Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,549 ratings
2,965 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG
Jun 16, 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filter by:

2426 - 2450 of 2,876 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By nianlong

Nov 2, 2017

course start to get even harder, by combining the use the database and web spydering is very interesting, but wish the course can go even further on detail.

By Howard W P J

Jan 8, 2016

Generally an outstanding course, however I was a bit concerned that the video lectures, programming assignments, and quizzes didn't exactly follow the book.

By Yin C

Sep 2, 2016

a good introduction to how to interact with database.If you want to grasp more deeply,you 'd better read the free book--python for infomatics(3rd edition).

By paul t

Dec 12, 2017

was inspiring but a big step from course 3 to course 4. the assignments were not to difficult but that was manly because all the code was already provided

By Chan A

Feb 20, 2017

Really straight forward content and great overview of SQL + SQLite. Nice python demos. Sometimes the instructor wanders a bit before he gets to his point.

By Quentin r

Feb 6, 2018

Good course, except week 5. You should change it a bit. I spent more time trying to make the programs

work with the #!@!$ google key than anything else.

By Carolyn G

Feb 4, 2017

A bit more actual programming would be good rather than minor tweeking of existing code. Overall, a good basic into to relational database with Python.

By Fernando

Oct 3, 2016

Excellent course! Maybe It would be better to center in some points of the examples instead of providing so many, but in any case, a recommended course.

By Daren T

May 22, 2016

I would have liked to write more Python code to interact with the databases during the course of the homework assignments. The lectures were VERY good.

By Danielle S

Feb 10, 2016

Very nice and very good intstructor. Clear examples. Clear presentation. However, some assignments are a bit too easy, even for beginners. Learnt a lot!

By Akarsh M

Mar 8, 2021

This is a good course by a good instructor. I learned a lot of new things. However the "final project" is a big disappointment because it is too easy.

By Madhav D

Nov 1, 2017

Thanks a lot for letting me explore the sqlite browser and the sql commands. I have learnt about databases and sql a lot more than that about python .

By Marc B

Jun 28, 2016

Excellent - but I wish that the course had tougher assignments to really push me to practice on the topic - although I admit this is hard to grade.

By Chrystian R S d S

May 9, 2018

Week 5 was very poor, out of date and it could be better comparing to the previous weeks. Professor is very good, I just expected more in the end.

By 皇甫凌子

Mar 17, 2021

This lecture is very useful and helpful to myself,but I hope whether can add more details or sample bout a real project of database with Python.

By Harsh D

Jun 2, 2019

Another great course, just lacked bit more info on databases like showing how JOIN works, HAVING BY, and nested SELECT to do complicated queries.

By Archishman R

Oct 4, 2017

This course was really very intuitive. I got a good hands on experience as well. A big shout-out to Dr. Chuck for being such a wonderful teacher.

By nikhil y

Oct 3, 2017

Peer Review: Installing and Running Python Screen Shots

i got grade 40 in week1 but am not able to upload screent shots again. can anyone help me?

By yaw o a

Jan 2, 2017

Unlike the other courses, the material was quite new. And the videos were shorter than the first one. The assignments were also quite simple too

By Gaurav S

Apr 15, 2020

The course was so amazing, I expected much more in depth database knwoledge but it is also enough and good. Learning is a never ending process.

By imcven

Jun 5, 2020

Very useful course. The instructor has a smooth teaching approach that's about as motivating as it gets. Thanks a lot Coursera and Dr. Chuck.

By Yuanqin M

Nov 5, 2020

I think it could be better if I have more time to see the PPT and write down the important thing rather than change the screen too often.

By VAIBHAV B

Jun 30, 2020

Nice course . The part of SQL DATABASE was amazingly taught. If python implementation would have been little bit more , it would be great

By Paul H

Feb 17, 2016

Great to learn how easy the SQL and Python integrate. Very straightforward examples and tests. Well explained and exactly what was needed.

By John J

Jan 23, 2016

Very good introduction to databases and the use of this with python. uses python 2 version. Simple explanation for beginners. Recommended.