Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
40,576 ratings
7,368 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

KZ
Jul 2, 2017

This course is great to introduce you to regular expression, HTML, XML and JSON. Based on this course, you may dive into many other materials to further learning how to use python to access web data.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 7,218 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Victor d A N

May 23, 2018

Great course for those that are interested in use Python to get data from the web, specially HTML, XML and JSON formats.

Full of coded examples to exercise, lectures have a really easy and understandable language, specially for those that are beginning in programming as myself.

By Raysong L

Dec 2, 2015

Using Python to Access Web Data, like its two prerequisites, is a five star couse. It was fun, like the name of the course, to use Python to access web data. I did not know that before. It was a little harder than the two prerequisites, but it was a good course. Thank you, Dr.

By 林聖智

Jan 19, 2021

The first time I used python and xml, json to transfer data, although it failed several times in the middle, but after watching the video again, it seems to have a better understanding. Of course, I have to study a few more times to truly understand the operation of the data.

By Harald M

Jan 11, 2021

The course is excellent in delivering good teaching to enable the student to quickly and effectively grasp all the concepts and become proficient in their application in short time (e.g., how to access web data). Highly effective in becoming competent in using Python quickly.

By Ge O

May 25, 2018

The past two weeks has been fantastic! Dr Chuck is Clear with course content and he has a good sense of humour which made the course quite enjoyable. Python skills from the course are practical and lay good foundations for me to further study processing web data with Python.

By Evan G

Jan 23, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Dr. Chuck's teaching style is completely in-sync with my learning style. The content is clearly presented and the effort in teaching shows. Thank you Dr. Chuck for taking the time to present this material and for creating the tools for all of us to use.

By Max B

Jan 19, 2019

Dr. Chuck strikes again -- another great course for everybody wanting to know more about accessing data through Python! It helps to have gone through the other courses prior to this, but the lectures are easy to follow and the assignments on accessible level. Two thumbs up!

By Jens

Jul 22, 2018

I'm halfway into this course and i can recommend it to anybody who wants to get into python. While the first few chapters where pretty easy (i had a very small coding experience) it gets pretty challenging for me. I really like that, it's pretty rare in such courses i feel.

By Rajesh C

Nov 25, 2015

Very helpful to understand the python APIs to access the web data and how to parse the XML and JSON formats. The course presentation was friendly and easy to follow. The assignments were covering the python in detail. Overall very useful and highly recommended.

Thank you.

By Danny Z

Jan 19, 2021

i took this for refresh training, and as expected, the course and the way Dr. Chuck giving the lecture is intresting. Moreover, in this way I known more about the data structure and intellegent practice. Great, and I have recommanded the courses to my peers and friends.

By SRIPARNO S

Jun 28, 2020

This is a great course, all the topics taught are very much relevant to the modern tech world. Only one thing is to be noted that, the last week on JSON should have more worked examples regarding a little bit complicated probelms. The overall explanation was simply great.

By Aaren G C H

Feb 19, 2017

I feel so great participating on this course, as I do learn lots of new stuffs regarding on Web socket, HTTP request, Data interchange through web service and many more. I having great fun and enjoying every single lecturer throughout the course. Excellent experience !!!

By Justin G

Feb 10, 2016

This course takes the student from beginner to novice. Easily the best course I've taken on Coursera so far. I'm also doing the Python for Everybody specialization and if you've taken any of Dr. Chuck's courses, you know he's hard to beat, but Dr. Matthew Yee-King did it.

By Adelina

Oct 31, 2015

This course is very well organized and the best out of it is that all classes are in the course content. Therefore, you can finish the course faster if you have the time.

The lessons are very well explained and the method of teaching is the best.

I am really happy with it.

By Yumei L

Apr 21, 2016

Love this course. I took the first two (as one course), learned a lot (and worked really hard, since I started from scratch). But this one brings the coding part to the web and suddenly gives the whole experience a different dimension. Mind-opening. That's why I like it.

By Matthew T

Mar 9, 2016

Very good course to build on basic knowledge of python. Content is accessible, lectures are well presented and easy to understand. Using python for tasks such as web scraping shows the potential of python whilst still being fairly accessible for the majority of students.

By Saman M A M

Apr 9, 2020

This chapter was truly helpful, as an engineer you have to understand how computers are communicating with each other via the internet, rest systems and APIs are part of this process which were covered in this chapter. Thank you Dr.Chuck for being the amazing professor.

By Habib A

Nov 9, 2020

Thank You dr Chuck for the great courses. I am working on my final project as a student at Sumatera Institute of Technology (Indonesia). This course helps me a lot since i am working on data scraping through marketplaces, and build a recommender system from these data.

By Omer F S

Oct 7, 2020

It was an amazing journey going through this course. Got knowledge about the data transfer between web servers, how to extract the data from web, serialisation, de-serialisation, xml schema, json schema etc. Loved doing assignments, overall a great course by Dr. Chuck.

By Ana I P

Apr 3, 2020

Fantastic course to discover how to get the most of python. Essential course if you want to go further on your coding skills with Python.

The teacher is incredible, he explains very well and make it very easy to catch everything at the moment.

I highly recommend it :)

By 荆天泽

Mar 22, 2020

Compared to the previous two courses, this course is relatively much more hard, and more useful. With the clear instructions of the teacher, I am now able to use python to get access to data from the web. I am sure this will help me a lot in my future life and career.

By Anna T

Nov 16, 2019

Looking back at when I started and could barely write 3 line code I understand how simply amazing this course is. I can see progress and my knowledge grew so much thanks to all materials that are provided by Dr. Chuck. Can't wait to go further in this specialization.

By kuldeep s

Sep 5, 2019

course its self quit self explanatory but i like to add few things

1 - Need little bit explanation how to use real life scenario

2 - JSON part is quit short but now a days JSON is big thing, so i suggest please keep eye on current trends and elaborate topic accordingly.

By Robin P

Jan 9, 2018

The assignments are becoming more and more difficult. But very rewarding when you finally get the solution. It's very important to understand every line of code from the previous chapters.

But again, very well explained (also by the assistants in the discussion forum)

By Jonathan L

Sep 3, 2019

I was greatly engaged and challenged by this course. Each week of work has only one or two assignments, but they all require careful attention to the lecture and the code provided to complete the tests. I am very glad for the material provided and the examples given.