Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
40,830 ratings
7,426 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

DA
Apr 23, 2020

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 7,291 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Uma S

Apr 27, 2017

The way Dr. Chuck teaches and shares his knowledge is way too much fun and easy to understand. Made me to think that Python is easy to work and more enjoyable. Thanks to Dr. Chuck and Coursera.

Please carry on with your great service to the online community!!

By Tibor J

Feb 28, 2021

In this course, the learning curve takes off a bit vs. the first two which were easier, and for me, this worked fine. The course is helping not just to learn the basic web-related Python programming, but it is also a great introduction to how the web works.

By GUZMAN S A

Sep 27, 2020

Great course with a lot of examples and the graded tests are useful and simple for you to accomplish.

Dr. Chuck explains everything in a simple way and this a plus in the course. You won't feel overwhelmed in this course, every task is simple and reachable.

By Md. S R

Jul 3, 2020

This course is absolutely fantastic. I have learned from it how to access web data, this was amazing learning I have ever completed. I enjoyed it a lot. I appreciate Dr. Chuck's endeavor highly. He is an awesome teacher and he teaches the students with fun!

By Ahmad A

Feb 7, 2020

Very great, it might be a fundamental course but, it contains very useful info about Regular Expressions, Networking, Sockets, Transfering data, URL library, Beautiful soup, XML and its Schemas, JSON and some APIs including Google Geocoding and Twitter API

By Kaloyan A

Jul 7, 2019

Great course, great teacher, useful knowledge... what more can a student, eager to learn, might want! Dr. Chuck and his forum moderators has made the experience of learning Python a true pleasure. I highly recommend this course and the whole specialization.

By adolfo c r d a

Dec 16, 2015

With other courses, I was having the feeling I was going nowhere. With this one I am enjoying it a lot because we are actually doing fun things, like accessing a web page and extracting information that can be used for whatever else. Extremely practical! :)

By Scott G

Dec 16, 2020

Interesting topics, great to make meaningful applications, that could have real world uses.

More challenging than previous courses. Although the solutions are short and elegant, you will need a good understanding of lists and dictionaries to complete them.

By Chang

Apr 4, 2020

I learned a lot about accessing web data from this course. I think this is a course that generally tells you basics about HTML,XML and JSON. If you want to have deeper understanding of accessing web data, you can take other courses which are more specific.

By Marek O

Jun 23, 2017

Once again, great course! This time was very challenging but when i stuck into a problem Dr Chuck helped me with his lecture!

One thing - I'd rather prefered when the video was splited in two, so I can read the presentation during Dr Chuck's lecture.

Thanks!

By Rui H

Aug 14, 2016

I used to be in one python programming course in school. That course ended by BeautifulSoup. This course just added to where I wanted to continue. Very clear demonstration, I'll definitely finish the following courses in this series. Thank you Dr. Charles!

By K. R J

Feb 15, 2016

Absolutely great course.

This course has de-mystified the basics of accessing web-data and has atleast helped me realize the power of python to access it.

Faculty, Well delivered ! you have kept the discussions lively and have made me eager to learn more.

By Max B

Jun 3, 2020

Pretty challenging assignments so be sure to complete the first two courses before tackling this material. This professor is one of the best instructors I have ever had. He is able to communicate pretty dry and complex topics with optimism and simplicity.

By vipin p

Aug 15, 2017

It got a bit tricky and I enjoyed it that way. I had to sit with unsolved assignments to solve the problems and I totally am flattered by the magic of programming. It helps you look at problem differently. Thank you Dr Charles Severance and Coursera team.

By Denis M

Nov 20, 2016

A great, easy to understand course. I would especially recommend the "Introduction to networking" book, where all complicated things about the networks explained simple and rather fun. You can find the link to the book on the week 3.

Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

By Valentin S

Mar 13, 2016

A bit more difficult than 2 courses of the same speciality placed before, but if you've finished them than it's still quite easy for understanding. I understood how web applications are working after completing it and even used API by my own. Nice course!

By Umar F M

May 31, 2021

This course is an excellent opportunity to learn new skills in python and how can it be used to access the internet for data. The interconnected lectures and topics along with the excellent teaching techniques made this course very easy for new learners.

By Sai T V

Jan 31, 2021

It is an engaging course. It's been a while since I practiced programming and taking this course has helped me to regain the interest I've lost. Dr. Chuck is a great professor, the bonus material he has shared in every week's module is quite encouraging.

By Sundar V

Jan 25, 2017

An excellent course that helped me understand how applications exchange information(using XML and JSON) and how we can write python scripts to retrieve such information from web applications , parse and analyse the data and apply our logic on top of them

By Richard H

Nov 23, 2020

Another great course by Dr Chuck. Definitely felt like this was a step up in complexity from the previous courses. It provides enough info to allow you to play around and experiment in your own free time and understand the concept of what you are doing.

By Khaled A

Jan 21, 2020

Dr. Chuck is an excellent instructor and a great human being. The course is superbly constructed and is well organized. I learned many fascinating skills from this course, so thanks so much Dr. Chuck for sharing your knowledge with us. Forever grateful.

By Deividas T

Oct 9, 2017

Personally, this was the most useful course out of 3 (2 still pending). Great and simple explanation how to get the data using 'backdoor'. The only struggle was to understand tasks "Assignment: Following Links in HTML Using BeautifulSoup" requirements.

By Glen P

Aug 10, 2019

Overall a very well written course. As the third in the certificate series, this is where the difficulty starts to ramp up a bit and makes you really practice previously learned concepts and think through problems to implement them in an updated form.

By RAJPUT R G S

Mar 6, 2019

Accessing web data is a great course for a beginner to launch himself in a programming with python. The way Dr. Chunk designed the course is really awesome as it helps everyone to understand the underlying concept and grab it soon. Thank You Dr. Chunk!

By Amanie P

Nov 18, 2016

This was an excellent follow up on the first two courses in this specialization. So much useful information, and complex ideas broken down in more simple terms that are much easier to digest. Dr. Chuck is amazing! Can't wait to take the next course!