Chevron Left
Back to Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
11,387 ratings
1,473 reviews

About the Course

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Informative course
(132 Reviews)
Relevant project
(132 Reviews)

Top reviews

BC
Apr 28, 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

JC
May 25, 2017

I found this course a little bit easier that some of the previous courses, however, it allowed me to gain experience managing a larger projects that encompass several languages and multiple programs.

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,440 Reviews for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

By Ishika s

Jun 8, 2020

good

By Keerthivasan R

Dec 1, 2018

good

By Koikala S

Nov 2, 2018

good

By Arun K

Apr 21, 2017

u

By Anuj D

May 19, 2020

The complete specialization is good but there is disappointment from the this last capstone course.You will learn nothing new from this course. I thought we would be developing project from scratch but there is nothing like that. You have to just run else's code and just post the screen shot

This course is basically divided into 2 parts.

1. The specialization part which has only 1 quiz in week 1 which is summary of previous courses and that's it. You will get course certificate and the specialization certificate(if all previous courses are completed).

2. The optional Honors Certificate which you will get if you complete 3 optional peer graded assignments. You have to just run some given code and post the screen shot.

The peer graded assignments sometimes require 3 days to be graded by staff. So if you are doing the honors certificate submit the assignment 3 days before due date and be patient. You will surely get your grade.

By Francisco S C C

Oct 21, 2020

For a finale to this wonderful series of courses, I must say that I ended up incredibly disapointed with this final course. The only mandatory stuff to do is a simple quizz, and the honors material is just awful. There's absolutely no challenge in these assignments, and you spend hours downloading data just to take some screenshots! In addition, the only assignment that had an "extra challenge", which encourage us to mess with some code, had already the answer in the zip file we needed to download! I hope they fix these problems, and enable a more interesting capstone (like teaching us how to develop an app with everything we already know, etc..)!

By Christopher W

Jul 2, 2018

Starts strong but gets a little light with actual coding towards the end. You will need to be very dedicated in tracing existing code to get anything out of those sections, otherwise you are just running programs that already exist and taking a screen shot of them...not much learning for that. You will always only get as much out of a class as you put in, but this class will make it tempting to let you get by with minimal effort and perhaps confuse you to think you are actually learning. Nothing beats hands on programing and problem solving.

By Tong L

Nov 11, 2019

trying to interactively make it "creatively research on new approach" with capstone

too different from all previous courses of the "Getting start of python" course

and did not manage the audience/ user / student expectation on this final course

eventually spent too much time waiting for capstone and just finish it asap with a few minutes

the last few course "puzzle solving" style are better for non university credit course which we just want to learn some new skills

By Roberto H C

Jun 5, 2018

The Capstone project consists in basically running the existing Search Engine and Mailbox visualization codes, without going into detail of neither the algorithms nor the Python code involved in them. The video lectures add little value as they simply skim through the surface of the code.

The student isn't required to write any original code or solve any problems on his own.

This doesn't feel like a project as much as taking some code and making it work.

By Caroline

Nov 18, 2019

This last course was good, however I preferred the other ones. In particular, I didn't liked the fact that you have to wait a long time before your assignments get graded, and therefore you have to pay more money for the renewal of your subscription. The teacher is very good and really helps you to get in touch with the basics of data processing and visualization. To sum up, I recommend the course, but I think that some aspects need to be improved.

By Doug S

Jun 26, 2018

I really enjoyed this specialization over the span of classes taught. I definitely learned a ton about python as well as a smattering of other languages - and about how to integrate them. I would recommend the specialization with the exception of the capstone. I loved the projects in terms of the output, but what I wanted was a consolidation of what I learned through the course; some projects to really tie things together.

By Eszter S

Aug 8, 2017

This course is basically a walkthrough through Dr. Chucks programs. The code might be useful for further projects. The assessments were very easy, you do not need any knowledge on the topics, you only need to know how to run files basically... It would be better if they asked you to write something similar and to build a project guided step by step instead of just showing the result.

By Abbas J

Oct 18, 2020

This was the weakest course in the Python for Everybody specialization. One reason was that the instructor time was minimal. The other was that the capstone project should be built in steps, with each step being a peer-graded assignments.

There should have been multiple quizzes of the same duration as the final one. This specialization requires more than 25 MCQs as it's final exam.

By Natasha J

Feb 14, 2019

I really liked the previous courses on this specialization and the teacher is super good in explaining. I have learned some things during this course too but I would have appreciated it more if I needed to write some (small) parts of code myself in order to pass the courses. Now it was quite easy to pass even if you wouldn't really understand what was going on.

By Fahed Z

Jun 9, 2017

I believe the pace was too fast. Moreover, I wish if more time was spent on how to make sure of many available data on various websites which format were not similar to the input file used in this course. I also liked it when in course 1 and 2 picture in picture was used. I disliked it for the latter courses and did not appreciate it in this course.

By Joe W

Aug 1, 2017

Engaging lecturer who helpfully conveys the concepts. I'd prefer that the mandatory assignments actually require writing Python code though. Really you just have to download something, run something, and take a screenshot. Someone who knows zero Python could do that, and that doesn't seem right. More programming in these courses please!

By Eugene T B

Mar 6, 2019

The course provided some code that will definitely be useful in the future and I plan to try to learn it thoroughly so I actually understand it, however, the course can be almost entirely completed by just running provided code and taking some screen shots. I don't feel like I learned nearly as much as I did in the first 4 courses.

By Kalle H

Jul 3, 2018

The specialisation is amazing, although this capstone is not great. You do get some nice example code and insight into how to solve real world problems based on the other material provided within the specialisation, yet the assignments are next to meaningless as all you do is executing someone elses code.

By Ming Y L

May 15, 2018

I felt like there was not too much explaining in this course. I got the general idea of the programs introduced in the videos, but I wouldn't be able to write the program on my own. The assignments in this course were not really challenging as you literally don't have to modify any codes to pass it.

By Oliverio J S J

Jan 7, 2018

The Capstone project is an interesting activity, but it is not a course. No new information is provided, it is a set of advanced excercises related to the previous database course. I think that this specialization can be reorganized to have four courses instead of five.

By June L

Jun 30, 2020

Compared to the previous four courses, this one offers the least. The material has leveled up considerably, and I feel that the students were unprepared for it. The lectures don't really explain the new complexities well. They seem superficial and difficult to follow.

By Mostafa F

Sep 13, 2017

I guess for the assignments, it might be easier if the course take a step-by-step approach, so the students start coding very easy programs to access the data on web from scratch, and then the code evolves into something very complex in the final course, the capstone.

By Oleh M

Jun 22, 2019

Course itself haven't enough practice instead of waiting for grading from instructors as not as described. And angry and rude instructors/moderators writing a lot of comments that they havn't time, instead of do it centralized with appropriate notifications of users.

By Vivek V

Apr 10, 2018

The courses leading up to this Capstone project was very interesting and engaging. It is sad that the capstone project was reduced to just executing the pre-packaged code rather than having the students think and model and possibly edit code to complete the project.

By Tal L

May 3, 2018

The python specialization was great but this last course was a bit disappointing as I hoped to get more guidance toward doing my own data project..

Doing the assignments as is was not challenging but using it for my own project felt too challenging.