses.

By Parv T

Nov 1, 2019

Better if we had to code ourselves rather then using written codes

By Carmen T

May 9, 2016

I really didn't learn much. Too much code, too complex, too fast.

By Ravjot S

Jun 19, 2020

This course had no code writing, which made it kind of boring.

By Artem N

Jan 8, 2020

Nothing to create by ourselves but a lot of apps just to run

By Mcvean S

Jun 19, 2020

It is a good capstone, but it is very time consuming!

By Radoslaw

Aug 10, 2019

mostly using a prepared scripts, not much learning

By Iulian D

Sep 29, 2016

Nice course, yet more hands on work was expected.

By Roman P

Apr 22, 2018

Not enough practice and pythonic visualization

By Ignacio A G H

Jan 11, 2019

Really basic but the material is good

By Salah E

Jun 28, 2020

there is nothing new in this course

By Leonardo B L

Nov 10, 2017

Could have more hands-on exercises.

By Ankush V

Jun 28, 2018

Assignments could be a lot better

By Hoda M

Nov 2, 2019

too easy assignments, no points!

By Rohit K S

Oct 13, 2016

Could have been more hands on.

By Sorokin A

Jun 20, 2018

too easy for final capstone.

By Karttikeya M

Dec 4, 2016

It is a very light course!

By Weerachai Y

Jun 23, 2020

thanks

By Weidong X

Feb 27, 2017

good.

By Mandaliya H

Jul 12, 2020

good

By Alan M R

Jan 10, 2018

As an experienced programmer, I am disappointed. The assignments cover a good set of tools; the capstone project. Overall, the course is well structured; content switches between running a sample project and a student project. Collaberation is encouraged. Unfortunately, the example project is poorly written and buggy. I finally lost confidence in the instructor when I saw circular programming in program gmodel.py between function "fixsender" and array "mapping". The student selected project was entirely optional. There are comments in the forums from students pointing out bugs; other comments stated that the course's exercises left commenters unable to perform the final, capstone project. Overall, the presentation looks rushed and unpolished. Example code looks like it was hobbled together until it worked and never edited for clarity. If someone I cared about wanted examples of good programming, I would tell them to avoid this.

By Maytat L

Apr 21, 2020

The specialization has been great so far until this last course.

This course divides into two tracks: Normal and Honors.

Normal just simply let you complete 20+ multiple choice quiz based on knowledge in the specialization. Then you earn a certificate.

Honors track is what I disliked. Assignment lets you simply run the codes provided by the professor and get in peer-reviews. You just run it, that's all for the honors certificate. It makes sense to just run it because the professor's codes in this course were ways beyond our knowledge gained through the specialization. They were like 5 times longer and more complex. It took me days to figure out a few lines of codes but eventually you no need to understand any of it, just run it.

The improvement for the course would be bringing the codes difficulty down and let us actually edit them for the assignments.

By Cornelia C

May 29, 2020

This is my least favourite course in the specialisation. It was easy to get the certificate as it involved a test that covered principles of the previous 4 courses, which was absolutely fine. When I started course 5 I was very keen to do the honours programme - as a test of my new knowledge and a challenge of pulling together all that I have learnt in a practical project. But as I watched the first few videos, and looked at what was required I decided that the Capstone won't do that for me. It seemed like a lot of given code again (as I experiences in Course 3 with the Twitter URL and API), and merely having to run the code. I then decided not to complete the Capstone, and rather look for something where I can reinforce all my learnings. I honestly loved all that I learnt, but felt a bit let down by the ending.

By Muratcan A

Jan 5, 2018

I think this capstone course was very rushed and did not actually teach much. It gave me a lot of material (the pre-written codes) to analyze and study, though. And I'm glad for that. However the assignments were little more than "print this, press enter, take screenshot". i.e. no coding involved - which was a disappointment. I have mixed feelings about this course. I had higher expectations. The codes will be very useful, I will be studying them to really nit-pick and understand them and learn all about the functions etc. which are new to me. Other than that I'm actually not very happy about this final course of the specialization. The specialization overall was great, but it was like a great movie with a cheap ending - no climax. Sorry :)