Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
27,632 ratings

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

HM

Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

MA

May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.

From basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.

It's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

Filter by:

3951 - 3975 of 4,712 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Cristian M

Jul 6, 2019

good

By thangaraj e

Jan 1, 2019

Good

By Tejo Y U

Jan 22, 2022

ok

By Ravindra D

Nov 18, 2019

NA

By Subhajit B

Apr 30, 2022

g

By KOO D

Feb 19, 2022

d

By kinjal p

Jan 15, 2022

g

By Suryakant S

Mar 19, 2020

I

By Anna N

May 13, 2020

This course is.... odd.

It's a jumbled mess of videos read in robot voice, "labwork" which is "optional", and way too easy to complete (many of them just involve hitting shift+enter over and over again)... assuming that you can get the lab to load in the first place, quizzes which insult your intelligence with how easy they are, one random module (APIs) which is WAY WAY more complicated than anything else in the class, and a final assignment that's surprisingly a nice review of the class. I actually had to go back and re-watch the videos to complete it. However, everything I needed WAS in the videos.

And here's the weird thing: all the nonsense about setting up IBM Watson, IBM Cloud Services, IBM Speech to Text, IBM Translator, IBM... (you get the point, you will sign up for a TON of IBM services, and then have to figure out how to get them to work together)... is probably the BEST part of the class.

You can learn Python lots of places (and you should. Please don't count on this class to teach you Python. Go to codecademy fer cryin' out loud.) But where else are you going to get hands on time working through frustration and technical problems getting IBM Cloud services to work? The course doesn't always hold your hand on basic things like getting the labs to load. Yeah, that's awesome. You'll HAVE to learn how to use the tools.

Please don't take this class if you never ever plan on using IBM again in your life. But if you are thinking of applying to any job that uses the IBM platform, this course is money.

But yeah, the python part sucks. There's better and cheaper pretty much everywhere on the internet.

By M Z

Jul 7, 2022

W​hilst the course seems detailed enough and helps you learn step by step - not that I'm a good judge as I'm COMPLETELY new to coding - there are many things that need to be improved to make it 5 stars:

1​. when using PYTHON software I discovered that should actually be using Jupyter lab and then took 3 weeks and 5 forum messages to learn that the codes weren't working because I was supposed to use JupyterLITE - this was never mentioned in the course or explained properly.

This led me to feeling very frustrated and demotivated and losing my time! it took a lot of effort to re-start and push myself nonetheless.

2​. there is just ONE person in the forum replying ONCE a day and NOT on weekends - this really slows the learning down, albeit they are trying to be helpful always

3​. not all codes show how the execution looks - for someone who's learning from scratch I don't know if I got it right or not, only that the code worked

4​. there is a big leap from basics to complex without what seems like enough explnanation in between - using Google to research and analysing yourself can only take you so far when you're a complete beginner.

5​. finally a (small) number of codes are simply wrong - this makes learning difficult once again albeit I do question the codes more and try to analyse when looking at them.

6​. I don't know if I "absorbed"/understood all the relevant information sufficiently, whether I will ever need all the codes from scratch or it's merely understanding the mechanics of codes

By Christine M

Nov 29, 2021

Great course! However I feel I must give it only 3 stars because the website used for the labs is consistently not working and my course was delayed several weeks because of this. The labs are crucial to passing this course and understanding this material, so it is a significant inconvenience when the labs aren't working. Communication about the labs not working was not ideal either. I would expect that coursera or the instructor would send an email instructing students on what to do during the outage to continue but there was no communication or work around while the lab environment was down. If you decide to take the course be forewarned that this might happen to you and the course might be delayed several weeks and there will be little that you can do to get the information. The videos are not quite as helpful in this course as they were in the other courses. The real learning in my opinion happens in the lab and that isn't reliable at all. You need to watch the videos to pass the quizzes and the quizzes are extremely easy if you do this.

By David M

Apr 29, 2022

As a course with "many cooks in the kitchen", there is naturally the good, the bad, and the ugly. Ultimately, this course accomplishes its goal - student learning and preparation for advancement. However, I encountered many inconsistencies, discrepancies, and apparent poor assumptions made about the learner along the way. From an educational perspective, certain approaches in the various labs could benefit from refinement after careful consideration of the most effective methods for student learning. From a product perspective, there is much to polish for this to be truly worthy of a company like IBM (ie, spelling, punctuation, and grammer). Perhaps putting this to a qualified technical writer would help to realize its full potential. In any case, I'm happy to have taken this course and would nevertheless recommend it to those who want/need to learn about Python.

By Leslie C

Apr 24, 2020

I found this course to be very educational a great resource for becoming familiar or reviewing python and applying it to the Data Science framework for basic visualization. I would, however, recommend taking other basic Python courses first because the labs don't review the language well and rush through them in the videos. It can be difficult to understand the labs and really get the full benefit of the course without having some python knowledge coming in.

I would also recommend more interactive questions and coding in the labs. The labs didn't fully reinforce the lesson or apply the concepts learned in the videos. Towards the end of the course, there were no quizzes for the labs (Pandas, Numpy arrays, etc), and I found that I struggled in the final project because of the lack of application.

By Chris O

Dec 14, 2018

Take this review with a grain of salt. Let me start by saying I do not have experience programming and the course does recommend Python experience before enrolling.

I found the videos hard to follow, as there was no clear outline or natural flow to how the information was presented. The presenter spoke too fast and there was no time to digest the information before moving on to the next subject. I found myself pausing the video constantly and referring to the transcribed text below the video. That being said, the workbooks were terrific and seemed to cover almost everything in presented in the videos. For the final project, I found myself googling how to perform certain functions in Python, because I couldn't find examples to a lot of the code in the very detailed notes that I took.

By MATTHIAS D

Jun 15, 2020

Most of the lessons are clear, easy to understand and interesting. It's the positive things for me.

Now, the negative ones:

-The lessons about API (even more part 2) are difficult to understand and not seems to be a beginner level.

-Most of the exercise of the lab are the same examples that you can find in the lesson's video and it's redundant and not usefull (it should be better other examples and real exercises with real python program to write since the beginning to the end).

-You have to create some IBM clouds account. More than, you lose a lost of time because a lot of things are not clearly explain (i'm thinking to the last optional part of the exercise of week 5)

To resume, it's a good training, but you can find better (for example the ones of the university of Michigan)

By Mayra Q

Jun 6, 2019

It's definitely packed with a lot of information and the labs were actually really helpful to understand concepts. Would have loved to see more real-world case studies using larger data sets vs some of the watered down examples we got. The final module and assignment could definitely be improved. Although I took copious notes, I found that some commands needed were never reviewed/ reviewed well enough, and I had to do some extra research online in order to complete the assignment (Python cheat sheets etc). In the future, maybe a module in building dashboards with practice would be useful before assigning students to make their own. Or at least a study guide of concepts to review before going into the assignment (in the same vein as the real-world example point).

By Kisha B

Jun 25, 2019

This course started off great. The exercises and quizzes for weeks 1 thru 4 were based on the lectures or videos and all was well. Then came week 5 and the final assignment. First the reading on How to Setup IBM Cloud Object Storage needed to be updated. I contacted an IBM Developer and they told me I needed to upgrade my account. I suggest adding the Watson Studio Setup to the Instructions page of the Final Assignment. OR include a link to the Setup Instructions instead of including a link to the Wikipedia definition of GDP. The lectures did not include the information needed to complete the final assignment. Add to the grading rubric for the last question the following for 3.5 points: URL that is incorrect and does not display the dashboard.

By Martha C

Jan 11, 2021

I took the first star away because the exercises in the labs often asked for code that wasn't covered in the course. I would stare at my screen and notes for a bit trying to figure it out and then when I revealed the answer, I saw concepts that weren't covered. There were also some discrepancies between instructions and the actual ask in a few labs, which I'm guessing result from updating content in one place and not another. I took the second star away because I've completed this course very unsure if I've really learned the basics or not. Fortunately, what I've learned is that Google is your best friend when trying to figure out how to write code for specific situations, so I will use that until I get more comfortable with Python.

By Samuel K N

Mar 17, 2021

The learning curve required here is quite steep, I am glad I had paused this course to complete the Python for Everyone Specialisation, offered here in Coursera, before endeavouring to complete this one.

The familiarity with coding gain there, made me understand better and take advantage of this course, instead of the feeling of loss I had at the beginning, particularly with the level required to complete some of the hands-on labs.

I recommend you get acquaintance with Python at a basic level, to get more out of this course.

I have provided feedback to Coursera regarding this area of improvement, either to include the PY4E course here or to at least tell people about that option.

Hoping the best for your learning experience.

By Venkatachalapathy P

Dec 16, 2020

The final assignment was not put up in the week 5 bucket. Instead we had totally different 'housing' related notebook with instructions for using seaborn which we never covered in the course. The final assignment was later sent in as a response to a question in the discussion forums.

The directions in the python notebook was confusing.

The support staff was being helpful but with so many issues, the frustration is all around in the group of people who took the course.

I spent two days getting answers [which I never got] to my questions. I found out the answers by my own effort . In the process, I believe, I have a better understanding of IBM Watson Studio, IBM Cloud, Storage, Services and resources. I am happy for that.

By Yakov F

May 24, 2021

The best part of this course is that they provide learners with an easy to use cloud Python environment ( https://labs.cognitiveclass.ai/tools/jupyterlab/lab/tree/labs/ Jupiter notebook). The exercises in that environment are good. One can almost skip the lectures and only go through the exercises, there will be little if any loss.

This course forces the learners to sign up and use the IBM cloud environment, and I don't like it. It's completely unnecessary.

The sequencing of material beyond the basics is somewhat random. Anyway, the course covers a little bit of many Python essentials. There may be better Python courses, I just don't know them.

By Juan D P M

Mar 14, 2022

The course is fine, but i feel that in the last two weeks they trow at you a lot of information without much context, so is really difficult to understand the topics covered in those weeks. There are a lot of tools and libraries that came out of nowhere in the labs without any explanation, i had to use google a lot in order to understand why they were usinig a especific tool or library. additionally It would be nice to have a way to practice more.

It is also disencouraging that the certificate says that is a non-creidt course, sound like it doesnt worth anything.

Finally the forums didnt help much when you have a question.

By Dale S

May 7, 2022

3 stars for content and presentaion. I like the format (videos, text, labs, and pop up quizzes).

No 4 stars though. For a representative of "Higher Learning" this course has a herendous amount of mispelling and some grammar fails. Maybe it's just my OCD coming out but I would expect better from my students if the situation were switched. When the syllabus was handed out for this course apparently SpellCheck101 was not on it. I considered taking the time to report all the instances as I went along but I'm not being paid to proof read.

Other than that its a worthwhile course.

DAS

By Natallia J

May 24, 2021

Die Fragen der Quiz waren manchmal merkwürdig. Manchmal war die Formulierung der Antworten so komisch, dass man einfach raten musste, was konnte der Autor als eine richtige Antwort meinen (denn genau genommen gab es Keine richtige Antwort zwischen den Varianten). Manchmal war die Auswahl der Varianten so ausgewählt, dass es nicht möglich war, falsch zu beantworten(egal ob man Kenntnisse erworben hat oder nicht), weil die falsche Antworten VIEL ZU offensichtlich falsch waren.

Ich hatte den Eindruck, der Autor hat sich bei den Quizen nicht viel Mühe gemacht.

By Mayuresh B

Apr 27, 2020

The course was informative at the beginning. However, the quizzes in the middle of the videos are too easy and oddly placed. The final quizzes are pretty straight forward too. There's no practice involved as such. The final Dashboard project wastes a lot of time trying to focus on IBM buckets, credentials and setup and whatnot instead of actually teaching how to use python for data visualization and AI. I really believe the course could've been more in sync with the course title. Many of the topics were left off in the middle and were not taught in-depth.