Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science and AI

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science and AI by IBM

4.6
stars
13,165 ratings
1,839 reviews

About the Course

This introduction to Python will kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general. This beginner-friendly Python course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours. Module 1 - Python Basics o Your first program o Types o Expressions and Variables o String Operations Module 2 - Python Data Structures o Lists and Tuples o Sets o Dictionaries Module 3 - Python Programming Fundamentals o Conditions and Branching o Loops o Functions o Objects and Classes Module 4 - Working with Data in Python o Reading files with open o Writing files with open o Loading data with Pandas o Numpy Finally, you will create a project to test your skills....

Top reviews

HM

Nov 18, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

WL

Mar 14, 2019

Every course has offered something interesting, challenging, and surprising. I am glad I have spent the time with this class. I would strongly recommend it to others with an interest in data science.

Filter by:

1151 - 1175 of 1,821 Reviews for Python for Data Science and AI

By Chung-Han L

Jun 10, 2019

I love this course with a bunch of useful exercises and helpful demo with tool. What can be progressed is that some materials are out of date because the interfaces of Watson and IBM tools are edited and the materials are kept with old. It makes learner not able to find and do efficiently.

By Liyijian

Mar 23, 2020

at some point, this is the very good course for who want knock the door of python and data sicence, but the content seems to be a little easy and some of the function used in the couse is not explained very well. As for the api part, after the course, I still find i know little about it.

By Elyas M

Dec 09, 2019

I knew Python before enrolling in this course and didn't have any problem with the course materials. However, I believe the teacher taught the course very fast with the least explanation on each topic. I think a person who does not know Python beforehand, may have a problem in learning.

By Victor(JingFeng) X

Aug 22, 2019

Good general outlook of basic Python programming operation. Although the details for each type operation is not in depth enough as memory model were not sufficiently utilized to complement the explanation, the overall teaching style is detailed and easy enough for anyone to comprehend.

By Manel L K

Jan 05, 2020

An amazing course for beginners like me who have no clue about Python. It's really helping me learn how to write my first lines in Python. The instructor explains codes in a very clear and simple way.

The only issue is that this course doesn't provide us with professional practices.

By Ramakrushna M

Aug 25, 2019

The videos are really well made and strongly explained each and every point. I really enjoyed while viewing it. Only one demerit is the quiz section. The quiz sections could be more difficult. But its okay, because in assignment its is managed.

highly recommended for this course.

By Jesús J G S

Feb 12, 2019

The quizzes in the videos had some awkward cuts where they would ask something that would be taught right after and felt a bit odd since I think you should ask things that were taught previously in the video not afterwards.

But overall the contents were clear and understandable :)

By Portia T J

Jan 18, 2020

The course is very good. But as a beginner who has no background of data science and programming, I sometimes feel it is difficult to understand some code. I think the course can add more explanations as optional parts to make it easy to understand for those beginners like me.

By Mercedes E P

Nov 10, 2019

I think the course is very well structured. I don't come from a tech background, I am actually an industrial engineer. I wish the course has more examples and labs with problems to solve and the answers, to be able to practice more and learn from the mistakes we make.

By Matthew A

Apr 27, 2019

There were quite a few inconsistencies between the videos and the actual IBM Cloud tools. Also, the final assignment seemed to have less to do with Python and more about saving your final output to a Data Bucket and setting permissions/visibility so peers could view it.

By Indradeep B

Mar 30, 2020

I personally felt that more of stress could be given to Python coding. This course and its contents had the ability to create a strong background for the student in Python but somehow it couldn't. But still you get to learn a lot of things. So it was a good experience.

By Matt H

Aug 29, 2019

Very good basic intro. Enjoyed doing the assignment but would have liked some more challenges. Seemed a little odd to spend so much time trying to produce a link to share the workbook while actually completing the questions was very simple one or two lines of code.

By Anton M

Feb 16, 2019

This is a good course which makes one a good introduction to Python programming language and Jupyter Notebooks as a framework for coding. Although some of the aspects of the course are introduced in a rather scarce way, and do not allow to fully comprehend them.

By Kevin O

Apr 12, 2019

Enjoyed this introductory course to Python language. The issues with the final assignment was disappointing, but all the other content was great. Liked the breakdown of the weeks and the consistent quiz's and labs to reinforce what you were reading/watching.

By Jesus C C

Feb 09, 2019

Gives an easy way to enter python, but more text feedback should be needed as videos, are 10 minutos long or so, but they have so much information in them.

Also some assignment and jupyter notebooks were unavailable temporarily and took me days to prepare them.

By Mayank s

Nov 13, 2019

Good course for any beginner but some codes taught didn't run properly. And I would request to provide more practice exercises for every type where we get habit of application of not just the current concept but previous ones also so we don't forget them.

By Borna Ž

Jul 11, 2019

Very well written, great for beginners and early intermediates. I find the videos interesting and the assignments are great as well. I learned many interesting things in this course already and I started few days ago, nothing but recommendation for this !

By Shaswat G

Mar 19, 2020

The course content was concise and easy to follow. The simplicity offered by this course came at the expense of in-depth knowledge, whose pros and cons can be debated. Overall, a good appetizer for a beginner aspiring to explore data science with python.

By Leandro L

Dec 13, 2019

Very good course to learn Python and libraries to work with Data Science, like NumPy and Pandas. The IBM Watson labs need a little more effort to understand and to complete every step, so don't skip previous labs and pay close attention to instructions.

By Muhammad Y R

Dec 12, 2019

The Course Is perfect for those who have little insight about programming and library like numpy and pandas but if you are complete beginner it might get difficult because its on very fast track nad for beginner its a little hard to stay on track.

By Ismayil J

Oct 05, 2018

Very helpful beginner course. Some videos however could be better, provide more explanation and background reasoning and future application. Jupiter notebook was much more helpful, without even a need for videos. Looking forward for next stages.

By Andreas B O

Dec 12, 2019

Very nice introduction to Python. I would have liked more practical test examples (the time estimated to complete tests is greatly exagerated). However, this makes me lust for more Python programming, which ultimately is the goal of the course!

By Agraj S

Jun 12, 2019

i really liked it the only thing that kept it from 5 star is that the course gave a limited knowledge about few basic functions using python with data science however i think that's what it was supposed to give so leaving my review with 4 star.

By Roberto L

Oct 31, 2019

Overall course structure isvery good. HOwever, the voice speaker was indeed very FAST.! Please make attention, your overall public is not English natives only. Even applying the subtitling in English, it was very fast to follow the slides.

By Yui C L

May 08, 2019

May have to refine the last question of the final assignment.

May need to consider to explain...

The use of bucket, difference between self-generated one and manual bucket, creditential... And more instructions to set up url for dashboard.