Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.5
stars
10,776 ratings

About the Course

One of the most important skills of successful data scientists and data analysts is the ability to tell a compelling story by visualizing data and findings in an approachable and stimulating way. In this course you will learn many ways to effectively visualize both small and large-scale data. You will be able to take data that at first glance has little meaning and present that data in a form that conveys insights. This course will teach you to work with many Data Visualization tools and techniques. You will learn to create various types of basic and advanced graphs and charts like: Waffle Charts, Area Plots, Histograms, Bar Charts, Pie Charts, Scatter Plots, Word Clouds, Choropleth Maps, and many more! You will also create interactive dashboards that allow even those without any Data Science experience to better understand data, and make more effective and informed decisions. You will learn hands-on by completing numerous labs and a final project to practice and apply the many aspects and techniques of Data Visualization using Jupyter Notebooks and a Cloud-based IDE. You will use several data visualization libraries in Python, including Matplotlib, Seaborn, Folium, Plotly & Dash....

Top reviews

AM

Aug 13, 2020

Great course, one of the best course to get hands-on learning for Data Visualization with Python. Particularly the lap exercise, it will make you think on every line of code you write. Excellent!!!

SS

Nov 20, 2019

It's a really great course with proper hands on time and the assignments are great too. i got enough opportunity to explore the things which were taught in the course. Really Satisfied. Thanks :)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,656 Reviews for Data Visualization with Python

By Gilles W

Apr 9, 2019

Videos are so so, the same introduction for all videos with 2 minutes of data formatting, which is exactly the same in all videos, leaving only few minutes at the end of the vid's for the content of the lesson. The examples in Jupyter were interesting but not very well structured. At the end, I better used Google and Pandas documentation to solve problems and learn about the topic. Not a bad lesson, but there are just more effective way to learn in my opinion.

By nicole r b

Jun 14, 2020

The videos are very repetitive and do not offer much in terms of preparation of the lab. They are very short and say the same thing about the structure of the data. The labs are very good but I had to spend time looking up solutions online that were outside of the taught material. The course really needs to be updated.

By Jeff S

Jan 8, 2021

Dislikes:

-Many videos repeated just over 1 minute of the exact same content reviewing the dataset.

-Videos were very brief and then exercises would be beyond concepts taught.

-lab contained thick code to prepare graphs but not explained.

Likes:

-Enjoyed creating the maps & learning about other visualisations.

By Roberto S

Jun 25, 2020

The provided material is really bad. I don't see the point of doing this course, when you have to search on internet how to do everything.

I learnt doing some things during the assessment, but not using almost any of the instructions given during the videos. They were completely useless.

By Sema K

Apr 11, 2020

It was by far the worst course I have taken in this specialization... You really should renwe the materials and add more labs, because video lectures are kinda useless. I am giving 2 stars out of respect for the effort given to put it here.

By Victor G R F d S

Dec 26, 2019

The video lessons just tell you that do some things are possible, but just in theory they would explain how to do it on labs, but the labs aren't so clear. There are days that I try to download the files for final assignment and the link doesn't work and the mentores don't answer. I didn't want to give one star to the course, because all of the other courses from IBM Data Science certification are so good, but unfortunately this course definitively doesn't scores higher than that, because I had to study on matplotlib and other libraries documentations in order to do the exercises.

By Shaun K

Nov 22, 2020

After having done a number of courses with IBM and coursera I have come to expect a reasonable level of thought and usefulness put into the content. Sadly this course does not have any of that. It primarily focuses on the most mundane issues in data visualization and uses trick questions in the quizzes to try to get a lower grade on students. I very much hope they redesign this course in the future and will focus on how to plot different types of data, looking at categorical information, showing trend lines, and things that actually matter.

By Reinaldo O

Sep 29, 2021

If I could give this course zero star, I would! Please IBM and Coursera, fix this course! It's the worst course so far in the specialization. The videos are poorly made. The labs are full of bugs. I had no prior experience in data visualization and it was extremely hard for me to follow the labs and assignments. This course it's not for everybody, but for people with an acceptable knowledge of Python and HTML. I wish all the courses in this specialization were like the SQL course. That course was beautiful. You should check that.

By oguz o

Aug 10, 2019

by far the worst course of the whole certification program. Carelessly prepared content. Full of typo and mistakes. Quiz results are not even consistent. Different answers for the same question is considered wrong. If a question has two possible answers as multiple-choice, the answer should be one of those, right? Many of the videos are repeating each other. Very little information. Waste of time and money. If there was another way to get this certificate without taking this visualization course, I would pick that way.

By Ali R ( R

Oct 24, 2018

The course was not well organized. The instructor focused on providing very advanced content rather than simplifying the conpects in order to make it easy for the student to digest, and follow. In many times i had to search online to understand the content. Even in the final assignemt, it was asked to use many functions that was not itroduced before, and the attached files that were needed to answer the questions came with errors, and i had to search in stockoverflow to solve the attachments problems.

By Karan S

Jul 30, 2019

Arguably the worst course in IBM certification. There were problems everywhere. The code boxes weren't loading in quizzes. The overall peer guided assignment was a nightmare since they were demanding the part which was not even taught. To sum it all up, peers checked my assignment incorrectly. The assignment grade calumniation took so long than usual. Keep in mind I've done previous courses in this IBM professional certification.

By Dmitriy M

Jul 14, 2020

Worse course ever!

Don't waste your time - this course is just repetition of the same video "data cleaning" which is half of the whole course.

BTW they use outdated (unsupported) version of Python - Python 2. Not a big deal, but shows that the course itself is outdated. Other libraries used in the course are outdated as well - if you use latest versions you'll find some warnings or error because library has been moved forward.

By Timothy H

Jun 30, 2019

The videos are chopped together and the end-of-section quizzes are full of "gotcha" true/false questions and incomplete questions that will cause you to fail and wait the 8 hours until your next try.

The content is lackluster, the videos are cut together with differing audio quality, and the presenter couldn't sound more bored.

Not a good course. I just want to get through it to finish the specialization.

By Ramiro R

Sep 28, 2021

In the final assignment you lose lot of time troubleshooting or dealing with the errors in the provided skeleton code. You can see this yourself by reading just a few consultations in the disscusion forum.

The rest of the final assignment its just basically copy/paste on the empty slots, so not really learning more than what you can already learn by watching a youtube video.

By Montel H

Jun 29, 2020

This course should really just be the three lab sessions. The videos could be more helpful if they reinforced the labs, instead they gave very rudimentary descriptions of the charts. Aside from the geotagging lesson, the detail of the videos and even some of the lab content doesn't adequately prepare you for the course assignment.

By Angeliki M

Dec 2, 2019

By far the worst module of the IBM Certificate. The videos do not explain anything just repeat the same things over and over again and the things needed for the final assignment are not in the videos or the labs. It will take you forever to do the assignment in the end simply because you need to do lots of research on your own

By Abid-Ul K

Jun 12, 2020

The instructor skipped many things on the lectures expecting that the students will learn from the lab. The lab experience was good until I used the last lab on the last module. I couldn't run some functions. In the final graded assignment, the lack of proper tutorial on how to use JSON file, I felt like a failure.

By Marco T

Sep 29, 2019

The overall level of the cause is way too low compared to the request made in the tests. Furthermore mistakes and inaccuracies are present all'over the course material. Please review the course material and integrate information needed to perform the tests

By Oscar P

Jul 1, 2020

Seems like a Pandas course instead of a Data Visualization Course. The videos are very redundant and don't really give explanation on many items. The assignment is extremely hard in relation of the quality of the materials covered in the course.

By ubaid m w

Oct 22, 2018

In lab there are many funtion , libiraries Which have been used first time with out any description , then I have to search for each and every funtion or lib which is way time consuming which make this course worst courses in my list.

By Elizabeth B

Mar 30, 2020

Complete waste of time and money! Skills Network Labs was constantly malfunctioning. The labs were so glitchy that I spent more time troubleshooting how to open the labs than I did on learning the actual course material.

By Howie Z

Dec 18, 2019

Poorly structured contents. The whole contents were compressed into 3 weeks. Videos are very basic, whereas lab materials are more in-depth. As such, it could be hard to have a good understanding of the syntax.

By Vasyl R

Apr 22, 2020

The course content is not accurate in some units. Quizzes are asking for information that was not covered in the course and some of the questions are hard to interpret, like the one for boxplot function.

By Svetlana S

Mar 29, 2020

Labs didn't work for the whole week. it's often happens with all IMB Data Science specialisation courses.

Videos are not really useful, labs are the most valuable, but it's always hard to load them

By Lisa K

Nov 15, 2022

The course was good until the last 2 weeks when Dash was introduced. The instructions were horrible for Dash and seemed strange to suddenly change from Jupiter Notebooks to Dash right at the end.