Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science and AI

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science and AI by IBM

4.6
stars
13,100 ratings
1,826 reviews

About the Course

This introduction to Python will kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general. This beginner-friendly Python course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours. Module 1 - Python Basics o Your first program o Types o Expressions and Variables o String Operations Module 2 - Python Data Structures o Lists and Tuples o Sets o Dictionaries Module 3 - Python Programming Fundamentals o Conditions and Branching o Loops o Functions o Objects and Classes Module 4 - Working with Data in Python o Reading files with open o Writing files with open o Loading data with Pandas o Numpy Finally, you will create a project to test your skills....

Top reviews

HM

Nov 18, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

WL

Mar 14, 2019

Every course has offered something interesting, challenging, and surprising. I am glad I have spent the time with this class. I would strongly recommend it to others with an interest in data science.

Filter by:

1176 - 1200 of 1,811 Reviews for Python for Data Science and AI

By Kevin G

Aug 07, 2019

Issues running labs. Bokeh does not import, so its impossible to make the dashboard. Notebook would not recognize the bokeh module no matter what I did. Had to download Anaconda and a computer side service to run the lines of code.

By Abhishek D

Jun 13, 2019

Syllabus is well designed covers all basic concepts of python and if you already know a little python you can easily complete this course without a fuzz.

Thank you IBM and Coursera Community for this . I had a great time learning.

By Alexey R

Apr 22, 2019

A solid introduction to Python that I personally found very useful. The only issue with the course is the abundance of small errors throughout the materials. Final assignment requires a bit of debugging and tweaking to get right.

By Maciej J

Apr 24, 2019

Introduces the most important features of Python. Quizzes were rather simple. The final assignment is a total mess. Without information posted on discussion forum by other learners it would be impossible for me to finish it. :-(

By Matthew H

Apr 23, 2019

The first four weeks are very helpful, and then week 5 is the project. There is little to no assistance in week 5, it's more-or-less sink or swim, but it forces you to apply what you've learned. I felt like I made large strides.

By Sumit N

Jul 11, 2019

The inner workings of the project (dashboard creation process) are not that clear. May be an optional reading can be added for interested students to understand the dashboard creation and the libraries used in more detail.

By Venkat

Jun 14, 2019

Understanding the Final Assignment and its instructions were a bit tricky. May be an introduction to IBM cloud hosting and the significance of various credentials required in the final assignment will make it a bit easier.

By Shiau-Wen L

Nov 12, 2019

Very good for getting started with Python. But looks like the interface changed since the tutorial video/instruction have been made so it caused some confuse. It'll be better if you update those tutorial/instruction.

By Mitchell T

Sep 25, 2019

Overall I think the course was a useful introduction to python programming for data science, and the tools and workbooks were super helpful. The instructions could be a bit more clear, but it wasn't enough to stop me.

By Từ N T S

Jan 09, 2020

The materials are okay, but more exercises are needed to help students get more hands-on experience. Also, a lot of instructions are complicated and seem to be outdated (technical details on using IBM Watson lab)

By Novina C

Oct 08, 2019

The course is perfect for me, because I already know Python (so I can skim through material quickly just review the data science related stuff) but to people new to programming, this course may be going too fast.

By Francisco B L

Feb 11, 2019

The course gives a good Introduction to working with Python. Minus 1 Star because the final assignment relies on a given block of code, instead of being a project, which one can solve just with what was learned.

By Josh F

Aug 07, 2019

Some of the video modules didn't have up-to-date information, but the labs were very helpful. The IBM Cloud services were slightly challenging to configure. The Cognitive Class Labs tools were very easy to use.

By Nino V

Mar 19, 2020

Thank you for the great course! The only feedback I have - it was not clear how to use make_dashboard function neither from the labs nor from the videos. Perhaps, consider explaining it a bit better. Thanks!

By aims

Dec 30, 2019

I enjoyed this - probably one of the clearest Python beginner classes.

IBM Cloud on the other hand is quite challenging to navigate - not very intuitive and needed the extra careful "follow the instructions".

By Ben W

Jul 12, 2019

Nice introduction, but very little previous education in linear algebra and matrix manipulation assumed. Given the emphasis on cloud based data wrangling I had hoped to see larger and more complex data sets.

By KARTIKEY V

Dec 09, 2019

It really helps a lot understand the python work in data science but in last week lectures like pandas, CSV, numpy etc if there are few more examples of these topics it really help me to a lot understand

By Loo C W

Dec 07, 2019

Overall, I learn a lot from the course, however there is a need to update the IBM cloud and Watson studio set-up page in the instructional material to be in-line with current IBM cloud and Watson Studio.

By Kyle H

Jan 27, 2020

A solid introduction to Python in general. It can help you start getting acquainted with how programming languages work in general and gives a good overview of how Python can be used for data science.

By Prasanna K

Sep 24, 2019

it was an awesome course to start your journey in data science. Fundamentals concepts are covered in a lucid way. Nicely designed lab work. Some more hands on will help to get a better coding skills.

By jithin j

Jun 12, 2019

I am reducing 1 star because of the issues I faced during the exam. Kindly update your instructions as per the updated IBM cloud website, or any other third party tools employed in the course.

By Truong P H G

Feb 27, 2020

This course strengthen your knowledge for python, and it requires lots of understanding, time to do lab and practice to become better. However, I hope some issues with the lab can be improved.

By Riola C T

Aug 20, 2019

-Good Course for basics of python and intro to Pandas and Numpy

-More exercises related to Pandas and Numpy would be good for practice.

-The course isn't updated with the latest UI of IBM Watson

By Krit P

Dec 29, 2019

Please check the final assignment and ibm speech API . I have to trouble to setting up and there is instruction is missing. however the first 3 week is very insightful material for new user

By SAJITH M P

Jun 24, 2019

Very Interesting Sessions. Thoroughly Enjoyed going back to good old days of programming, which made so easy and comfortable nowadays.. Thanks to the professors and mentors + the evaluators.