Chevron Left
Back to Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
11,283 ratings
1,460 reviews

About the Course

In the capstone, students will build a series of applications to retrieve, process and visualize data using Python. The projects will involve all the elements of the specialization. In the first part of the capstone, students will do some visualizations to become familiar with the technologies in use and then will pursue their own project to visualize some other data that they have or can find. Chapters 15 and 16 from the book “Python for Everybody” will serve as the backbone for the capstone. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Informative course
(132 Reviews)
Relevant project
(132 Reviews)

Top reviews

BC
Apr 28, 2020

Now I understand how data mining, API's and dumping and retrieving data from a database works. Excellent course to start understanding how python can be used to work with data sources on the internet.

JC
May 25, 2017

I found this course a little bit easier that some of the previous courses, however, it allowed me to gain experience managing a larger projects that encompass several languages and multiple programs.

Filter by:

1376 - 1400 of 1,427 Reviews for Capstone: Retrieving, Processing, and Visualizing Data with Python

By Tamaz L

Jun 4, 2016

The only thing I had to do in this course regarding the required assignments was to change python 2.7 code to 3.4 as that's what I'm using.

Presentations didn't add much towards the learning either. Definite downgrade from previous courses, especially from the first three.

By Jasper R

Jan 10, 2020

Personally, I think I learned relatively little compared to the other courses. It was nice to see a bigger project which combines everything we have learned. But i preferred the other way of learning. Furthermore the whole specialization was very learnful!

By Gavrilo L

Jul 24, 2020

I think this is the worst course in the series, the code explanations are not as good as previous courses and also I wish there was a bit more guidance with what you want to do and structure for people that do NOT want to do a random project.

By Bhushan G

Aug 14, 2019

I would suggest coursera to somewhat lower the difficulty of the captone cause right away dealing with page rank and gmane was very difficult for me atleast. There should have been more smaller comparitively less difficult more projects.

By Nicholas W

Sep 27, 2017

This course is more useful if you already have some ideas in mind about how and what data you'll want to visualize. If you don't have that in mind you'll just be handed the whole course on a silver platter and not really learn much.

By Matt W

Dec 5, 2016

There was not the same application of programming skills as in the previous courses. Also, this course started too late after the other courses and I lost a lot of momentum in completing coursework.

By Anne

Mar 31, 2018

In general, good support from teaching staff. All you need to pass is just executing the sample python program and submitting screenshots of it which is too basic and doesn't teach you anything.

By Thomas Y

Jun 9, 2017

Not exactly a challenge or me applying anything I've learnt. I literally only ran the code that I was given and I recieved this certificate. There's really no need to even watch the videos.

By ricky C

Sep 10, 2019

Access to the required course work won't be open for me, for 6 weeks from now. The system just want you to pay at least another month's subscription;

also, not much new information was taught.

By Kuznetsov S A

Dec 21, 2017

There is no real assignment (with code writing) that will be graded. There is only already given code and recommendations what you can do by yourself. Too easy course I think.

By Paul D

Nov 3, 2020

The materials are great and the professor seems pleasant. Unfortunately the evaluation of the lecturers is not always fair. Otherwise there is nothing to complain about

By Ioannis S

Apr 12, 2016

The course offers just a simple running of (interesting and useful) code, but doesn't put the student in the situation of thinking and creating ideas and code.

By sanil f

Oct 9, 2018

This is less of a capstone and more of a code walkthrough.. All other courses in this specialization were great but this one course is not designed properly.

By Gilad W

Apr 4, 2018

The videos are not clear. There is no introduction of what we are doing, the code review skips too fast on the code makes it unclear

By Mihir A

Feb 14, 2020

BIg eh. I never really did anything in this course except for a final exam and everything else was optional. Pretty bland really

By Mehregan K

Oct 22, 2019

U will be learning almost nothing. If you wanna buy new subscription for this course, just dont. Only worth it if free.

By Ibrahim S E

Jan 5, 2018

Very lame exercises, requires no coding at all, just running some pre-written code, expected more of a capstone course.

By Kumar N S

Jan 13, 2017

Not the quality i expected. The capstone project should have been little more challenging and something new.

By Huang M

Mar 11, 2020

I was hoping that the final project could be written by myself...... but it is way too difficult

By Francisco D F A

Feb 19, 2017

No new learning during this course. Working on the capstone project is practically optional.

By Robert S

Jan 22, 2020

Was disappointed that the capstone did not require any coding on the part of the student

By Daisuke H

May 3, 2016

Very few amount of exercise and very small gain of knowledge from Capstone.

By Jeffrey S

Dec 15, 2018

Didn't actually have to write any code, so didn't really learn a lot new

By Lei L

Oct 31, 2019

It costs a quite long time to wait for being grading by a staff.

By Koen V

Jun 24, 2017

Much less interesting than the other 4 previous python courses