Chevron Left
Back to Python for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.3
stars
1,302 ratings
247 reviews

About the Course

This class provides an introduction to the Python programming language and the iPython notebook. This is the third course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top reviews

KR
Jul 16, 2018

A very good course for its length and the amount of time it requires. It improved my python skills and knowledge of Genomics. I'm more engaged in my pursuits than before taking the course.

JD
Oct 6, 2017

Easy to understand and very powerful examples. Not just it made me familiar with python, it also made it easy for me to teach to my students and inspire them to pursue python further.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 242 Reviews for Python for Genomic Data Science

By SARKAFT G O

Aug 8, 2020

i have difficulty to understand the last week but in general , the course, is a first step to learn more about python and need more to apply it on genomic.

By Rami B

May 2, 2020

Methods of assessment were far more difficult than lectures. However, the course does cover an appropriate overview of python in genomic data science.

By Prathana S

Jul 2, 2020

Being new to Python it was quite difficult to me learning this. Also questions for quiz were quite hard as compared to examples shown in the video

By Vanessa

Nov 23, 2020

Good teachers and well explained. Very interesting. I would have preferred to be followed by a tutor to have some explanations.

Thank you

By Ian P

May 23, 2018

The final lecture on Biopython, and the exam exercise are good. The quiz questions are annoying because the indentation is messed up.

By Aditi D T

Aug 29, 2020

The quizzes were pretty standard, but the lecture was poorly designed. I really enjoyed solving the problems of the final exam!

By Violeta T p

Jan 14, 2021

El curso está bien, pero se hace difícil de seguir si no eres programador o no tienes ideas previas sobre el tema.

By Alex G

Mar 30, 2016

Can't easily understand one of the instructors. Dislike how it chops and changes instructors in the same course.

By Felipe B M

Jul 31, 2019

This course is advanced and fast-paced. I found it difficult for those with minimal programming experience.

By Ming L

Dec 7, 2017

one pretty lecturer, the other with relative faster speak speed, some small error in slides

By Janis B

Apr 6, 2021

This is more of a intro course for Python basics rather that Python for genomics.

By Konstantinos K

Apr 17, 2017

Good but need more practise problems in order to understand what you are learning

By Inmaculada M

May 19, 2017

Dfficult to follow, at least for people without a background in programming.

By Stefanie M

Jun 20, 2017

Course content is ok, but didn't prepare well enough for the final exam

By Michael G

Feb 24, 2018

Could use more focus on Biopython, less on fundamentals

By Jingyuan H

Sep 18, 2020

Need some python background before learning this.

By Yuxi L

Dec 15, 2019

The final project may be too hard for beginners.

By sonali

Feb 15, 2018

could have included some practical sessions

By shubham k

Jun 2, 2020

please make things easy for learning

By FABIEN C

May 24, 2020

Interface not the most Pleasant.

By Lauren M

May 15, 2020

This is not a beginner course. Lectures were fine, but FAST and more like a review than an actual lecture. Quizzes were off the wall difficult especially in week 3 and 4, and do not get me started about the Final Exam. Im not sure why lectures spoke about one topic and all quizzes were seemingly BARELY related. If you are new to programming, start python somewhere else, and come back to this later. I found myself spending 50% of my time googling other resources trying to figure out basic code syntax. Super frustrating and I dont feel I learned very much here, unfortunately. This course may be helped a lot if the quizzes were RELEVANT to lecture material and if it would be at all possible to provide PRACTICE PROBLEMS as assignments instead of some of the quizzes? Just a thought...

By Cesar P G G

Sep 2, 2020

El curso se encuentra desatendido, las actividades/examenes no presentan el formato correcto (desactualizado) lo que hace más difícil aun contestarlos, el examen final es bastante complicado para primerizos en Python. El curso te da conceptos básicos de Python aplicada a secuencias genomicas, es retador por los problemas anteriores, pero el conocimiento que se logra es bastante bueno. Recomiendo tomar otro curso de Python y posterior a ese tomar este, además, recuerda revisar los foros de debate dentro del curso para que conozcas de antemano los problemas que existen con cada actividad/examen.

By Leah P

Jan 6, 2021

The modules are good and fairly easy to follow, although the course states you don't need any background in biology or coding (which they go very fast and offer little explanation of concepts) so this is coming as someone with a background in both. The quizzes are much harder than what they show you in the modules for examples, bringing in new concepts not discussed entirely. I wouldn't advise someone without a need for Bioinformatics programming to take this course (e.g. someone who is just interested in Molecular biology etc but hasn't taken courses before)

By Manuela L

Mar 16, 2021

This is the second specialization I take in Coursera (I took Statistics with Python from Michigan University). I am really disappointed with this course. It was clearly made years ago and dropped on line but is not really an online course. There is no interaction between the teachers and the students, questions in the forum remain years unsolved and there are no actualizations. The videos are very basic and the level of final exam is extremely high. What I can say is that almost all that I learnt was by myself on the internet trying to solve the final exam.

By Jennifer D

Nov 21, 2016

This class was really difficult. The course material did not cover what we needed for the weekly quizzes (particularly in Week 3 & 4) and the final exam was immensely difficult. Additionally, the written instructions for the final exam did not even cover some of the questions that needed to be answered i.e. repeats or questions about particular reading frames when analyzing the ORFs. I had to do a lot of self teaching using random resources and I simply didn't have the bandwidth to dig around as much as was needed in order to do well in the class.